We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What an incredible property. We stayed in the least expensive room so the room itself was very nice but nothing exciting. However, the pools, gym and facilities were all terrific.

The service was top notch and everything was very clean. I read a few reviews about problems getting into the Dead Sea. It was easy and I'm not certain what others were complaining about.

The gym was large and well equipped. The views of the Dead Sea from the main building were fabulous. They also had a very unique pool with warm water looking over the Dead Sea. What a great place!

If I had a complaint it would be directed at the male concierge. I initially spoke to a female concierge who said they could set up transportation to Petra, one way, for 150 JD. After talking it over I spoke to a male concierge who told me the best price was 190 JD. I then found a taxi driver dropping off a guest and he picked us up and drove up to Petra for 70 JD.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear MinnisotaPat,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for the transportation cost to Petra by our partner EuropCar, the price for one way is JD150 and for two ways is JD190. However, I do apologize for the shortfall in not communicating this information clearly by our concierge team.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,659)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

the last 2 days of our holiday were spent at the resort. we had great service and facilities. lots of swimming pools. hotel room was very comfortable with beautiful bathroom. i would recommend to anybody. very good location. right on the dead sea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear JanetKeen,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Overall, great hotel for a perfect dead sea experience in Jordan.

The good
- Very good location, right on the dead sea (as opposed to some of the places on the other side that are now ~1 mile away due to the receding coast line)
- Great facilities - 4-5 different pools, number of restaurants, etc
- Great service - everyone was very friendly and helpful
- Delicious breakfast
- Very nice rooms (rooms in the up front villas are much nicer as compared to the rooms in the main hotel)


The not so good
- I know people have mention this (and it is not hotel specific, and I am not sure if there is anything the hotel can do about it) but the swarms of flies make it difficult to relaxant enjoy everything else (remember to bring some sort of bug repellent)
- No Spa - that is the spa is ran by a different company, and is available for an extra fee. From a 5 star hotel I would expect their own spa facilities

Overall would recommend this hotel to everyone, and we will try to stop by next time we travel through this part of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Atomic1111,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Living in Amman, Jordan I go very often with my family to all the hotels of the Dead Sea. Kempinski Ashtar has always had the most luxurious facilities (views and landscaping are out of this world) but service was some times better at other hotels. As it has been almost two years since my last stay, I was happy to discover that this has completely changed.

The attitude of staff towards guests was remarkably attentive, polite and efficient. Every one was doing their best to make my family feel comfortable and happy with their stay. The food, which was Kempiski's weakest point is now of excellent quality.

Here is what to expect:
- The hotel is in fact divided into two sections. The "Main Building" and Ashtar. Ashtar is also known as the Village, down by the pools and closer to the Dead Sea. Ashtar is the more luxurious more expensive part of the hotel. The main building is very decent, but Ashtar takes you to the next level. We stayed at Ashtar. The ameneties in the rooms are all Dead Sea products, fruit basket, chocolate box and directly by the pool. The rooms are large and comfortable. The weather was superb, so we did not need much air conditioning but it works well.
- The hotel has many pools, most are public and open to every body but some are "by invitation only" and reserved for Ashtar guests. The kids pool, infinity pool and the "semi-private" pool were all heated (and believe me, you need it this time at the dead sea although the weather is warm). We were told that "sunk-in pool also gets heated but later on when the weather gets cooler.
- Sun beds are plentiful and lifeguards are attentive and helpful. Towels are abundant and brought to your location by staff as many times as needed. Free water bottles are distributed on the beach and pool areas for every body. The beach is nice and sandy (artificial) while the Dead Sea is very accessible and mud is readily available. We did not try the Spa, but we heard from other guests that it is nice.
- Landscaping is incredible: old olive trees every where, greenery and plantation. The Dead Sea and mountains of Palestine can be viewed from every where. This is a true Holy Land experience.
- Having a baby stroller will be a problem though as the terrain is not very helpful, still a club car can be ordered and I have seen the staff carry strollers over stairs.
- The Kids Club is well equipped, but there are no outdoor activities for kids and entrance to the club is expensive for what it offers.
- Food: This is where I experienced a quantum leap with my last experience two years ago: The Main Restaurant offers breakfast and buffet dinner which are absolutely superb. There are plenty of choices and the quality is excellent. We also tried the Italian restaurant which was of very good quality. The hotel features other restaurants but unfortunately we did not try them out. Restaurants are a little bit expensive by local standards but that can be offset by booking half board. Rooms have a free minibar which is refilled every day.
- Check in and checkout were swift and staff were very kind and attentive. Ashtar has its own reception area.

In conclusion, I was extremely pleased with the improved service at Kempinski Dead Sea, the hotel in my opinion now has a big gap with other hotels in the Area in terms of facilities, service and scenery. That is where we will be going, from now on. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, choose Ashtar ground floor rooms next to the pools.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mr. Mohammed,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Can't fault service or location. Room was pleasant, although facing onto a main swimming pool/courtyard which was awkward for changing etc. The room is also very dark- perhaps because it was facing public area? It was unbelievably expensive though, far beyond london prices or skiing prices. Food included, but drinks not and a basic soft drink was £5.50, alcohol was just silly and any spa treatment i.e massage was about £100 as a starting price, which is bonkers as the average Jordanian salary is £90 for a month. The room inc supper and breakfast was £200 but with a few drinks (non alcoholic) and lunch the next day it neared £300. Bizarre and not worth it for a paddle in a salty lake!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jbruhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Jbruhew,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for your point regarding the prices, I would highly recommend you provide us with your email address in order to update you with our promotions and special offers that will be more suitable for your good self.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

the hotel has all kind of pools, main heated pool, the river pool, the lazy pool, the infinity pool, and semi private pool for some rooms which our room was one of it... the hotel has direct access to the dead sea with available mud to do masks. wherever you stay there is always someone at your service, everyday there is a different cocktail they offer you during the day if you are staying by the pool or the beach, a piece of fruit also... the rooms are clean big enough just there is no enough lighting.. it was too dark... just good lights in the bathroom.

Room Tip: if you have kids choose the room with semi private pool, your kids will play all day long with barel...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannakarameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Ms. Joanne Karameh,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Overall we liked the hotel. Great location, great views, the dead sea... However I was looking forward for a great massage but when I checked the spa a bad smell welcomed us :) the receptionist tried to explain it but didn't make any sense. I ended up no not having a spa service however I had a lot of products from one of the shops. And here comes the real complain..... The shop owner calculated the merchandises which came to $69 instead he said $96. When my husband questioned him he agreed that was $69. My advice don't trust the shops people. Check again and again and make sure they don't trick you.. We experience the same treatment in other shops too. However the Kempinsky chain should be careful who they lease their space too. This can degrade the hotel image and is sad because the hotel employees are pretty nice and helpful at least to us. Another inconvenience is the wifi that us not available in the rooms. Routers can help boost the signal as it is available outside the room.

And lastly we enjoyed the Pissy at the Italian pool deck. So friendly. We will miss it... :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelia_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Camellia,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

As for the shops and their pricing issue, we have taken a note of that and will make sure they are aware of the unpleasant experience our guests are facing due to such incidents.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
503 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#3 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range: £149 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing