We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best resort at the Dead Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best resort at the Dead Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Undoubtedly the best resort on this stretch. I dont think any of the other resorts come even close. The property itself is beautifully designed. Service has been really good. We tried the food at their Italian restaurant which was mediocre but the breakfast and coffee shop food is quite good. Infact the only hotel in Jordan where i found a decent Asian selection. Though Arabic food is great, after a week in Jordan we wanted some change and pleasantly surprised with their menu selection.
The hotel also upgraded us to junior suite which was nice. However we found that many things weren't working. For e.g: the shaving mirror and the safe were falling apart. The bathroom had an old cigarette stub which was probably there for a decade looking at its condition.
Apart from these minor snags, the property itself is beautiful. Has a very nice view of the Dead sea. Certainly worth the money and stay.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the main building - on the lower part of the property , overlooking the sea seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Himali81,

Sunny Greetings from the Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

On another note, we do apologize for the shortfalls in few areas as you mentioned in feedback and rest assured that they have been addressed to the concerned team members to ensure such incidents shall not occur.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    473
    211
    99
    90
See reviews for
565
988
124
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

One of the many perks that Jordan is noted for is its sincere and warm hospitality. When you combine that with one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen, you have an amazing hotel. Everyone from our waiter, Mary from the Phillipines, to the charismatic and gracious director of guest services Ghassan Arab made our visit feel extremely special. We had a truly un-forgetable experience here. The beach right on the Dead Sea is breathtaking, and the complimentary mud baths doesn't hurt either. As for the hotel itself, it is posh and modern, and gives a great first impression of Jordan being a welcoming first world nation. We will return!
-Sir Michael Massa

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Mr. Michel,

Sunny Greetings from the Dead Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

One of the best hotel & resorts I visited before in my live , staff are friendly and helpful , rooms clean , breakfast great, I recommend this hotel to all Dead Sea visitors they are going to try a special experience ً
Special thanks to mr. Firas Sayhoon & mr. Ahmed Abu Khadijah for their warm welcoming don't hesitate to contact them if you are looking for help

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliqudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Mr. Ali Al Qudah,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for night as I'm sure most others do to simply take a dip in the Dead Sea. We had quite high expectations given the Kempinski name and the good reviews on here, however we were quite disappointed with our overall stay.

On check in we were advised we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite but had to wait 45 minutes until it was ready, so we thought wow great we're going to be amazed. To be honest, the suite was like any other standard room we have stayed in, and had I not been told there was an upgrade I would have thought this was the standard room. There was nothing wrong with the room, but it did not justify the suite status. It was also very dark even with the curtains wide open.

The biggest disappointment for us was that there were only 2 restuarants open - 1 buffet and 1 Italien. We really are not buffet fans and had eaten at the Italien for lunch (which was more like a pool bar) whilst waiting for our room so did not want to eat there again. All other restaurants were closed, even the bar. I was very disappointed with this given there was no mention of this upon booking, nor on the website. The lazy river is also closed so be warned, if you travel in low season do not expect to get even half of the advertised facilities. This was my biggest gripe with the hotel as we still paid a very high price for the room yet could not take advantage of most of them. I assume this is why we got the upgrade but I would have preferred a discount off my room rate or complimentary lunch as compensation. Had I known the majority of facilities would have been closed I would have booked another hotel.

The food that we did have was OK but overpriced and the alcohol prices were extortionate. Given we live in Dubai where prices are already crazy, we were shocked anywhere could be so much more expensive. We regularly go to Kempinski on Palm Jumeirah Dubai and the prices are nowhere near as high.

The hotel is huge and to get anywhere takes ages, and there were very few buggies available to take you around.

The Dead Sea experience was good although my husband did lose his wedding ring so if anyone did find one please let me know. We informed the staff at the hotel to make a note on the system should it be found in the coming months (it could get washed up) but they didn't seem to understand fully what we meant and just kept checking with the people at the beach.

I would also note to take some kind of rubber shoes/crocs as the stones are very sharp and easy to cut yourself and the hotel doesn't provide anything other than the mud and towels.

If I were to go back to the Dead Sea, I would look to book another over the Kempinski.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrshoeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Nataliec,

Sunny greetings from the Dead Sea,

We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to offer our apologies for not being able to meet your expectations, as this is not the level of service we are known for providing our guests.

Rest assured that your points have been taken into consideration and that the concerned team members of our management have been notified to ensure your comments are being handled with immediate effect.

Once again, we do apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again to ensure you spend a memorable experience at one of the world's natural wonders, the Dead Sea.

regards,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were driven to our lovely room overlooking the Dead Sea in an electric golf buggy and anytime we wanted to go to the main building, one of those took us there. The location was magnificent with a series of pools outside the room and the Dead Sea to float in. Once is enough. The experience is interesting but you can't swim and your feet keep rising to the surface! It's fun to smother yourself in black Dead Sea Mud before and emerge ten. Injures later, after a shower, with baby skin. The hotel is superb, breakfast buffet to dream of, eat inside or on the terrace.
Several restaurants to choose from for other meals.
The biggest Spa in the World, they say.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Woodwander

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed there for a couple of days, I was really surprised! The place is amazing, so luxurious, everything looks beautiful and clean around you. Staff were so friendly and up to the Kempinski standards. The view is indescribable, I loved the sunset. I wished I could stay there forever....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namir a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Namir,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

What an amazing place. I stayed here one month ago with my husband and child and had such a delightful time.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home.
I especially noticed how organized everything was at the beach and pools , plenty of fresh towels and cold water . We felt like royalty .
Nothing but luxury all the way. I especially recommend the Infinity pool it so romantic and only minutes away from the kids club , which is amazing if you have any children! I was able to enjoy a few hours of relaxation without the nagging of my son !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmeh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiIshtar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Fatmeh K,

On behalf of the entire team of Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, I would like to extend our sincere appreciation and gratitude for the special comments you have written about our hotel during your last visit. These comments are actually a recognition to the hard work spent by every team member of the Kempinski Family whose aim is to provide our valued guests with level of service they expect from a 5 star deluxe hotel.

We very much value the time spent in writing to us via Tripadvisor and We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience at the Dead Sea.

Sincerely yours,
Henk Meyknecht
General Manager & Area Director Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Dead Sea
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ma'In Hot Springs
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#6 of 9 in Sweimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand East Hotel - Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing