We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,287)
Filter reviews
3,287 results
Traveller rating
2,205
585
259
117
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,205
585
259
117
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant obelisk restaurant main building infinity pool dead sea junior suite beautiful hotel kids club mini bar golf cart pool staff guest relations breakfast buffet is private beach soft drinks amazing service special thanks
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 3,287 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We were on a business trip, we had 3 rooms, all were clean and as any usual good 5stars hotel, up to the standard , charming! The golf carts are fun, place is very big! Location and view on the Dead Sea are amazing! Recommended!

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank beirutvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Roger,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent visit at our hotel.

We were happy that we had the opportunity to host and you enjoyed the amazing view of the Dead Sea. We appreciate your comments on our renowned international standards and our unmatched facilities. We hope that we will serve you again in the nearest future.


Kind regards,

Marc Guenther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

I know it is a big statement to say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in but it is.
Reasons, on top of all the positives mentioned by other recent reviewers:
1. Excellent design - although a large hotel you never feel it is, whether on your balcony or by a pool, there is room for everyone.
2. Dead Sea - a very short walk down to the private beach.
3. Attentive staff - all excellent throughout our stay, but I should mention Suliman who is a life guard on the Dead Sea beach. He is non stop, always looking out for the next guest to arrive, helping with photographs and props (magazines/papers) and providing fresh water before anyone asks, if they get salt in their eyes. A very proactive member of staff.
4. Finishing touches - maybe lucky but within two hours by a pool, we were offered free: melon, scented cold flannel, water and a sun glasses cleaning service!
5. To prove I am not related to a member of staff, the only downside was the wedding party in the room next door that went on until 3:30 am when we had to get up at 4:00 am for our flight home. At check out, to receive an apology that we should have received an email about the wedding, is not the answer - all wedding guests should be given rooms together at the edge of the hotel to keep disruption to a minimum. For future guests, be aware that weddings tend to be on a Friday so may impact your sleep that night.

Room tip: Weddings held on a Friday, with guests parting into the night.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nrf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear nrf8,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Kempinski Hotel Ishtar as your holiday destination and for sharing your comprehensive description of our hotel.The entire team was thrilled to read your praise. I was very happy when learning that our team was once again able to create a memorable guest journey beyond a regular hotel experience. All of us are taking pride to provide guests with the very best of Jordanian hospitality. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered and rest assured that we will take our utmost care of your comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.


Kind regards,


Marc Guenther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Kempinski for one night at the end of our Jordan trip as a bit of a splurge and to relax after days hiking around Dana, Wadi Rum and Petra. This place was a sight for sore eyes and feet alright!

The resort is very large and luxe. It’s much larger than places we usually stay at, but still had personable service and was easy to get around. There’s a number of beautiful pools, bars and restaurants which we enjoyed, all with great views over the Dead Sea. The highlight was using the resort’s private beach, floating in the Dead Sea and applying the mud and salt scrub available on the beach (no need to splash out at the spa!). Such an incredible feeling!

I also enjoyed relaxing in the Ishtar Baths where you can use all sorts of different pools (steam room, sauna, Dead Sea pool, jacuzzi, normal pool etc), but thought it was a little overpriced (JD38, free with spa treatments, but they were very pricey!).

The rooms were also gorgeous. We had a room in the Main Building which I thought might be a dud, but it was very large and had a lovely enclosed balcony with great views over the Dead Sea. I loved the massive bathroom and the Dead Sea amenities.

I wish we had time for another night here, but that may well have broken the bank ... the only downside is that the resort and food / drink / spa are very expensive! It was definitely worth it though to rest our weary bodies after all the other activities Jordan has to offer.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank adventurousflashpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Adventurousflashpack,

Thank you very much for having chosen Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea for your recent holidays at the lowest point on earth.

I like to thank you for taking your time to provide us with such detailed and extensive feedback of your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we were delighted to learn that you have indulged in all aspects of our little haven of relaxation. We are grateful for your remarks and we hope to be of your service again should your travels bring you back to Jordan.


Kind regards,

Marc Guenther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

The hotel is wonderful with sweeping views of the Dead Sea. We stayed in the main building - the room was spacious, well-appointed, and had a large balcony to sit outside. While large resorts are not usually my thing, the Kempinski has done a superb job of providing different pools and lounge areas around the hotel to create a more intimate environment for its guests. Breakfast was also great.

A week or so before our stay, the hotel notified us that they would be hosting a wedding until 1 AM. It was obviously too late to make alternative arrangements. Loud music began at 6 PM and ran until 1 AM, virtually non-stop. It was the final day of our holiday before returning to work, and it was frustrating to pay what we paid to be disturbed like that and forced to stay up late. Aside from an email apology, the Kempinski should have done more for its guests that night. They did nothing. Very disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nomad_singapore_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Nomad,

Thank you for staying at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Please accept our apologies if your recent stay was less than exceptional due to the disturbance of a private event that was held in one of our outdoor venues. Although you were notified by our team 1 week prior to your arrival, however I agree with you what happened is unacceptable and I understand your frustration.

On a more positive note, we were happy to read that you also enjoyed many aspects of your stay and that our hotel facilities, rooms and lavish breakfast buffet was up to your liking.

Once again, thank you very much for your praise and constructive comments. We hope that we will have the precious opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Marc Gunther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

modern large hotel. lovely lobby. great bar. lots of swimming pools . huge spa with many options. many restaurants to dine with good food and many choices. strongly recommend for couples and families.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc G, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Louis,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar. It is with great pleasure to receive such a glorious feedback on the product and service provided. We are grateful for your remarks and we hope to be of your service again should your travels bring you back to the Dead Sea


Kind regards,

Marc Guenther
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews