We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Day the Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
377 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Island Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The resort was very helpful in all regards. They arranged for boat transport to and from the island and picked us up at the pier. Check in with a welcome drink. Any requests were taken with a smile. The grounds were kept very clean as were the beach. Resort has good breakfast and their restaurant had very good food. Problem is that the restaurant is situated a bit off the beach and on the daytime it tends to get very hot there. But 5 mins walk along the beach will get you to the next resort, Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort. Food there is very good and their restaurant got very good food and a cool breeze through their restaurant all day.

As for the sandflies we all got to know them a little bit closer during our stay. One of us (four persons) had troubles making it very uncomfortable and last day were spent up at the bungalow instead of by the beach. Coconut oil didn't seem to keep'em away, at least not working well enough. Beach seemed to be sprayed every day as well.

On the beach there are good spots for snorkeling, but can be hard sometimes to get to them as the water is quite shallow and the tide difference is quite notable.

All in all I from what we saw this resort for sure is one of your best options, and your days will be lazy.

Room Tip: All bungalows will be close to the beach, but had beachview bungalows ourselves. To wake up to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank high_low73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    46
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
146
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Sadly, we need to leave today. We stayed here for the second time. There have been some improvements introduced since our first staying in early 2012.
The staff is very, very friendly, even for Thai standards. Ann and his wife speak English and German very well, and are happy to assist you, e.g. by booking transport or introducing you to Koh Mak whereabouts.
Not only is the staff friendly, but very supportive, too. Rooms are made up every day, so are the beautiful garden and the very nice beach. It's good to know that because of this treatment, sand flies are not a plague. They are elsewhere at Koh Mak, though.
Bungalows are very clean. Interior style is mediterranean. There is vast space between the bungalows, so you feel very private. At night, its very quiet. Apart from the soft sea waves, you rather hear anything.
The restaurant delivers exquisit food. You need to check out the Currys for dinner, and the freshly brewed Italian-style coffee for breakfast.
WiFi internet is free, but don't expect good coverage at the bungalows or high speed. Like in many resorts, a book store provides a good selection of second hand books, mostly scandinavian novels.
Kajaks and snorkeing devices are available, too. At the southern end of the beach you'll find some rocks, providing snorkeling and easy-entry dive grounds. A diving school is at hand as well.
You can rent a bike, or a scooter, and check out the island. This takes about 3 hours by scooter.
If it's nightlife you're after, look for something different. Or just check out the beach bar at the neighborhood resort.
All in all, this resort truly is a gem. We'll definitely come back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tho_schmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Great staff, amazing breakfast with amazing coffee, Clean bungalows, very nice bungalows, beach super clean. Simply the number one resort in Kho Mak. Its the second time that we stay and we super love it.

From Eric &Sonia from Montreal

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dravir007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here late Feb 2012. During our 3 week holiday we stayed at 4 different resorts and this was definitely our favourite. Mr An and his wife are lovely and made us feel very welcome. The resort is very chilled out and leaves you to get on with your holiday, although the staff can always be found in the reception/restaurant area if you need any assistance. All the staff are very friendly and they work tirelessly to keep the resort well maintained.

The resort is situated right on the beach and some bungalows, including ours had a view directly of the sea. It was lovely to have the patio doors open and hear the waves! The bungalows have a patio to sit out on which is great if you don’t want to sunbath on the beach, or want to get in the shade. The rooms are minimal but not basic and the views from most bungalows are 5*. We stayed a few nights in a luxury resort on Koh Kood but preferred our stay at Koh Mak due to the bungalow's close proximity to the beach, the view and overall atmosphere of the resort.

The food is excellent and well priced. We didn’t eat anywhere else during our 5 night stay, partly because the food was very good and partly because we didn’t fancy going out on the moped in the pitch black. The massages were great and cheap. The moped rental service offered by the resort is a good way to get around.

We went to chill and relax and we were definitely able to do this here. We plan to go back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that looks directly out onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank littlewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our second visit to Lazy Day Resort. There will be many more. Since we were there last year we have been waiting and dreaming to come back.

We did the same misstake as last year. We stayed to few days; seven nights, two more nights than last year. Much to few.The enviroment, the atmosphere, the beach, the hospitality, the service, the food, the bungalows, the cleanless, the management, the staff;Those ingredients in combination with a paradise Island makes a visit to something that never get out of our minds.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guntebunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

As mentioned by the other reviewers, this is a wonderful, peaceful place on a charming little island. The beach is clean and nice and you almost have it all to yourself. Practically all bungalows have seaview. Ours had a large veranda with sunbeds. The bungalows are nice and clean and have everything you need, air condition and fan. At one point soon the bathrooms will probably need to be freshened up a bit but that is about the only negative thing I can say. The owner, Mr Ann and his wife are very helpful and serve great food. I hope to be able to come back.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Lazy Day for us is the best place on Koh Mak. First of all this part of the beach is very beautiful and quiet. White sand and no sandflies. They keep it very clean and even got a net against jellyfish. Great for kids. The area is a beautiful garden and not crowded since there are only 12 bungalows. The owners are very friendly and speak fluently thai, english and german. It feels like staying with a family. The restaurant is good and not too expensive. The best for us besides the spacious and super clean bungalows was the good vibe of the owners and the staff. The fact that you can rent motorbikes, bikes, snorkel equipment and toys for kids makes it a perfect family place. Our favourite in Thailand....

Room Tip: Single bungalows have more privacy than the ones that are built together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.4 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.2 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Day the Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Day the Resort

Property: Lazy Day the Resort
Address: 49/9 Suttitanakool Rd | Trad, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Day the Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Day The Resort is a holiday resort located on Koh Mak island, Trad, Thailand - one of few holiday destinations that offers calmness and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lazy Day the Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Day The Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing