We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Big Easy(Ko Mak)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
220
59
24
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
59
24
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthai stylesugar caneisland suiteslovely gardenchili housethai boxingantique furniturespacious roomsmall islandreception areaswimming poolrented motorbikesthai experiencelots of bars and restaurantshigh seasonwonderful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I love not only beach on Koh Mak but also Good Time Resort very much. If beautiful water and quiet place are important for you, this resort is the best. The owner of this resort is very kind and supportive. He gave many advices how to get there and enjoy this island.

This resort does not face to the beach, so I recomend to rent motorbike which you can rent at resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

A hidden away gem offering peace for those needing a place to escape from the hustle and bustle, but also enough space and things to do for families with young children. Nice, easy going, relaxed and cozy island resort. Not directly on the beach but still a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinCVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for a nice romantic spot on Koh Mak to relax for a few days and Good Time resort more than delivered.

We were treated to outstanding service from the word go. The accommodation is beautiful with keen attention to detail. We stayed in a stunning traditional Thai style teak house with a veranda and beautiful furnishings. It was spacious yet cosy, with a DVD player and TV so we could watch any of the wide variety of films available from the library. The pool area is a real treat, especially if you have had enough of the beaches. It is tranquil and set in a picturesque garden among the spaced out houses and villas.

The owner is very passionate about providing high levels of service and it is clear he really cares. He was very personable and we were very lucky he was on site during our stay as he made us feels welcome and comfortable. He was very thoughtful and interesting to talk to and gave us some excellent tips on where to go on the island. He even took us and a few other guests out on a guided tour of the island which was great; and to a great restaurant.

The restaurant at Good Time was fantastic with both the quality and proportions of food being very pleasing. The breakfast was great and, as mentioned in an earlier post, included fresh whole meal loaves that you cut and toasted yourself; as well as fresh fruits, eggs (however you wanted them) and bacon and as much tea and coffee as you desired. Also, the on site massage is great value and very good.

The island itself is lovely, it's tiny and very quiet. There are hardly any tourists about on the beaches and you feel that whichever beach you visit, it is you own private beach. There is not much to do other than chill out and relax, walk about, sunbathe or swim. There are a few other resorts around that are worth a visit to see or eat at but it always felt great returning to Good Time Resort, I am sure we will return again ourselves in the near future...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solomgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I chose Good Time to get away from Bangkok for a long weekend. The only objective was to switch off and relax and Good Time Resort is an excellent place for this. The resort has a very spacious tropical garden and a nice pool where you can spend all day.
The resort has a very laid back atmosphere and the staff are very nice.

The restaurant is excellent and serves authentic Thai cuisine, not the horrible tourist food that many of the more touristy islands and resort towns in Thailand serve. The breakfast is also excpeptional as it serves heavy German style whole meal bread besides normal toast which is a real treat.

There is a library with a good selection of books and a large collection of movie DVDs to keep guests entertained as well as free wireless in the restaurant and library area.

Koh Mak as a whole is quite nice with several nice beaches although I am personally not the beach bum type of guy. What I liked a lot was the fact that the island is not touristy or over commercialized. There are no 7Elevens, no beer bars and only a few resorts so the island will never be overrun by tourists. Even over the long weekend I was there it felt very private.

The last night the owner of the resort took us to a somewhat hidden restaurant which also served excellent food. I forgot the name but it is owned by some Thai movie star so just ask the staff and they will tell you. Food is a bit slow but hey, you are there to relax so no need to rush.

If there is one negative it would be that there are no ATMs on the island so you will have to make sure that you bring enough cash if you want to spend money outside the resort. The resort itself accepts credit cards.

Thanks for a great weekend Good Time Resort!

Roman from Bangkok

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest,
thank you for visiting Good Time Resort. Koh Mak is now well recognized by expats who live in Bangkok, and other cities in Asia. Thank you for the compliment about the food. We will forward this to Tia, our cook. She knows, that the food should be authentic and not "changed with western touch". You can certainly order "not hot" if you prefer. We understand our guests, that eating at the same place might get boring (no matter how good the food is) so we recommend also other places on the island or sometimes even take them out there. Thank you for you visit, and now you know, Bangkok is just 45 Minutes away, by Bangkok Air. See you soon again. When you come next time, there will still be no ATM (what I personally also do miss :-) on Koh Mak. And, but also no Mc.D., no Starb. and no 7/...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I had a great time at Good Time Resort. It is located in the middle of Koh Mak island in a beautifully landscaped garden. This means that within 5 minutes walk you have a choice of 2 beautiful white sand beaches, which are so picture post card perfect and almost deserted, so you can decide which to visit, or you can opt to stay by the pool on the resort. The resort consists of several houses, which are constructed to tradtional Thai design with beautiful wooden verandas which look out to sea. The garden is mature and planted with frangipani, banana, hibiscus and many other floral delights. There is also a spa on site. It's a place where you can really chill out and a far cry from the brash nightlife on Koh Chang island nearby. In the evening you can eat at the resort, or there is the best restaurant (and the cheapest) just outside the resort, next to a small shop where you can stock up on beer, milk, juices etc. The owner and manager are great people - very approachable and helpful whatever your request. And although there was no cable TV when I visited, I understand it is about to be installed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for your visit on Koh Mak at our resort. Also thank you for the good description of our property. Most of our houses still do not have TV (but we do have many DVD's).
We took your personal request serious and received (just a day after you left) a flat-screen with many international channels for our library (as well as your desired sport channels). So next time you come, you can watch your favorite football team for sure. More and more houses got upgraded with TV, so some of our guests from Bangkok don't have to miss their soap and football fans, don't have to miss their game ! We enjoyed having you as our guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews