We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location in a Garden of Eden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
283 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Stunning location in a Garden of Eden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Got off to a shaky start as we had asked them to book a boat to the island (by E;mail) and followed up with a phone-call, but it didn't happen. Consequently we had to wait until the last speedboat of the day at 4pm before we could get a crossing and we arrived at port around 12.30pm (it was a Thai long-weekend) . Anyway, they were waiting to pick us up at the pier on arrival and fortunately we arrived in time to see the beautiful sunset.
We were given an amazing Thai house to stay in (at the top of the hill). It was 3 storeys, with an open-air kitchen on the second storey and our bedroom on the top, with great views and sea breezes. There were plenty of chairs to sit on the deck and admire the view (including a lovely pavillion). The room was extremely well-protected against insects (with window screens
and a net over the bed) The room has a writing desk, ok storage, a tv on which you could watch DVDs (from their library at reception), large bed with only a top sheet (could have done with a light blanket as it did get a bit cold at night),an all-in-one bathroom (which flooded when you had a shower) and a fully stocked kitchen was downstairs
The resort is spread out in a sprawling tropical garden and they seem to have many different style of houses (certainly not the usual boxy bungalows) and they were building more. There was a pretty little pool in the garden and a massage house.The people running the resort were extremely friendly and generous with their information eg: they would tell you where there were other restaurants (although they have their own).
The breakfast had a small but delicious selection, with especially good rye bread. It was only a western breakfast so asian visitors may be disappointed.
I expect it is usually very quiet but being a long weekend, the resort down the hill had loud outdoor karaoke for their Thai guests (and you could hear it all over the island). However this (mercifully) stopped by 10.30pm. This island is not the kind of place that has these noisy venues usually. I hope it is not a sign of things to come.
Note also that there are a lot of stairs and hills so it would not be a good place for the mobility impaired.
Overall a very pleasant place to stay and we hope to be back one day soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    50
    21
    18
    5
See reviews for
75
132
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghgai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Great houses and location. For us it was a plus, staying on the little hill and choose every day which beach to go. The pool is a gem and the staff is extremly friendly and helpful.
Koh Mak is nice, but the beaches could be a cleanded up once a while.
But the resort was very clean and well taken care of. We stayed in a smaller Thai-house and
and loved to sit on the terrace, reading our books. Excellent management and very customer-friendly. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I am always looking for a nice and quite destination to get away from busy city-life.
Together with my son i travelled to Koh Mak in october and we both enjoyed island-life very much.
We stayed at Good Time Resort in a coszy thaistyle house, which was perfectly equipped for us - enough space to play for my son, whereas i spent time reading and relaxing on the terrace.
My son made friends easily and played at the close-by beaches and islands till sundown.
We liked the very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere in the resort - every guest can enjoy privacy or meet for a talk or playtime in the restaurant area.
For sure we will come back - all the best and warm greetings to the good time team.

Room Tip: With kids choose a room nearby to the swimmingpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaporn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaipeda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

All I can say everything was just perfect! We had a great holiday in great place. We got much more than expected and it says something. Friendly staff, clean, nice and big room, peaceful atmosphere, breakfast nice and more than enough, excellent service, tell me when to stop!
Oh, one fail, WIFI did not work in the room and we had to go to reception area. On the other hand you don't need WIFI when you are in paradise...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki_Kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at Good Time Resort recently and had a great stay. The staff treated me like family which was nice since I was travelling alone. The beaches are deserted and the sunsets are spectacular. This hotel is far from cookie cutter- I was given a thai style villa all to myself. The remoteness of the island and friendly hospitality were exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks again and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had a great time, rested and relaxed. We loved sitting out on the decking. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Thank you all for making our stay so great. A must for those wanting to see the real Thailand.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We traveled with a bunch of friends just in the bginning of rainy-season and enjoyed every day of our stay. No matter if it rained or not. We shared one big house with 7 people and there was no reason to complain. Rooms are big and the house was more like a vacation house then a hotel-room. This was the reason why we choosed Good Time. Good reviews and big houses. We liked the mix (advanteges) of Thai-style atmosphere and European Management. I have been to Thailand a few times before, but this time we choosed to go somewhere unspoilt and undiscovered. Here on Koh Mak you can not expect the mass of tourist and you can not expect the same infrastructure like Phuket. You get much more: Tranquility and peace. I read about sandlies on Koh Mak. But this is no issue at Good Time Resort. We liked to rent kajaks and explore the next island Koh Kham and Koh Rayang. This place is perfect to travel with a group and if you like to share a bigger house with 4-7 persons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.7 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing