We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villas in a park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Antibes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Villas in a park”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Excellent situation - the individual villas are situated in an very well designed, luxurious park - behind the beach on a hill (approx. 300 m to the beach). The view is beautiful, it is much calmer than on the beach and there is always a little breeze. The swimming pool in the park is shady and well maintained. The villas are furnished with traditional beautiful furniture.
The owners and the personnel provide a very friendly service of excellent quality at all moments of the day. The atmosphere is very relaxed allowing both social contacts and retirement. GoodTime Resort is well suited for couples and for families.
The food served in the restaurant is probably one of the best on the island. The lady cook is absolutely charming. The owners participate in a convincing and responsible way in the sustainable development of this magnificent island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niklaus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    56
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
79
137
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We (a little family - to adults and a 3 years old child) booked a deluxe double room in the believe, that we would have nice room close to the pool and in the beautiful garden. But that was not, what we got - therefore the following comments.

1) When we arrived, we were placed in a two bedroom Thai villa, placed far, far away from the resort and garden - totally unacceptable with a 3 years old child and not at all, what we expected, when we ordered the room. If we had known that there were villas/room so far away from the garden and resort, we would NEVER have booked the room.

2) We complained, but were not moved to another room. Totally unacceptable, especially because off our child (the two bedrooms were on different floors) and while it was not possible to see that the rooms were placed so far away on the Good Time homepages.

3) The room was not very clean and the towels and bed lined were below the acceptable (bad quality). And when we asked for another sheet to the bed, we were told that it was not possible, while all rooms were booked, and they didn’t have any left. Instead we were given at small blanket (1,5 x 1,5 m).
4) There were no mosquito net on the beds as stated on the homepage and we therefore got over twenty bites each.

The staff was very friendly, but the placement in the villa on the dirt road (far away from the rest of the resort) was totally unacceptable. It has to be stated clearly as special category on the homepage and the reservation site.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danmark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

...you do have to consider the following before booking:

- The resort is NOT on the beach. It is only 5 min to walk to one of the two beaches, but it means that you don't wake up to the sound of waves.
- The resort is not completely isolated and secluded. Its both good and bad. Good since you are close to a few shops but bad because there is some noise from scooters and cars passing by
- The breakfast is ok but it is rather basic. Cereals, eggs, bread, jam, juice-drink and two types of fruit. You don't need more but it is not a huge buffet.
- The food derved in the restaurant is ok but not outstanding. Luckily there are several other restaurants around.

However, there are several good points as well:

- We stayed in a "room" which in fact was an old but modernized Thai hut called Ban Mak. It was very nice. Big room, couch, terrace, comfy pillows, nice shower, a/c, fan and good privacy.
- The service was very good. The staff helped with renting a scooter, booking a speedboat, picking us up, etc.
- There is free wifi even by the pool
- The pool area is very nice, secluded and the pools is big enough for a swim
- It was good to be able to choose between beaches and restaurants and not being total isolated
- Not many guests on the resort despite it being fully booked

All in all we would recommend Good Time resort, just take the first points into consideration.

If you want to stay on the beach then have a look at Lazy Day Resort - by far the most beautiful stretch of beach on Koh Mak (no pool and quite isolated though).

Koh Mak itself has a good size for a 3-7 days stay. You can easily bike or drive a scooter around the island. It is quite flat. There are two main beaches but not many other small beaches to go to. Several eating places and a few small stores dot the island. There are both kayak and speedboat day trips (snorkeling and diving) and you can attend a Thai cooking school. There are very few people on the beaches, so it is easy to find a private spot. But don't expect very good snorkeling off the island or that crystal clear blue water - it is clean but, more of a neutral color.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your visit and pointing out the things you liked about Good Time Resort. And thank you for the feedback concerning our breakfast. You are right. Our breakfast is basic, if you compare it to breakfast-buffet of international hotel-chains on other islands. We do have a choice of fried eggs and German Bread, jam, honey and fresh fruits (cereals and muesli as well). We are just a small resort and it is not easy for us to offer a big buffet. Anyway, our staff is trying to please every guest, who have special request in our resort and restaurant. To keep expectations low, we pronounce our breakfast on several websites just as "continental-breakfast" even it is actually a small buffet with fresh eggs and fruits. By the way: in the near future we will focus more on "health-food" and new staff are joining us, who are experts in this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Really nice villas with great view especially from high floors.
Bed rock hard as mostly in Thailand.
Pricey, although it was main season admittedly.
Nice interiors.
Spa outdated and smelled moldy.
Did not try restaurant, only for breakfast, which was fine.
Owner is Thai-german.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your visit and feedback. Hope to see you again.God Time is well equipped for families and we do except (just little) groups.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My dream was always to go to a remote island in Thailand and dreamed about it for a loooong time. So my expectation was high.....

So I was looking for something quiet and beautiful with privacy, preferably a bungalow. Not one of those modern white cubacle once, but in Thai Style.
Well, thanks to Tripadvisor too, we booked a one bedroom villa in the Good Time Resort in Koh Mak.
We arrived and were in awe of how big the garden was the bungalows were situated on. Beautifully kept with a great swimming pool in the middle of it. On these ground we found the amazing Thai villas scattered around. Well placed, so every one had its own little aura of piece:)
When a member of the (very friendly and helpfull) staff showed us our villa we couldn't believe our eyes. First of all, they bumped us up to a 2 bedroom villa, which is nicer and bigger. Its not that we needed the 2nd bedroom, but there was a little kitchen that we could use. Everything was kept up very well and in and outside, there were lovely little details to be found. In our villa everything was made of wood and it the bed was great and very spacies. We slept great. The only thing that wasn't a 100% was the drain of the shower, but when I mentioned that to a member of the staff, it was fix when I came back from the beach. So no problems there:) What is also great is that there is also AC, flat screen TV and a DVD player. You can take your own DVDs from home but they also have a great little library with around 300 DVDs.
Every villa on their grounds is different, but the all have a little pavilion which really did it for us. We sat there a lot and had a glass of wine in the evenings.
Breakfast is from 7-10 I believe. Its at the reception area and you have the most amazing view of the sea and garden. Its small, but enough. Bread, ham, jam, peanut butter, muesli, milk, orange juice and they make eggs for you, or pancakes. Of course there is fruit too, free WIFI (also at the pool) and the best of it all is their coffee!

The service at the resort is very very nice, the owner even brought us flip-flops to the beach because we forgot to bring our own! Now that what I call service and kindness.
They also have a restaurant. We ate there one night, and the food was ok. It wasn't the best we had on the island and I was finished with my food before my spous got his food...so it stayed with only 1 visit.
Where we did go every day was there spa, situated on the grounds in a nice AC-ed wooden cabin. I really recommend the body scrub and Thai massage.
There is a enough to do on the island. What is also great about this resort is that its in the middle of two great beaches. Max. a 10 minute walk. On the north beach at the Koh Mak Resort they have a very nice beach. Its quiet and clean and there is a beach bar and kayak rental. Nothing to snorkel there though. We rented a kayak and went to the little island across . It had the whitest sand I had ever seen. But they are building a resort there at the moment, so for me that island wasn't that nice to go to. What was (after this resort) the best of our trip, was the beach on the little island on the other side (south). Its called Koh Rayang nok and its a paradise. Seriously, I am not kidding. You take a kayak over or a little speed boat for 200 Baht pp and there you are on a beautiful little island with an amazing beach where one can snorkel too! They have a little beach bar and with the entrance fee (100 B) you get a soft drink for free. When we were there there were 10 peeps max. On the other side behind the restaurant they have a great view point. And the restaurant is amazing. Get the Sea Bass with spicy herbs. To die for.
What else there is, snorkel trip. Really fun, do it:) Also try a different restaurant every night. After the Rayang restaurant our favorite was Aimmy. So good, BBQ seafood and meat, vegetable and so. Try the chicken stick! You can find it 'downtown' at the restaurant 'strip'.
What dissapointed us was Little Moon Resort restaurant. The location is great but the food wasn't so nice..... Garden restaurant was also good, and you have to try the Koh Mak Seafood Restaurant. Really good and its build into the sea:)

Well, to finish this off and come back to Good Time Resort. Really the place to stay in Koh Mak. Super quality and super price too. So thank you Good Time, you gave us the most amazing time! A dream come true!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and the friendly feedback. It seems like that you and Good Time Resort have been a great match ;-). Please come back to Koh Mak and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our family stayed at Good Time Resort for 5 nights in early January 2012.

Good Points
The location is very good being between both of the main beaches. Hiring a motorbike is recommended to see the island fully.

The Thai manager was very pleasant and courteous.

The grounds of the resort were large and well maintained.

A relatively large library of free DVDs was available (DVD player in the room).

The bread at breakfast was really good quality. Breakfast also included juice, tea/coffee, fruit, French toast and quality jams. We were offered eggs on one of the days we were there. We noticed that some of the other guests were given pancakes at breakfast so my son asked if he could have one but was told “sorry, finished”.

Bad Points
We were very disappointed in our rooms. The mattress was hard, old, stained, ripped and mouldy as evidenced by the photo. The pillows were old and lumpy. The sheets were stained and there was no top sheet. The children’s mosquito net had many holes which I tried to repair, as evidenced by photo. The sheets and towels were changed on our last night which was a vast improvement.

The cost was 6710 baht per night for our family of four (2 rooms and 2 bathrooms). This was too expensive for the accommodation standard. Maybe some of the other rooms are better.

The lighting in the rooms was romantic mood lighting but you could not read a book at night to it.

The bathrooms were of low standard, as evidenced by photo. The water had little pressure and the hot water system worked intermittently.

This was the first place in many months of travel throughout SE Asia that no free bottled water was supplied.

The room on the top floor could only be locked from the inside, so you can’t lock your room when you go out. The children’s room was below the parents room (with an outside staircase) so the kids had to lock themselves inside at night for security. We were OK with this but other parents (with younger children) may not be.

My son was unfortunate to have a severe allergic skin rash whilst on the island. We asked if we could leave one night early because of this to go to Bangkok to get some treatment. We gave more than 48 hours notice prior to our hopeful departure. We were refused a refund of one night which was fair enough. What we didn’t like was the way in which it was managed. We asked the manager who couldn’t make such a decision so she emailed the owner. We also emailed the owner with a picture of my son’s allergic reaction. We waited 24 hours and the manager passed on the information that we could not be refunded one night, but the owner didn’t even reply to our email.

We visited other resorts for meals and we think that Islanda, Little Moon or Plubpla are better places to stay.

The food and views at Islanda (across the road) are excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the Bamboo House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
We are sorry to read about your disappointment concerning your rooms now.
I am sure we could have solved the problems, if you have mentioned them during your stay with us.
1. The mattress is already replaced. Thank you for showing the picture. It is easier for the guests and more efficient for the manager and staff to express disappointments during their stay.
2. The doors and locks in Thailand work a little bit different then in other countries. You can lock them from the inside (there is a round button on the handle) and you can open the door with a key from outside.
3. We have already added/repaired reading-lights to the bed.
4. We are also sorry that you did not like the way how we "managed" your refund request.
We take complaints very very serious. We try everything what is possible to improve and to make things work, while our guests are staying with us.
When the owner is not on the island, certainly the manager on duty is in charge to
solve issues like refunds or early check-out requests.
In this case, the manager did not consider your refund request as an emergency, because you gave us "a two days prior notice" and she was not aware of any other disappointments or dislikes.
Anyway we are happy to hear, that you have changed your mind and did stay with us the entire
5 days, as it was originally booked. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Thanks to Good Time Resort we have spent a great Christmas on Koh Mak, first time away from home. The kids loved the panecakes for breakfast and the playgrounds. The resort is very big and sometimes even to big to walk (for two years old). The garden was very excotic and well kept. The service was extraordinary good. Thanks Josh. See you soon again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
11.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing