We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDED!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“RECOMMENDED!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Good Time Resort. It is perfectly placed on a ridge line that runs down the middle of a narrow part of the small island of Koh Mak. It's a gentle walk to either of two excellent beaches, one to the north, the other to the south, each only 10 or 15 minutes walk. We stayed in a cottage-like house, nice and clean and quiet. The arrangement of the resort is excellent, with a scattering of cottages that are set apart from each other with paths through a beautiful garden. The grounds are neither the clear-cut jungle sort one sometimes finds, nor the standard overly-manicured lawn, but a carefully-landscaped hillside with beautiful plants and some sculptures, designed and developed by the owners and their staff. It's impressive now ands only going to become more lush with time. The accommodations are comfortable and private and a short walk up to the main house where breakfasts and other meals are served. They have a large DVD collection and excellent WiFi bandwidth (but for the usual ISP interruptions that are beyond their control). What makes Koh Mak special is that it is a private island, owned by a large Thai family, and they are stewards of this island with a sense of responsibility towards preserving its beauty. You will not find go-go bars, cheap run down dives or places that cater to the very wealthy. Koh Mak is natural and beautiful. The beaches are simply gorgeous. You get a bit used to seeing perfect soft clean sand and water that is almost too warm. It's close to idilic. They take recycling seriously, clean up the beaches of plastic and there is even on-island processing planned. They do not want to overdevelop this island like has happened to so many others. I liked their attitude!

We were very happy with our choice of the Good Time Resort. The family that runs the place are on-site, very personable, helpful, knowledgable, and with both European and Thai roots, they understand both cultures. It's purposefully not aspiring to be a many-star mega-resort. It is very comfortable and residential feeling, not a black-glass-and-marble-infinity-pool place. It's more like a tropical home, with great coffee (fresh real coffee)... ahhhh...

Oh, and go kayaking... there are three tiny islands very close in, two off of the beach to the south beach, and one of the other beach to the north. You needn't be highly experienced in kayaking (just sensible,and take extra water and sun block).. .and get the hang of it paddling about, then head off! You get a great workout, get to own your own deserted island for an hour or so (we were the only ones on the islands we visited, or it sure seemed so!) and it's great fun. And then, once back on shore, it is only a few minutes up from the beach and you can rest at the Good Time Resort. RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    54
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
78
135
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

As we travelled with kids arround Thailand, we had some worries to stay on a remote island, but found out, that this resort was the best place for us with the kids to stay. Maybe not the most luxery resort, but the most family orientated resort. The house was bigger then I thought and the management was very well and personal organized by the owner. The kids loved the toys and the playground near they restaurant.

Room Tip: We got the Sugarcane house, which was very spacious and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice feedback and we are happy your kids also liked to stay with us.
Please come back and visit Koh Mak again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After traveling with my girlfriend for a couple weeks from Cambodia into Thailand, Koh Mak and the Good Time Resort came as the perfect place to wrap up our vacation. First off, the food was the best we had during our trip. And when we didn't eat at the resort, Greg (who's first language is English!) was able to tell us about other spots on the island to try that we probably wouldn't have found otherwise.

Apart from the food, I found the overall service and atmosphere to be far superior to some of the other (more expensive) resorts we stopped at along the way. Throughout our entire trip, even if we were just stopping in for lunch, I found most of the higher end, beach front resorts seemed to have an indifferent staff - not sure why that is, but over the course of a couple weeks, my girlfriend and I both took notice. Anyway, nothing could be further from the truth at Good Times... Greg and the cook (I forgot her name!) were delightful and willing to help with anything we needed, be it booking a speedboat back to the mainland or finding a quiet beach to sit on. And upon arrival, Greg took us on a tour of the island with a few other english speaking couples where we enjoyed beers at sunset and more authentic Thai cuisine at some restaurant I never caught the name of.

The rooms were very comfortable will all the amenities you might want, yet still keeping the island vibe intact. And while you can easily walk to the nearby beach, we really enjoyed renting scooters upon arrival so we could get around the entire island at our leisure. Also the little Thai kitchen right next to our room was a great place for lunch!

Thanks Greg, we had a great time. Hope to make it back some day! Hi to Doug and Jordan as well!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blake_a_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear valuable Guest,
our resort tries to show the Thai-style of living and we try to be a little different then other accommodations. We are glad that you have noticed this and happy about your feedback.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We've been to Koh Mak many times, and we abolutely love it there, its a great place to get refreshed and enjoy island life.  Goodtime Resort (and their new manager Greg) provide what we think is without question the best value on the island.  Goodtime is not the cheapest place, but its not expensive either.  For the same price as  small airconditioned bungalow on the beach, you have a fantastic two floor, two bathroom, two bedroom thai home.  Its perfect for any group that has a head count higher than 2, the home provides space and facilities for the kids to relax and enjoy themselves (in the house and outside with a great pool and playground area), and for the adults to kick back and socialize.  Most likely you'll have a scooter while you're on the island (cheap transport at $5.00 a day) as you'll positively want to see more than just a single beach (koh mak has many to offer), so whats the difference if you stay directly on one beach in a tiny, dark bungalow Vs. staying in a full size Thai home that offers all you'll need.  You can sit high up in your own Sala (Raised Thai Patio) sipping a drink and admiring the beautiful waters on the east and west sides of the island.

I know the review may sound a little biased, but I can promise you I don't work for them (even though I might wished I did).  I just think that Goodtime deserves to be recognized for the excellent product they offer, paradise with all (or more) comforts than you have at home.

The staff are sweet and efficient, the food is awsome, the pool is warm, and the most trouble you will have at Goodtime is checking out, as you simply won't want to.

Thanks again Greg (Goodtime manager) and to Jordan (A lovely Canadian lady who manages a nearby hotel, Jordan allowed us to access her hotels DVD collection when our little one wanted a new cartoon selection).  Goodtime truely like your home away from home with friendly neighbours all around.

We'll see you again soon Goodtime!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Quadman_yul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for pointing out that we have a lot to offer for the money you paid.
Our houses are bigger then you would expect from a resort.
Happy you could enjoy our spacious house and have been happy with our new management.
Please come again and visit us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Best location on Koh Mak, located between two beaches. Walk takes about 5- 10 minutes.
Big house and nice garden. We loved the staff and the owners are very helpful and friendly.
They know what families need. Thanks for the extra bed and toys.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It was our first time in Koh Mak, I went with my two young kids 3 and 6 years old.... We went in June, so I was a bit afraid because it is rainy season. We had some rain, but the resort was so comfortable that we did not care. We just spend time in our bungalow and in the main building that serves as the center of the Good Time resort. The second floor of the main building has a library with DVDs, books and WiFi. The kids played on internet while I read a good book....

We had only reserved two nights but we handed up staying for 10 days (the maximum we could... vacations was finished) We had planned to go to another island... but we didn t want to leave Good Time Resort.

Good Time Resort is near everything, you can walk everywhere. Breakfast was great. Their restaurant is really nice and their staff are very professional and we learned a lot about Thai culture. The garden looked so nice, I wish I had one like that. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was perfect for the three of us.

There are many restaurants and 2 beaches near, just by walking about 5 minutes. The bungalows are tastefully decorated and very clean. We had some lazy days at their swimming pool and just doing nothing all day. The pool is very nice and clean.

The resort is up hill, so you can admire the beautiful view of the coasts. Good Time is without a doubt the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak and we did go and visit some of the other, we love to visit different resorts. The house we stayed was a villas with beautiful balconies where you can admire the view.

We also rented a motorbike and went around the island. The nice manager of the resort arranged it for us. It is so cheap to rent a motorbike.

We are just very eager to go back ... and I recommend this place to everyone.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NathalieLPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I and my 3 children had a lovely stay at the Goodtime Resort. It is not a 5 star hotel style resort but that is its charm and if you are after a peaceful stay in a lovely setting then this is great. We stayed in a 2 bed Thai style villa which was clean and gave us plenty of space ( the mattresses are typically Thai - very firm!). Be aware that these style villas mean that the bedrooms are on 2 different floors with an outside staircase so although this may be fine for older kids it wouldn't necessarily be suitable for families with younger children. The hotel is set on a ridge between 2 beaches which are a 5-10 minute walk to get to (downhill). The villas are scattered about in a lovely garden with plenty of space between them and a nice pool area. The breakfast provided doesn't have an extensive range but is good with cereals, bread, fresh fruit and they will cook you eggs to order. There are restaurants on both beaches which are good for dinner or you can eat in the Goodtime restaurant or order in pizza to your villa. The hotel can organise your boat transfers if you ask and will collect/drop you off at the piers. We went to Koh Mak for the older children to do a Junior Open Water PADI course and we will be going back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing