We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
284
63
29
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
284
63
29
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner sugar cane muay thai tropical garden minute walk thai villa tamarind house swimming pool lovely terrace a lovely stay small island the hotel manager your feet perfect place sea view peak goodtime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This place is truly amazing! If you like to come and get a feel of a private island - it is a place for you. The whole island has a very relaxing atmosphere. All the villas at the resort are surrounded by lush vegetation giving you an extra sense of privacy. Villas are simply and tastefully furnished. Restaurant on site serves great food. Cost of living on the island is at least 3 times cheaper than in Bangkok or other tourist places of Thailand. Locals are super friendly. Nobody is trying to sell you stuff on the street or the beach. Nobody is bothering you with offers to get massage or a jet sky. In fact, nobody is bothering you with anything!!! If you need time to relax with you loved one or your whole family, this place is for you. Goodtime resort is by far the best resort on Koh Mak. I traveled all over Thailand and this is my favorite spot. You really feel yourself like you own it. Island has great beaches and you can kayak to many surrounding uninhabited islands to get even more privacy! You can explore island by scooter which you can rent in the resort. Yodying and Kirsten are the owners and they always make an extra step to make you feel at home. I am definitely coming back. This is indeed the most relaxing vacation that I have had - away from noise, drunk tourists, pollution and all the other things you have to deal with at any big tourist location. Koh Mak is simply perfect and Goodtime resort is the best!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Constantine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay on Koh Mak for 4 nights then off to Koh Kood, but we loved the island and Good Time Resort so much, we decided to stay there for another 5 days.
The resort is located on top of the hill which is in between the 2 sides of the island where they both have very nice beaches, and we are very glad we stayed here because we had easy access to both beaches, which means we could walk down to one beach for the sunset and walk to the other for moon bathing at night! the resort was very green and spacious, had a lovely reception/restaurant building which overlooked the ocean and some islands. we loved having the german standard breakfast there every morning. our room, the thai teak house was very cosy and clean with large balcony and modern bathroom. another prop to add to this place is there is a very friendly and convenient local restaurant/mini mart right next door to the resort. we were there during the low season when many shops and restaurants were closed, so it was very good to have them there. they also do laundry service which the resort doesn't do. there is also a hotel opposite to good time on top of the hill which has a restaurant with great view. the rooms looked boring so we didn't want to stay there, but it's definitely worth going there for a romantic dinner or drinks.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Yoko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed in the Good Time Resort with three friends in March for about 10 days and we had a really great time! I've been travelling for 8 months now, which means that I've stayed in a lot of hotels and guesthouses around Asia and I can't remember when have stayed in a place with better service then the Good Time Resort.

Our time at the Good Times Resort:
At the beginning there was a little misunderstanding with the A/C. We expected to have an A/C in both floors of the house, but in the ground floor there was only a fan. We talked to the owner about it and he gave us two options: A discount on the room rate or they would build in an A/C asap. We choosed to have the A/C asap, and it took the Good Times no more then 24 hours to build it for us, a brand new AC. Of course, they gave us the discount for the first 24 hours without A/C too.
While we were there, the owner of the Good Times (Yodying) was around to check the new houses in the hotel, and check everything was alright. Because he was around at the time, he kindly took us on a free island tour, as a gesture of compensation, which was really nice.

Location:
You should be aware, that it's not directly at the beach, but therefore we had a jacuzzi on the balcony and a pool to swim in close to the house. Both beaches are around about the same distance from the hotel.

Values:
- Nice Breakfast
- If you're tired from the beaches around the island, you can borrow a DVD (for free) from the big DVD library above the restaurant and relax in the evening, watch a DVD in your house.
- Clean and spacious rooms in really good condition
- Nice and clean Bathrooms without surprises
- Friendly and helpful staff

In total four of five stars, because the houses are not directly at the beach.
It's not the cheapest option to stay on Koh Mak, but it's definitly worth the money!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulianN461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at one of the villas on Good Time Resort for three weeks in August and had a wonderful stay.

Good Time Resort is situated amongst botanic gardens on the beautiful island of Koh Mak. The resort is only 300 meters from two of the best beaches on the island as well as nearby resorts and restaurants. Scooters and bikes were also available to rent at the resort when we wanted to go exploring.

The resort has a peaceful swimming pool, which I found large enough to swim laps in during my free time. There is also a spa on the property as well as a delicious Thai Restaurant. The restaurant boasts stunning views of the ocean and the nearby islands in the Marine National Park. The restaurant serves up great Thai dishes and desserts, but it also has an extensive Western menu as well for the non-adventurous eaters! We also enjoyed the restaurant’s complete buffet-style breakfast. Looking out over the water from the restaurant's patio with a plate of eggs & pancakes was the perfect start to our days!

Some of the villas have WiFi connectivity, but the main building of Good Time Resort has a comfy office space with WiFi where we relaxed, played games, read books and watched movies from their collection of 400 books and DVDs.

The staff at the resort are extremely friendly and attentive and will work with you to arrange day trips on and off the island as well as any transportation you may need during your stay.

My husband and I were looking for a place we could escape it all for three weeks and Koh Mak was perfect. It is a very small and isolated island that is not built up like many Thai islands. Koh Mak is quiet and peaceful - There is not much to do besides relaxing, catching up on work, and exploring the beautiful nature and beaches. Nightlife here is almost non-existent, as the bars and restaurants are very quiet and are not open late... We personally loved it!

Koh Mak is best for families and couples looking for a true getaway.

Overall, we had an amazing stay at Good Times and on the stunning island of Koh Mak.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Good Time Resort. It is perfectly placed on a ridge line that runs down the middle of a narrow part of the small island of Koh Mak. It's a gentle walk to either of two excellent beaches, one to the north, the other to the south, each only 10 or 15 minutes walk. We stayed in a cottage-like house, nice and clean and quiet. The arrangement of the resort is excellent, with a scattering of cottages that are set apart from each other with paths through a beautiful garden. The grounds are neither the clear-cut jungle sort one sometimes finds, nor the standard overly-manicured lawn, but a carefully-landscaped hillside with beautiful plants and some sculptures, designed and developed by the owners and their staff. It's impressive now ands only going to become more lush with time. The accommodations are comfortable and private and a short walk up to the main house where breakfasts and other meals are served. They have a large DVD collection and excellent WiFi bandwidth (but for the usual ISP interruptions that are beyond their control). What makes Koh Mak special is that it is a private island, owned by a large Thai family, and they are stewards of this island with a sense of responsibility towards preserving its beauty. You will not find go-go bars, cheap run down dives or places that cater to the very wealthy. Koh Mak is natural and beautiful. The beaches are simply gorgeous. You get a bit used to seeing perfect soft clean sand and water that is almost too warm. It's close to idilic. They take recycling seriously, clean up the beaches of plastic and there is even on-island processing planned. They do not want to overdevelop this island like has happened to so many others. I liked their attitude!

We were very happy with our choice of the Good Time Resort. The family that runs the place are on-site, very personable, helpful, knowledgable, and with both European and Thai roots, they understand both cultures. It's purposefully not aspiring to be a many-star mega-resort. It is very comfortable and residential feeling, not a black-glass-and-marble-infinity-pool place. It's more like a tropical home, with great coffee (fresh real coffee)... ahhhh...

Oh, and go kayaking... there are three tiny islands very close in, two off of the beach to the south beach, and one of the other beach to the north. You needn't be highly experienced in kayaking (just sensible,and take extra water and sun block).. .and get the hang of it paddling about, then head off! You get a great workout, get to own your own deserted island for an hour or so (we were the only ones on the islands we visited, or it sure seemed so!) and it's great fun. And then, once back on shore, it is only a few minutes up from the beach and you can rest at the Good Time Resort. RECOMMENDED!!!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews