We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Two years ago we met the owners and staff of Good Time Resort - they were all friendly and helpful - so much so that we returned in 2012 to spend yet another week with them. The Blue Orchid Room was our home again - a beautifully appointed spacious room. The chef (Gebhardt) encouraged us to rent a motor scooter (which we had never done before) and we had a wonderful day of touring the island. Hopefully we can return again in the near future. We appreciate the warm hospitality of Yodying and Kerstin!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    52
    21
    18
    5
See reviews for
76
135
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This place had very helpful staff(sometimes we felt we were being pressured to do organized stuff on the island), very good breakfast and nice kitchen staff. We found our villa nice. Only complaints there was that our full bed seemed to have a tiny baby blanket and no flat sheet, and the very large spiders that inhabited our outdoor bathroom every night. We did however overlook these things. We liked the pool and we thought the distance to the beach was fine, a 10 minute walk maybe.
However, upon leaving we noticed some missing gold jewelry, which was disheartening. We never received a response back from the owner after reporting this to him. So no, we would not recommend this hotel. Despite the many good things it has going, dishonest staff/stealing obviously ruins the experience.

Room Tip: Try the rooms/food across the street at Thaidaho!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for giving me a chance to respond to your strong accusation: You checked in with a group of friends December 6th and checked out December 13th. In December 19th (13 days ! after you checked in and placed your cross-necklace somewhere) you wrote me an private email about your missing cross necklace. We are not allowed to publish your email -what is a pitty for us, because the facts look different from your own email you sent to me.
Maybe you have been disappointed, because we did not reply to you. Sorry for that. I have been travelling myself and have not been on the island when you checked out and sent the email (6 days after you checked out). As soon we received your email, we did search for the necklace in the house (new guests had checked in already) and my staff did not find the necklace.
Each house and room have a safe and we recommend to every guest to lock cash and values in the safe. Also we recommend to report missing values right away and not in your case 2 weeks later. Anyway the criminal record on Koh Mak is very low and our staff work for us since several years. We interviewed our staff and I am certain they did not steal your cross necklace. Please do not make such accusation to anybody again if you are not sure. We are sorry for your lost and hope you will find the cross necklace again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

My family (6 people) had great expectations - it was supposed to be the 'relax on the beach' part of our first Thailand (and Asia) trip, after the 'hectic urban' Bangkok bit. We loved every minute of our 10 day stay (we extended it after having booked for 6 nights), including the (5 hour) mini van trip from Bangkok and the hour long speeboat ride to the island. We stayed in the 'Chilli house', a comfortable three storey chalet with a view and a terrace that made me want to spend the rest of my life there. The closest beach ticked all the right boxes (quiet, beautiful, gentle tiny waves, coconut trees), and the whole island has the kind of beauty and peace that can only be described as paradise. We had lots of fun: rented scooters and kayaks (cheap!) to explore the island and surroundings, me and my daughter took part in a brilliant cooking course in an afternoon and the restaurants in the island and the one in the hotel (beautiful view) were quite allright. The rating has to be 'excellent', but I think it's fair to point out some minor glitches: the electrical problems in the chalet and the noise of chainsaws cutting trees in the morning (although I was the only one in the family bothered by that).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pappon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Koh Mak is a beautiful island, everything you want to escape. The Lemon Tree villa at the Good Time resort where we stayed was great, a beautiful bedroom with insect mesh, window seat, nice furnishings and the lovely touch of the pavilion like sitting in a tree house! Yodying, the owner is a really lovely guy and did so much to help us get to Koh Mak and arranging our driver back to Bangkok. If you want a laid back, escape, white sand and beautiful sea this is the place to come, if you want marble bathrooms and gold taps it is not for you.
Koh Mak does have sand flies but coconut oil is an effective deterrent and should not be a reason to stop you coming here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This place is truly amazing! If you like to come and get a feel of a private island - it is a place for you. The whole island has a very relaxing atmosphere. All the villas at the resort are surrounded by lush vegetation giving you an extra sense of privacy. Villas are simply and tastefully furnished. Restaurant on site serves great food. Cost of living on the island is at least 3 times cheaper than in Bangkok or other tourist places of Thailand. Locals are super friendly. Nobody is trying to sell you stuff on the street or the beach. Nobody is bothering you with offers to get massage or a jet sky. In fact, nobody is bothering you with anything!!! If you need time to relax with you loved one or your whole family, this place is for you. Goodtime resort is by far the best resort on Koh Mak. I traveled all over Thailand and this is my favorite spot. You really feel yourself like you own it. Island has great beaches and you can kayak to many surrounding uninhabited islands to get even more privacy! You can explore island by scooter which you can rent in the resort. Yodying and Kirsten are the owners and they always make an extra step to make you feel at home. I am definitely coming back. This is indeed the most relaxing vacation that I have had - away from noise, drunk tourists, pollution and all the other things you have to deal with at any big tourist location. Koh Mak is simply perfect and Goodtime resort is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Constantine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My boyfriend and I were planning to stay on Koh Mak for 4 nights then off to Koh Kood, but we loved the island and Good Time Resort so much, we decided to stay there for another 5 days.
The resort is located on top of the hill which is in between the 2 sides of the island where they both have very nice beaches, and we are very glad we stayed here because we had easy access to both beaches, which means we could walk down to one beach for the sunset and walk to the other for moon bathing at night! the resort was very green and spacious, had a lovely reception/restaurant building which overlooked the ocean and some islands. we loved having the german standard breakfast there every morning. our room, the thai teak house was very cosy and clean with large balcony and modern bathroom. another prop to add to this place is there is a very friendly and convenient local restaurant/mini mart right next door to the resort. we were there during the low season when many shops and restaurants were closed, so it was very good to have them there. they also do laundry service which the resort doesn't do. there is also a hotel opposite to good time on top of the hill which has a restaurant with great view. the rooms looked boring so we didn't want to stay there, but it's definitely worth going there for a romantic dinner or drinks.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Yoko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed in the Good Time Resort with three friends in March for about 10 days and we had a really great time! I've been travelling for 8 months now, which means that I've stayed in a lot of hotels and guesthouses around Asia and I can't remember when have stayed in a place with better service then the Good Time Resort.

Our time at the Good Times Resort:
At the beginning there was a little misunderstanding with the A/C. We expected to have an A/C in both floors of the house, but in the ground floor there was only a fan. We talked to the owner about it and he gave us two options: A discount on the room rate or they would build in an A/C asap. We choosed to have the A/C asap, and it took the Good Times no more then 24 hours to build it for us, a brand new AC. Of course, they gave us the discount for the first 24 hours without A/C too.
While we were there, the owner of the Good Times (Yodying) was around to check the new houses in the hotel, and check everything was alright. Because he was around at the time, he kindly took us on a free island tour, as a gesture of compensation, which was really nice.

Location:
You should be aware, that it's not directly at the beach, but therefore we had a jacuzzi on the balcony and a pool to swim in close to the house. Both beaches are around about the same distance from the hotel.

Values:
- Nice Breakfast
- If you're tired from the beaches around the island, you can borrow a DVD (for free) from the big DVD library above the restaurant and relax in the evening, watch a DVD in your house.
- Clean and spacious rooms in really good condition
- Nice and clean Bathrooms without surprises
- Friendly and helpful staff

In total four of five stars, because the houses are not directly at the beach.
It's not the cheapest option to stay on Koh Mak, but it's definitly worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.9 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing