We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique accommodation but resort lacks good service and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique accommodation but resort lacks good service and attention to detail”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in January 2013 at Tamarind House, based on the great reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. My husband and I travelled with our 3 year old son. Pros: Spacious houses which are reflected quite accurately by the photos on their website, however they are in need of some maintenance (i.e woodwork needs varnish, doors jamming, outdoor bench broken), if you want to escape the sandflies on the beach front properties then this is a good location. The house we were in had a comfortable lounge area and DVD player, which was great on the days that we experienced a bit of rain. Above the restaurant is a library which has a huge amount of DVD's and books for guests to utilise. Michael the current onsite Manager was always pleasant and made an effort each day to have a chat. House keeping staff and gardening staff always greeted you with a big smile and were extremely pleasant. On the perimeter of the resort (street that goes down to the beach) is a little Thai cafe where we hired a motorbike for 200 baht per day (we did hire it for 9 days), they serve great food and they offered a great rate for laundry.
Cons: We had pre-organised with the owner of Good Time a limo pick up from Trad Airport, a speed boat transfer and pick up from pier as we were travelling with a small child so wanted to make everything as smooth as possible. Even though I had received confirmation from the resort that this was all booked, it wasn't. This resulted in us having to organise a more expensive transfer at Trad airport, having to get a later speedboat (which was not a tourist boat) and no pick up at the pier - not a first good impression of the resort, no apology when we arrived, as no one seemed to know anything about it. After the first night of sleeping in our house, the bed was unbelievably hard. This is the first time I have ever complained about a bed in all my years of travel, and we have stayed in many budget places over the years. My husband and I both woke up sore and the next morning at breakfast I asked the owners wife if she could please do something about the bed as we were there for 10 nights and there was no way that we could sleep on that for the duration. She told us that 90% of tourists like to sleep on hard beds and you could tell that she was displeased by us making a request for a change. By late that afternoon nothing had still happened re the bed, so after a second request of letting her know that we were not happy with the bed, house keeping finally stopped by to bring in a different mattress (still hard, but much better). I can't be certain but I actually think it was a box spring that we were sleeping on in the first instance, not an actual mattress. The bedding is really sparse also, there was one fitted sheet and the top sheet was a giant towel. I would expect better bedding for the prices that you pay at Good Time. Breakfast was pretty much what we expected, however we were not prepared for the rudeness of the cook. I understand that she did not speak very good English, but she pretty much threw the plate of food of you. One of the reasons we booked Good Time was because they had a swimming pool. It was really dirty when we first arrived, however by the time we were leaving it had had a huge amount of cleaning product through it and on the day we were leaving you could actually see the tiles on the bottom of the pool (10 days later).

Room Tip: If I were to return to Koh Mak, I would probably book only a night or two initially and then hire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Sorry the pick-up service from the airport did not work out in your case.
We offer this service for our guests, because -as you mentioned yourself- it is more expensive if you order a taxi from the airport without reservation than if we order for you. The taxi company which was in charge for your pick up probably forgot your arrival. Sorry for this bad experience. Normally a phone call could have solved this problem.
After you mentioned the mattress were to hard for you, we have exchanged them but apologize we did not do this right away - but in the afternoon same day. Our property is pretty big and the staff took some time to find a good, softer mattress for you from another property. Koh Mak is a remote island and there are unfortunatelly no shops which sell mattresses.
To be honest, mattresses is one of our few weak points. It is a matter of taste. Some like it soft, some prefer it hart. A few 5 star hotels offer a "pillow menu" and you can choose the degree of "softnees". We do not have this service (yet) but every time a guests prefer a softer mattress, we do everything possible (same in your case).
It was a surprise to hear about your experience and your impression about the cook. I assume it was just a missunderstanding. Most Thais are very friendly - every body should be in our business - with no exception and no tolerance.I have no answer for your impression about her, but we will try to find out if the cook has an explaination.
Thank you for pointing out a few good things about our resort, too. Your "dislikes" we will try to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    54
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
78
135
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in March 2012. We booked a 1 Bedroom Thai House and paid USD 480 for 5 nights.

The resort made a minor error with our booking, which meant that we had to spend the first night in a Teak House (lesser category than we booked), but were upgraded to a beautiful stone Thai villa for the remaining 4 nights - which we didn't mind at all!

Hotel - the gardens are beautiful and very peaceful. The only downside is that mosquitos can be a nuisance. Also, a torch does come in handy at night.

Room - Or Villa rather. We loved it. It was tastefully decorated with Thai wooden statues and furniture. All the windows had shutters on the outside in addition to mosquito protection and windows itself. Great to have air-conditioning to chill things down a little at night if you like to. The roof terrace was wonderful to enjoy a cold Tiger on warm evening! Spacious and clean bathroom too. The cleaners came every day and did a good job.

Location - This is not a beach resort. You are bang on the middle of the island, but both of the two main beaches are only a 5-minute walk away. Some people may not like that if you are really looking for beach holiday in the purest sense of the word, but the upside is that things are more peaceful and spacious in the resort. One of the managers (Josh) came to pick us up from the pier when we arrived and gave us a lift back there when we left. It is not too far to walk, but was handy with the luggage.

Facilities - There was a problem with the pool and it was out of order when we were there. We didn't care, but I suppose it might have been a let-down for families with children. We really liked the main house/lobby/restaurant area and its relaxing atmosphere with plenty of lounge opportunities. The food was all right - pretty much toned-down Thai dishes. We are at some of the other resorts as well during out stay, that is no problem at all.

Overall, we have fond memories of our stay at Good Time Resort on Koh Mak. It is a tranquil island but not down to the shoestring level. You can have a very relaxing and comfortable stay there without worries as long as you are not looking for 5* luxury or freak out when there is a gecko in your bathroom or something like that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vantastic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Koh mak is a beautiful island and the good time resort is definitely worth a stay. The new manager is quite keen and tries his best to ensure the guests are accommodated. The kitchen staff are very helpful and the food is pretty good. The swimming pool and grounds are well maintained, which makes it quite picturesque. The only down side off course is the buzzy things which were hungry when we were there. Also the bed linen is a bit skinny and perhaps a spare cover would be advised.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Two years ago we met the owners and staff of Good Time Resort - they were all friendly and helpful - so much so that we returned in 2012 to spend yet another week with them. The Blue Orchid Room was our home again - a beautifully appointed spacious room. The chef (Gebhardt) encouraged us to rent a motor scooter (which we had never done before) and we had a wonderful day of touring the island. Hopefully we can return again in the near future. We appreciate the warm hospitality of Yodying and Kerstin!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This place had very helpful staff(sometimes we felt we were being pressured to do organized stuff on the island), very good breakfast and nice kitchen staff. We found our villa nice. Only complaints there was that our full bed seemed to have a tiny baby blanket and no flat sheet, and the very large spiders that inhabited our outdoor bathroom every night. We did however overlook these things. We liked the pool and we thought the distance to the beach was fine, a 10 minute walk maybe.
However, upon leaving we noticed some missing gold jewelry, which was disheartening. We never received a response back from the owner after reporting this to him. So no, we would not recommend this hotel. Despite the many good things it has going, dishonest staff/stealing obviously ruins the experience.

Room Tip: Try the rooms/food across the street at Thaidaho!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for giving me a chance to respond to your strong accusation: You checked in with a group of friends December 6th and checked out December 13th. In December 19th (13 days ! after you checked in and placed your cross-necklace somewhere) you wrote me an private email about your missing cross necklace. We are not allowed to publish your email -what is a pitty for us, because the facts look different from your own email you sent to me.
Maybe you have been disappointed, because we did not reply to you. Sorry for that. I have been travelling myself and have not been on the island when you checked out and sent the email (6 days after you checked out). As soon we received your email, we did search for the necklace in the house (new guests had checked in already) and my staff did not find the necklace.
Each house and room have a safe and we recommend to every guest to lock cash and values in the safe. Also we recommend to report missing values right away and not in your case 2 weeks later. Anyway the criminal record on Koh Mak is very low and our staff work for us since several years. We interviewed our staff and I am certain they did not steal your cross necklace. Please do not make such accusation to anybody again if you are not sure. We are sorry for your lost and hope you will find the cross necklace again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My family (6 people) had great expectations - it was supposed to be the 'relax on the beach' part of our first Thailand (and Asia) trip, after the 'hectic urban' Bangkok bit. We loved every minute of our 10 day stay (we extended it after having booked for 6 nights), including the (5 hour) mini van trip from Bangkok and the hour long speeboat ride to the island. We stayed in the 'Chilli house', a comfortable three storey chalet with a view and a terrace that made me want to spend the rest of my life there. The closest beach ticked all the right boxes (quiet, beautiful, gentle tiny waves, coconut trees), and the whole island has the kind of beauty and peace that can only be described as paradise. We had lots of fun: rented scooters and kayaks (cheap!) to explore the island and surroundings, me and my daughter took part in a brilliant cooking course in an afternoon and the restaurants in the island and the one in the hotel (beautiful view) were quite allright. The rating has to be 'excellent', but I think it's fair to point out some minor glitches: the electrical problems in the chalet and the noise of chainsaws cutting trees in the morning (although I was the only one in the family bothered by that).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pappon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Koh Mak is a beautiful island, everything you want to escape. The Lemon Tree villa at the Good Time resort where we stayed was great, a beautiful bedroom with insect mesh, window seat, nice furnishings and the lovely touch of the pavilion like sitting in a tree house! Yodying, the owner is a really lovely guy and did so much to help us get to Koh Mak and arranging our driver back to Bangkok. If you want a laid back, escape, white sand and beautiful sea this is the place to come, if you want marble bathrooms and gold taps it is not for you.
Koh Mak does have sand flies but coconut oil is an effective deterrent and should not be a reason to stop you coming here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing