We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay here. The rooms are great and really good value. We spent 2 nights before moving to a beach location. If this place was at the beach I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Staff are very friendly and make you feel really at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khyphena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review.
We always give our best.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

wow! we had such a nice time at the good time resort. nice staff, nice breakfast, a very nice house in a wonderful jungle garden filled with antique stuff. a lot of privacy because there is space between the different houses / villas... we had house MANAU from which we could watch the sunset every evening. the way to the two beaches can be walked in 10 minutes or you rent a scooter and be there in 4 min.

thanks to yodi, naam and michael who took very good care of us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christianguhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The resort is spread over a large piece of land creating a need for transportation between the house and restaurant. The standard of accomodation is at a low level. The restaurant is small but seems ok. The swimmingpool is very small and our kids were very disapointed. You have to drive to get to the beach or be preparred for a long walk. For this reason we chose to find another place to stay. The owner was very serviceminded and helped us find an alternative accomdation and promissed to repay us for the accomodation. So far he hasnt lived up to that promiss, so I guess, he isnt somebody to thrust!

Room Tip: If you choose to stay secure a room close to the restaurant and main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Soerensteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for given us the chance to reflect our meeting at Christmas Season 2012.
You have booked your vacation through a Danish Travel Agency in Denmark.
The complete procedure, including the payments was done between you and the
Danish Agent.
A few days before your arrival, you have send us an email and asked us, to confirm “Two Beachfront Thai Villas”. We have replied to you immediately that we do not have “Beachfront Villas” and the booking was for only one Two-floor Villa.
We also informed your agency in Denmark about the missunderstanding between you and the agent.
When you arrived at Good Time Resort we picked you and your family up and welcomed you at the resort.
Right away we informed you again, that we cannot meet your expectations about being “beachfront”, but we will help you to find another accommodation (this was not easy around Christmas). You and your wife expected our Two-floor Thai Villa and you mentioned to me that the villa looks nice AND is well maintained, but because of your teenage children, you prefer to be right at the beach. This matter we understood completely.
So we are surprised you write now the villa has been in a bad shape. The villa was newly renovated and in my opinion one of the best we can offer.
When we met personally at the resort, I promised you to pay a refund, because we understood your situation about the kids. But I have also mentioned to you, that we check and confirm with the Agent in Denmark first, how much the refund should be and how to proceed. You have to understand and believe, that in most OTHER cases, the money from Agents will be paid AFTER the check out of the guests. Our resort have been very busy around Christmas Season, so at this point I have to apologize to you that your refund was not first priority for our team and it was also difficult to have full communication between Christmas and New Year with other involved parties.
I was personaly very disappointed to read your extreme negative review here and I was even more surprised to receive an email from you a few days ago, in which you offered me to remove your review AFTER we pay you the refund.
In our opinion, this was an unethical proposal and we do not want to accept your offer.
Until today, we don’t understand why you asked us to confirm “Two Beachfront villas’ prior your arrival. Also we like to take the opportunity right here to express, that we have never been obliged to pay you a refund, but we did have the intention because we are “very serviced minded” as you have written yourself at this review. Thank you for mention this. Indeed our entire team is “very service minded” but we should not be demoralized as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for 10 nights in January 2013 at Tamarind House, based on the great reviews I had read on Trip Advisor. My husband and I travelled with our 3 year old son. Pros: Spacious houses which are reflected quite accurately by the photos on their website, however they are in need of some maintenance (i.e woodwork needs varnish, doors jamming, outdoor bench broken), if you want to escape the sandflies on the beach front properties then this is a good location. The house we were in had a comfortable lounge area and DVD player, which was great on the days that we experienced a bit of rain. Above the restaurant is a library which has a huge amount of DVD's and books for guests to utilise. Michael the current onsite Manager was always pleasant and made an effort each day to have a chat. House keeping staff and gardening staff always greeted you with a big smile and were extremely pleasant. On the perimeter of the resort (street that goes down to the beach) is a little Thai cafe where we hired a motorbike for 200 baht per day (we did hire it for 9 days), they serve great food and they offered a great rate for laundry.
Cons: We had pre-organised with the owner of Good Time a limo pick up from Trad Airport, a speed boat transfer and pick up from pier as we were travelling with a small child so wanted to make everything as smooth as possible. Even though I had received confirmation from the resort that this was all booked, it wasn't. This resulted in us having to organise a more expensive transfer at Trad airport, having to get a later speedboat (which was not a tourist boat) and no pick up at the pier - not a first good impression of the resort, no apology when we arrived, as no one seemed to know anything about it. After the first night of sleeping in our house, the bed was unbelievably hard. This is the first time I have ever complained about a bed in all my years of travel, and we have stayed in many budget places over the years. My husband and I both woke up sore and the next morning at breakfast I asked the owners wife if she could please do something about the bed as we were there for 10 nights and there was no way that we could sleep on that for the duration. She told us that 90% of tourists like to sleep on hard beds and you could tell that she was displeased by us making a request for a change. By late that afternoon nothing had still happened re the bed, so after a second request of letting her know that we were not happy with the bed, house keeping finally stopped by to bring in a different mattress (still hard, but much better). I can't be certain but I actually think it was a box spring that we were sleeping on in the first instance, not an actual mattress. The bedding is really sparse also, there was one fitted sheet and the top sheet was a giant towel. I would expect better bedding for the prices that you pay at Good Time. Breakfast was pretty much what we expected, however we were not prepared for the rudeness of the cook. I understand that she did not speak very good English, but she pretty much threw the plate of food of you. One of the reasons we booked Good Time was because they had a swimming pool. It was really dirty when we first arrived, however by the time we were leaving it had had a huge amount of cleaning product through it and on the day we were leaving you could actually see the tiles on the bottom of the pool (10 days later).

Room Tip: If I were to return to Koh Mak, I would probably book only a night or two initially and then hire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Sorry the pick-up service from the airport did not work out in your case.
We offer this service for our guests, because -as you mentioned yourself- it is more expensive if you order a taxi from the airport without reservation than if we order for you. The taxi company which was in charge for your pick up probably forgot your arrival. Sorry for this bad experience. Normally a phone call could have solved this problem.
After you mentioned the mattress were to hard for you, we have exchanged them but apologize we did not do this right away - but in the afternoon same day. Our property is pretty big and the staff took some time to find a good, softer mattress for you from another property. Koh Mak is a remote island and there are unfortunatelly no shops which sell mattresses.
To be honest, mattresses is one of our few weak points. It is a matter of taste. Some like it soft, some prefer it hart. A few 5 star hotels offer a "pillow menu" and you can choose the degree of "softnees". We do not have this service (yet) but every time a guests prefer a softer mattress, we do everything possible (same in your case).
It was a surprise to hear about your experience and your impression about the cook. I assume it was just a missunderstanding. Most Thais are very friendly - every body should be in our business - with no exception and no tolerance.I have no answer for your impression about her, but we will try to find out if the cook has an explaination.
Thank you for pointing out a few good things about our resort, too. Your "dislikes" we will try to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in March 2012. We booked a 1 Bedroom Thai House and paid USD 480 for 5 nights.

The resort made a minor error with our booking, which meant that we had to spend the first night in a Teak House (lesser category than we booked), but were upgraded to a beautiful stone Thai villa for the remaining 4 nights - which we didn't mind at all!

Hotel - the gardens are beautiful and very peaceful. The only downside is that mosquitos can be a nuisance. Also, a torch does come in handy at night.

Room - Or Villa rather. We loved it. It was tastefully decorated with Thai wooden statues and furniture. All the windows had shutters on the outside in addition to mosquito protection and windows itself. Great to have air-conditioning to chill things down a little at night if you like to. The roof terrace was wonderful to enjoy a cold Tiger on warm evening! Spacious and clean bathroom too. The cleaners came every day and did a good job.

Location - This is not a beach resort. You are bang on the middle of the island, but both of the two main beaches are only a 5-minute walk away. Some people may not like that if you are really looking for beach holiday in the purest sense of the word, but the upside is that things are more peaceful and spacious in the resort. One of the managers (Josh) came to pick us up from the pier when we arrived and gave us a lift back there when we left. It is not too far to walk, but was handy with the luggage.

Facilities - There was a problem with the pool and it was out of order when we were there. We didn't care, but I suppose it might have been a let-down for families with children. We really liked the main house/lobby/restaurant area and its relaxing atmosphere with plenty of lounge opportunities. The food was all right - pretty much toned-down Thai dishes. We are at some of the other resorts as well during out stay, that is no problem at all.

Overall, we have fond memories of our stay at Good Time Resort on Koh Mak. It is a tranquil island but not down to the shoestring level. You can have a very relaxing and comfortable stay there without worries as long as you are not looking for 5* luxury or freak out when there is a gecko in your bathroom or something like that.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vantastic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Koh mak is a beautiful island and the good time resort is definitely worth a stay. The new manager is quite keen and tries his best to ensure the guests are accommodated. The kitchen staff are very helpful and the food is pretty good. The swimming pool and grounds are well maintained, which makes it quite picturesque. The only down side off course is the buzzy things which were hungry when we were there. Also the bed linen is a bit skinny and perhaps a spare cover would be advised.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Two years ago we met the owners and staff of Good Time Resort - they were all friendly and helpful - so much so that we returned in 2012 to spend yet another week with them. The Blue Orchid Room was our home again - a beautifully appointed spacious room. The chef (Gebhardt) encouraged us to rent a motor scooter (which we had never done before) and we had a wonderful day of touring the island. Hopefully we can return again in the near future. We appreciate the warm hospitality of Yodying and Kerstin!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cgmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
11.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Ko Kut
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: £29 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing