We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW-WOW-WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW-WOW-WOW”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

best place ever. the good time resort is a great, spacious, beautiful, green, fantastic, inspiring spot to be. on top of a hill you have a beautiful look over the ocean. nice each individual designed houses with very stylisch interior give you a unique and luxury comfort. kind of a "boutique hotel" styled resort if you wanna call it this way. the stuff is really friendly and the food is fantastic. family freindly, nice pool...
the most i liked the garden. its green everywhere. lots of flowers, fantastic botanic ideas like a little fruit garden with pineapples, papayas....
looking forward coming there soon again
you all will enjoy this place :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    52
    21
    18
    5
See reviews for
76
135
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hill Head, Fareham
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We booked this the night before we travelled - booked on Expedia and to be honest were struggling to find a vacancy anywhere on the island.
However, what a find! We were given a whole Thai house to ourselves (a bit of a waste as there were only 2 of us). Owners were so helpful - we emailed them with our ferry arrival time and they collected us and gave us a lift back the next day.

Breakfast was plentiful.

We walked to the north and south beaches.

This is not a 5 star resort - more relaxed. So make sure you take toiletries. No hair dryer etc.

Room Tip: This is a VERY quiet island. Perfect for getting away from it all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We are a family of 4, our children aged 9 and 11. We stayed at Good Time Resort on 2 separate occasions in April 2013. The accommodation is fantastic, its really clean, very well decorated, and very spacious inside and plenty of outside space and furniture around each house. We found the beds to be very comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and spacious so it doesn't ever feel crowded. The swimming pool is very clean, a good size and has a smaller area for younger children. There is also a lounge above the restaurant with some play things for smaller children.
Breakfast was buffet style, the children especially liked the pancakes. We had a few evening meals here and these were all very good.
The owners were very helpful to us, they assisted with confirming our transport to and from the Island, and also collect you from and drop you off at the Pier. I recommend taking the Panan speedboat, its the better of the 2 options.
Good TIme is centrally located in-between the 2 main beaches (Ao Kao Bay and Ao Soun Yai) on the Island, its as maximum of 10 minutes walking slowly from both beaches. We recommend the beach to the North, Ao Soun Yai, as this is by far the cleanest on the Island. There is also a Tourist Info site here and the Ko Mak resort with a bar and restaurant. Kayaks can be rented from lots of places on the Island, we rented from the Koh Mak Resort and Kayaked to a close by Island. Windsurfers are also available to hire at the Koh Mak Resort, and lessons are available.
Snorkelling and diving trips are available with Koh Mak Divers to the National Marine Park, we saw lots of fish and had a great day out. They collect you from the hotel.

Its also possible to use the pools of other resorts on the Island if you eat lunch at them. A nice place for lunch is the Koh Mak Resort and they have a lovely infinity pool overlooking the sea.
Koh Mak Seafood restaurant is very good, and they provide a taxi free of charge. There are lots of other restaurants a short walk from the hotel, within 5 minutes walking.
We didn't rent a bike or moped whilst on the Island, as we really didn't need to.
Good Time is ideally placed and within walking distance of the beaches and restaurants.
In total we stayed on Koh Mak for 8 nights, and could have stayed more. Its a very relaxed Island, very safe and welcoming, there is enough to do but it is not in anyway touristy, commercialised or pushy. We did not see any signs of any night life, most restaurants closing by 2130. This is a quiet, low key island that has escaped the mass tourism of other Thai Islands and is a pleasure to stay on. The sea was beautiful (we didn't see any jellyfish and the sea was very calm), the children swam a lot, jump off the pier, snorkelled, kayaked, windsurfed and played.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Had a fantastic stay again at Goodtime Resort. The owners and new manager Michael (and staff) bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I have stayed at other resorts on the island but this ranks the best by far. A few minutes walk away the sandy white beach with gorgeous shallow turquoise sea to the left of Cococape pier, has to be one of the best in the world in my opinion (and is normally deserted!). Cannot wait to go back, loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have just returned from our 4th visit to Goodtime Resort. As always we had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed being the only people on the beach most days. This beach, reached by a 5 minute walk through Cococape resort, we would consider the best on the island. As we were there for 5 weeks we get to know the staff well, and as always they were all helpful, happy and smiling, though the cook comes across as a bit brusque I always enjoy the breakfast especially the pancakes with fresh fruit. There are some negative remarks on this site regarding Goodtime, you have to remember that you are on a small isolated island and it's not easy to rectify specific problems immediately, but it seems that the owners do their best to sort out any problems that you might have. We stayed in Ban Champu, which is a charming teak house, it's quite basic but suited us just fine. I'm pleased that the owners are changing beds and bedding as these aren't that comfortable. All in all, we had a wonderful time and shall return again! If anyone requires any more information, do please contact me directly.

Room Tip: Be aware that this is a resort and the villas are scattered around, so if you want to be near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crisindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the Good Time Resort on Koh Mak mid February and overall we enjoyed the stay.

Good Time Management arranged car parking for us on the mainland, as well as the high speed power boat to the island. My understanding is there are both powerboat and slower diesel boats that service the island: take the powerboat as its 55 minutes at around 40 knots, the slow boat would be over 2 hours. Again, ask GT Management to book the boat: it was full to capacity we noticed both coming and going.

We were picked up and taken to the resort by the resort car, and enjoyed our first views of Koh Mak. Living in Thailand we are constantly looking for the perfect island getaway, and think we have come close to finding it at Koh Mak. Its quiet, peaceful, uncrowded, and slightly eccentric, with 24 hour power and good internet and cell phone service. Pretty much the best of both worlds. Not many taxi's are on the island: Maybe a dozen we saw. So it pays to be able to ride a motor scooter with some competence, as much of the island is on red clay dirt roads and are a bit rough. Not a problem on a scooter if you ride a bit, maybe a bit more difficult if you don't and I can imagine it would be pretty slippery and trecherous riding in the wet season.

We were met at the resort by Michael the manager, a genial and genuine host who seems to love where he is and what he is doing. Good Time Resort if not the biggest on the island in terms of actual land area must be close to the biggest. It is well spread out, with houses far more seperate than you would expect to see even in suburban locations in most parts of the world. The gardens and trees add to the feeling of being private, and all in all the first impression is correct: Good Time is tranquil and private.

The houses are excellent, with a top story Sala (Gazebo) that becomes the refuge in hot afternoons, after swimming or snorkelling. The rooms them self are spacious and breezy, and air conditioning is really only necessary at night. There is a good sized safe, that will easily take your cameras, laptops and other values if you feel the need to lock up.

BUT: The beds are not so great. The mattresses must come with a 100 year warranty as they are concrete hard, and the pillows (2 only) are small and flat. The bedspreads barely cover the mattress, and if you pull the cover up to your chest, your feet hang out. Really Good Time, get some new mattresses, get some new pillows, put 2 pillows per person, and buy bedspreads/covers suitable for a kingsize bed, rather than the handkerchiefs that are currently gracing the beds. Not good enough.

It is only the beds that stopped me rating this resort as Above Average to Excellent. I think it is fair comment to say that on holidays you expect a good sleep!

The beds and covers really are my only complaint. We loved the resort and the staff were wonderful. The location between the beaches is ideal. Kayaking and snorkelling or just exploring by mountain bike or scooter are hours of fun. Good Time can arrange the scooters, mountain bikes etc for you. We rented a scooter for 4 days and it was a good machine, with good brakes and tyres.

The food that we ate at Good Time was fine: the restaurant for breakfast has a lovely ambience as it projects into the shady treetops.

All in all I would recommend Good Time. I did ask Michael the manager about the beds and covers and he told me I was not the first to mention the issues, and it was in hand.

Tips for Koh Mak in general:
1. You will either need to be competent on a push bike or scooter as there are not so many taxis. If you go the scooter route, make sure your travel insurance covers you.

2. Nightlife: whats that? Not much happening at night that we noticed, but maybe it was just quiet. The "Main Strip" of about a dozen restaurants were pretty quiet by 9pm. Good Books essential. Unless you really like your own company, come with a friend. Its pretty quiet.

3. Let Good Time arrange your transfers etc. Much less stressful. Not a lot of english spoken on the mainland adjacent to Koh Mak.

4. Money: At the time of writing there is NO ATM machine on Koh Mak. No doubt this will change in the near future, but at this stage either bring a wad of cash, or ask all scooters, boat trips etc to be charged back to Good Time to pay by EFTPOS on departure. Maybe discuss this with the Manager on arrival. Note however food, attractions, everything is pretty dirt cheap on Koh Mak.

5. The locals are some of the nicest I have met in Thailand. There is a slightly eccentric/artistic air to the place that I hope it never looses.

6. This applies to ALL Thailand travels: Mosquitoes. Dengue Fever. Take some repellent for the early morning and late afternoons. Use it in the day time in forrest locations. Dengue mosquitoes bite in the daytime. On the whole we didn't notice a lot of mosquitoes on KM, but they are there for sure, and you don't want dengue. Take repellent.

Thanks to Good Time for a great stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Get a rooftop room with the Sala in the treetops... very nice afternoon spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and constructive feedback about The Good Time Resort and Koh Mak.
I believe and confirm your review reflects and explains our property and the island very well and in detail.
Also your complain and your personal opinion about the "hardness of the mattress" is reasonable.
Actually we did receive this complain before and this is why we provide extra soft mattress-cover as soon a guests mention this issue. Unfortunatelly the mattresses do not have a "warranty", as you described in a humorous way - we exchange them every few years. It was a coincident to read your review today, because just today we bought several new (and softer) mattresses, which will be shipped to Koh Mak next week.
Thank you for mentioning our staff and manager and their positive attitude. They (we) do everything possible to give our guests a pleasant stay- this includes providing soft mattress cover when requested. Just the other day we received a new booking- guess which request he had ? "Please provide us a hard mattress".
Hopefully you will come and visit us again on Koh Mak and please request "extra soft mattress" in advance.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

we stayed for 12 days on this beautiful island in this awesome resort.

the houses are all huge, clean and nicely furnished. partly with anitique thai and chinese stuff. nice details everywhere you look. big plus is that you have privacy because the houses are build with space in between. not like all these beachbunkers at the other places were you can hear the neighbour snoring.

the staff/service at goodtime resort is perfect! always friendly, if you have a problem they fix it very fast.
special thanks to michael, naam and yody for taking so good care of us :)

they have a good cook, the breakfast is also good. they have "real" coffee and good german bread.

we were also looking at the other resorts at the island and i honestly think this is the best place to stay on koh mak!

we will definitely come back for some good times next year!
khob-kun-krub

Room Tip: the house "Magnolia"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the great review. Hopefully you come and visit us again. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Kind regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.9 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing