We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini Village in the Middle of the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A mini Village in the Middle of the Island”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My start with the Good Time Resort was a bit shakey as they forgot to pick me up from the pier in Koh Mak. This is a small island in the middle of the Andeman where you can't just flag a taxi. Once the information office called and sorted it out for me all went up and up from there.

The hotel is really a set of small and not so small Thai villas that has been restored to perfection. I had a lovely little house at the bottom of the resort - very private and very comfortable. It was one large room with a comfortable bed and a nice sofa to sit on. No TV here although there was a set that you could borrow DVDs to watch on. A lovely front porch with great chairs as well. The bedding was very German in style with single covers. I was cold at night and had to request a duvet which came promptly.

The bathroom was big and open plan but nicely decorated. The water on Koh Mak is very rusty - that's an island thing not the hotel. It smelled quite strong but wasn't a deal breaker. Towels were clean and plentiful as were the toiletries that were provided.

Breakfast was served up on the main builidng where the restaurant and lounge were located. Breakfast was simple with great coffee, fresh fruit, fresh bread and pancakes. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent, especially after the cook learned that I like spicey food and started to cook off menu for me.

I spent an hour or so a day in the loung upstairs working on my computer as the only wifi (free) was up there. It was a lovely place to work with a nice cross breeze. There was a toy corner and an extensive library of DVDs up there as well.

The Good Time Resort arranged for one of the best Thai massages that I have ever had. The young woman who did the massage didn't speak English but we worked together for two hours (she only charged me for 90 minutes) beating the kinks out. She was so good I hired her all four days that I was there.

The Good Time Resort is located a walk away from the beach on either side of the island. They included a free island tour in the room rate which was a great way to see the island, especially as the owner's family seems to own most of the island.

There were a handful of places to eat and drink about 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Bring a torch (flashlight) with you because when it gets dark there it gets dark!!!

All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    56
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
79
137
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Beautiful, quiet and very clean houses hidden in a wonderful green garden with lots of space between them. The ones on top of the hill have a view over the island onto the sea. Good Time has a nice pool area and a very cute restaurant terrace and tree bar, as well with a great view. Good breakfast (pancakes!) and dinner, plus I had the best Banana shake of my life. Service is great and staff are super friendly. They perfectly organised scooter rental, snorkeling trip, speed boat etc.. The resort is very well located, close to the islands main beaches and to what I'd call the main road with some restaurants and shops. But with a scooter you'll get anywhere pretty quick anyway, and the staff know the island inside out and can give you great tips for the best restaurants and hidden gems of this beautiful, unique and still rather untouristic place. You will have a very good time at Good Time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paulmerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have been in Thailand this October for about 10 days. 4 days of this trip was in Koh Mak at Good Times. The day I made the reservation over the net, I received a warm welcoming message. It was a good start.
Yodying, the owner of the resort, lives partly in Chiang Mai, where we visited right before we moved to Koh Mak. It was a very sincere move for Yodying to meet us there and take us to dinner, telling us all about Koh Mak... So there we were already a fan of Koh Mak and became friends with Yodying rather than hotel guests...

Koh Mak was exactly what we were looking for. One of the smallest islands, well cared, and preserved. It is one of the places where you can enjoy much facilities but at the same time feel like you are a Robinson Crusoe. Not to skip locally run and the freshest seafood restaurants on the Island!
Good Times Resort enjoys one of the most flourished lands on the Island, with an exceptional variety of villas spread rather independently into the nature. The resort is walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches on the island and a couple of minutes of motorbike ride to the other. The staff is always there for you and helpful.

Al in all it was an exceptional journey for us far from mambo jambo, rather with much peace and friendship. Would like to thank Koh Mak and The Goodtime Resort for being such a great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ukecik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Good time resort November 2013, and we're dissapointed with our choice especially when we saw all the good beach options on the island at competitive prices. The resort is between the two nicest beaches on the island, and you can walk to each of them in 10 mins but the resort does not offer a seaview from most of the accomodation. The standard of the Basil bungalow was average, it could have been more clean, and the bed (very hard) was in a corner meaning you'd have to climb over the other person at night if you'd have to get out. The aircon works well, but is situated over the bed, and makes a lot of noise. The garden is beatiful and breakfast OK (nice pancakes), except for the flies in the fruit. The style of the bungalow was not really our taste, it was a mismatch of funny colours and prints. The staff was kind, but could have spoken a better English. Next time we'll stay at the beach front in a bungalow with seaview.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KoMak, Owner at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Nette,

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and also we did not meet your taste regarding the interior and colors of the fabrics. Some of our rooms and houses do have sea-view,
but unfortunately not the category you booked: Thai Teak House. You could have asked for a softer mattress and we would have been happy to provide it. The flies around the fresh fruits plats at breakfast appear once a while (it have not been an issue before), but we found a solution for that problem anyway (a glass top and a fan). Thank you for that hint and thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I didn't stay here unfortunately, but pass it regularly on my walks around the island. It looks stunning and is located sprawled up a hill just off the main "walking street" (so only a couple of minutes' walk to a lovely beach). Some of the rooms, and the spa building at the bottom of the hill and the restaurant / reception are at the top of the hill. There are also some gorgeous big houses that are part of the resort at the top of the hill across the road. It seems to be very well maintained, and some people who I got talking to who were staying there seemed very happy with the place.
As there is a big problem with sand flies here on Koh Mak, the swimming pool would be very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank treatgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good Time is set in a few acres of tropical gardens, you really do feel hidden away from your neighbours and very private. We stayed in Ban Mak, towards the bottom of the resort, and would rate the room very highly - generous proportions, a wet room style shower and bathroom, fridge, kettle, sofa, TV and DVD player. As other reviewers have noted the beds are a little hard, but we got used to it! The AC was brilliant, although having seen the power station on the Island I did feel guilty every time I switched it on! Ban Mak had a large veranda and chairs at the front which was a great shelter from the sun when needed.

Breakfast is basic but a great set up for the day - fruit, juice, tea, coffee, eggs, bread, and pancakes if you turn up more than 15 minutes before the end of service. The local staff don't speak the best English but were always more than helpful, from the moment we arrived the managers were quick to answer any queries and assist with transfers and speedboat tickets. The resort restaurant has quite a limited menu and I would say the other restaurants nearby offer more choice and better value. Good Time is well located, a short stroll from both north and south beaches on the island, with plenty of choice of restaurants in easy striking distance; we found it too hot to cycle, but 4x4 hire locally is about £30 a day and a great way of getting your bearings and seeing a bit more of the furthest corners.

Koh Mak is a beautiful island, even at peak season in March/April it felt almost deserted on the beaches, I'd recommend kayaking out to the island off the north beach (name escapes me) with it's whiter than white sand, 200baht gets you access to the beach and a well deserved chilled drink of your choice. Turtle beach on the northern most tip of the island is also worth a visit - its 30 minutes trek through the forest from north beach, or accessible by kayak. Give it a go - there's loads of choice of resorts, just don't expect the Hilton, as even the biggest resorts have a rustic element to them - it's a tiny island where everything needs to be shipped in. That said, it's a very welcoming, charming place with a very chilled pace.

I'd recommend taxi transfers from Bangkok, at £80 each way it seems steep, but it's a 3 hour journey, and after 14 hours of flights and transfers I'm glad we didn't take the bus. Depending on your flight timings the buses can leave you a bit pushed for speedboats, and it's not worth missing the last departure from the mainland.

Room Tip: I've only seen the inside of Ban Mak. I would stay there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile


Koh Maak is a small island, privatly owned ( plantation owner ), its covered with Coco and Rubberwood plantations. Eventhough there is hardly any original forest left it has a very tropical rainforest feel to it, at least in July when we were there.

When there we had lots of rain and hundreds of frogs were quaking away at night, a delight to hear. It has some very nice beaches. Great for swimming and snorkling. But the island owner does not want to spray against sandflies so it means these bugs can be a real Nuisance. They spray plenty of fungicide and herbicide in the plantation but do not against sand flies.

Anyway the Good Time resort is run by a german / dutch couple. The lady in charge Susanna is very helpfull. She is a yoga teacher so if you want to work on perfecting your lotus stand or do the dog stretch she might help you :).

They will help you with bookings for the speedboat / ferry to the island. When there are strong winds you will get soaked on the speedboat. I suspect the captain enjoys speeding across the straight with his 750 hp boat that holds 40 persons and get everyone wet. My tip " sit at the front not at the back of the boat :) ".

The rooms are very large and good value for money. Tidy and well kept by local employees. Rooms have a modern aircon with a super quiet sleep function and also a dehumidifier. Not a luxury in this climate believe me. All windows can be opened and have mosquito gauze if you would prefer not to turn on the aircon.

Breakfast is basic but keep in mind this island is isolated compared to its larger sister Koh Chang and Koh Kood. So certain foods are hard to come by, but at least the coffee is fresh and not instant !

In high season I think they serve diner.

There is wifi in the common areas.

All in all a pretty good deal this place, not on the beach but within walking distance. Dont feel sorry if you dont get the sea view because the places right on the beach have to deal with the sand flies.

The island may look like paradise on the pics but it can be, well, quite the opposite if you are allergic to the bites of the many winged parasites.

Also keep in mind that being close to Cambodia this is one of the few areas where malaria carrying mozies are possible. Although its low risk just make sure you have your supply of deet ( readily available on the island ). Against sandflies coconut oil helps and if you turn out to be allergic to the bites then the local remedy is " yellow oil " a vaseline consistency like pomade based on campher and what smells like mint. It really helps ( better than cortisone creams, i'm not allergic but my wife is. For the evenigs bring long sleeve shirts and trousers ).

I would most certainly go back out of the rainy season

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Betabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
11.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing