We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed with service”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We went to Koh Mak from the West Coast to meet up with friends who stayed there. We were not happy with our stay at Good Time. We found the service very poor and that it was difficult to get the most simple questions answered e. g. where we could get our laundry done. We found the food and services expensive compared to other places we stayed. Our bungalow (Cham Po) was sweet, but situated among a couple og bamboo-bushes and had absolutely no view. The railing on the terrace was broken and a piece of wood was so rotten my foot went right through. The piece of wood was fast replaced when I mentioned it, but they didn´t do anything about the railing. After we had left the manager called us and accused us of not having paid for two nights (which of course we had) which we didn´t appreciate at all. If we were to go back to Koh Mak we would definately chose another place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_hedgehog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Dear Guest,
we are really sorry to hear about your disappointment about our service in this review. I think most important here is, to point out, that our staff never had the intention to "accuse" you for not having paid two nights of your accommodation. Unfortunately, the staff (assistant manager) you mentioned, is not experienced in accounting, and because he counted the nights (you have stayed) over and over again, you probably got a wrong impression, and we are sorry for this. It was simply a matter of "leaking of experience", and please believe me, not because he wanted to be rude to you.
We know, that the last impression of a hotel is as much important as the first impression. And in your case, we messed it up- no doubt. Good to hear, that the carpenter repaired the wood right away. He did not replace the other part of wood (it is repaired now) because this took more time and the carpenter did not want to be noisy during your stay (with a little kid). I am quite sure, that the staff did not answer you every question, simply because they did not know the right answer, not because they did not want to. Until your review, I was 100% positive, that every one of the staff do all they can, to comfort our guests. Step by step, we will try to be more professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    56
    21
    18
    6
See reviews for
79
137
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

From the moment my wife and I were picked up at the Koh Mak pier by Mr. Khorm, assistant manager at the Good Time Resort, until our departure six days later, we were treated like a king and queen. Our villa (The Orchid) was amazing - spacious, decorated beautifully, clean and comfortable. The staff, beginning with Mr. Khorm, was extremely friendly and helpful. The gardens around the resort were lush and filled with brilliant color. The restaurant served delicious meals. The resort has a large DVD library with DVD players in the villas. Our only regret was the distance to and from the beaches - about a 10 minute walk to (downhill) and 15 minute walk back (uphill). We were pleased, however, to discover that the beach resorts on both sides of the island encouraged us to use their beach chairs, etc. In return we usually purchased a drink or a meal. The entire island, small and quiet as it is, was delightful, filled with wonderful people.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Dear Guest, we are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort. Thank you for pointing out our staffs positive attitude. We should always try our best, to comfort our value customer (this sounds like a phrase, but we mean it, too :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Koh mak is a perfect place there it´s enough to only exist. It has beatiful sorroundings, stillness, good tastes, low prices and a very nice service.
We where two couples who lived in a big thai villa. It was an impressive building of a beatiful wood in a thai style. We lived in each level and there where three of them. The stairs between the levels were outdoors, wich made it more private for us. We spend a lot of time together in the common kitchen. It was an open room without walls. It was very nice to be sorrounded by the beatiful nature and it´s sound from it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintertid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Thank you. Thank you. In our resort, "good tastes" was simple to arrange, because we followed this 4 rules : 1. Natural colors and materials, 2. Thai-style, 3. No plastic furnitures or decorations, 4. traditional and antique (teak) Thai-furnitures and a tropical natural look for the garden, not the kind of place, where you'll find geometric lawns that are cut daily with scissors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I had only a few days left to stay on Koh Mak, so I decided to book a full-package with Good Time Resort.
The booking through the hotel-website was very easy and fortunately the reservation manager organized everything for me.
Starting with my pick-up at bangkok airport and ending with my transfer to Trat airport on my way back.
I choosed a Thai-Tropical-House with a big shadowed terrace and nice decoration. This house was spacious and stylish - fits very well for a single traveller like me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helmetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerstin65, General Manager at Good Time Resort Koh Mak, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Dear Guest, good to hear, that you have found a "relaxing" place with us. Because Koh Mak is still quite unknown, we certainly assist our guests with the transportation to Koh Mak or to their next destination. This is the charming point about Koh Mak: we are not as easy to find as Pattaya or Phuket. Thank you for your kind visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I have been to Koh Mak several times the last 5 years and always stayed at Good Time.
I think it's very nice plays with wonderful Thai houses in beautiful garden.
The Islands is very genuine thai and not so explored and just to sitt up in the sala and listen to the sounds out there is very relaxing.
There is one restaurant at Good Time where you can have a good breakfast and also a dinner.
The houses have really nice bedroom whit nice beds, you will sleep very good there.
If you want a place just to come away from the stress at home this is the place to go to.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ola655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I have been visiting this resort since they start built it and there has been a great progress. Now all the villas are finished with beautiful gardens. The cement road is finished all the way down to Makathanee pier.

The villas have big bedrooms and really nice spaces outside to relax. Especially the typical Thai style salas is very nice. It is a great experience to wake up early morning and sit outside listening to the nature and see the sun rise.

All houses have a fridge and some has a kitchen where you can make breakfast if you are too tired for walk up to the restaurant. It is a perfect place to stay if you are a family or 2-3 couples travelling together because some of the houses have 3 bedrooms and good for sharing.

The Goodtime restaurant is located on the top of the hill and it is a really great view from the veranda.

Koh Mak is still the "real" Thailand as it hasn't been developed like many other islands. Once you arrive to Koh Mak the pulse slow down to a relaxing level and it feel like you never want to leave. Goodtime Resort is a very good place to stay if you want a better living than the normal bungalows. I will keep coming back in the future for sure.

Per

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Per69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Since there were just a few guest at this resort, we were pampered from morning to evening. The perfect weather, swimming pool and restaurant, empty beaches - it is the perfect getaway from busy Bangkok. A very friendly manager picked us up from the pier, gave us his number and whenever we decided to do or go or need somewhere/something we (could) called him right away. The breakfast was very reasonable family priced and when we ordered (not from the menu) fish and squid for dinner, it was delicious.
We really liked the conception of the resort architecture : not to many two storied Thai houses on a large scale with a lot of space and equipment (fridge, TV; DVD; kitchen, air con and van...), with charming details, often antique interior, surrounded by beautiful trees, always a cool breeze and a perfect view. I found it very clever and liked the idea of an outside bathroom, to start the day with a shower under the roof, listening to the birds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thailand10510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Time Resort Koh Mak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Time Resort Koh Mak

Property: Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Address: 68 Moo 2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Time Resort Koh Mak 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Time Resort on Koh Mak nestles charmingly on the ridge of a small hill between two beautiful beaches, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to enjoy the tranquility and refreshing breeze from the Gulf of Thailand. The message is clear: You are here to relax and not be disturbed by the masses. The Good Time Resort includes a little library with a communal office available along with free WIFI.Since 2017 we have joint ventures and offer activities like tennis, yoga and Muay Thai Boxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Good Time Resort Koh Mak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Time Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing