We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This place is absolutely amazing, don't bother with anywhere else on Koh Mak. The standard of the rooms is far above any we have seen in Thailand. The family who run the Big Easy are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We had initially booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for a week until we had to go back to Bangkok. Lots of activities if you want to do them - snorkling, kayaking, cookery courses, however we spent a lot of the time on the beach at the Big Easy. Only 6 huts so service and experience is very personal.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are the closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We returned to this splendid oasis for the second year running as we were so impressed by it last time and we were certainly overwhelmed yet again.!

The Big Easy is a family run set up with six stunning bungalows nestled amongst pretty sceney on a lovely private beach. We were fortunate to stay in Bungalow number one which is the cloeset to the sea and therefore we could benefit not only from the beautiful view but the waking up to the lovely sound of the sea. The beach is also brilliant for walking up and down as you can go for a long way...

Paul (English) and his wonderful wife Noodan make you feel extremely welcome, so much so you are made to feels like a guest in their own home, They have the assisted help of the wonderful Del (Noodan's sister) and various nieces who run around making the stay amazing. and catering for all your needs. The food is out of the world and is cooked fresh to order, infact it is without doubt the best food on the island. Where else can you get scallops and chips and the best Thai green curry I have tasted in Thailand?!

These magnificent Thai dinners and lunches are eaten on a central wooden veranda which is done up beautifully and is the heart of The Big Easy..

The bunglalows are very pleasing with a large air-conditioned room,attractive wooden floor, a huge comfortable bed and a very generous bathroom with a good sized shower. I must stress that the place is immaculately clean as Del and her gang attend to the room every day to the highest standard. Each bungalow also has a balcony with a table, chair and hammock which is ideal for reading and a good excape from the sun if need be..

Koh Mak is a small island which is ideal for exploring. With the guidance from Paul we hired a moped and travelled round visiting various stunning.beaches. It is also possible to go snorkelling and hire canoes to explore the coastline. Paul is incredibly helpful and can arrange anything you want including your onward travel to the mainland.
We love the Big Easy and highly recomned it to anyone who appreciates something special for their holiday - it is also incredibly good value for the service you get. Of course, we will be booking again for next year and I am already looking forward to my trip back and indulging in this little piece of heaven!

.



,


.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taraloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Big Easy is very good place. The beach is excellent (in Koh Mak not every beach is good looking and sandy only, many beaches are full of very sharp rocks).
The staff is very nice and most important - THEY SPEAK ENGLISH and bungalows are comfortable, Free Internet. Restaurant offers good food and most important thing - it is very close to te "center of the island" (no scooter rent is necessary to get there) where you can find many restaurants and shops. Resorts' restaurants are often a little bit more expensive. We have spent few days in other perfect resort - PLUBLA but however it is most beatifull nad HI-END place on the island it is far away from the city, staff do not speak english and beach is not so good as it it in BIG EASY. Very nice place to stay - Recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkyDorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I love this place. It is small, beautiful, with lots of charm and excellent service. Great cabins, nestled by a tiny beach. The cooking is splendid, and service impeccable. The owners will assist you with useful, up-to-date information on all your options. I would reckommend hiring a kayak to explore the coast and near-by islands, or a scooter and zoom around the small mud roads to discover hidden gems, and take a stroll along the beachside to find small restaurants for a laid-back lunch.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This charming 6 room beach resort is an absolute gem. Beautiful rooms with large decks and hammocks, spotlessly clean, air conditioned, large, lovely bathrooms with great showers and hot water. They are right on the beach and as it is the end of the beach, not many people come walking by. Water is crystal clear for swimming and lovely chairs and hammocks at the water front. Paul, the owner and his wife could not be more friendly and helpful and yet only if you request their help. The food in the lovely restaurant is top class and very fresh. Delicious juices, curries, spring rolls etc. Massages are right in front of the restaurant area on the beach and not to be missed. They can be organised at the drop of a hat at any time during the day and they are AMAZING. Paul collected us from the boat and any time we needed help or had questions he was there to answer. Both himself and his wife have a lovely way of being helpful . They work in a very quiet fashion which is so relaxing. If you wish they can organise motor bikes, or snorkelling trips or trips to other islands. It is a great location as you can wander down the beach early in the morning or in the evening and the little village is only a 10 minute walk. We ate in a couple of the other restaurants but the Big Easy food is the best. It is nice to wander down the beach and have a beer or a cocktail before dinner. We stayed in a couple of places on the island and both agreed that this was the best on all fronts. Book early so you can get one of the front bungalows and enjoy every minute.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The Big Easy only has six bungalows and therefore you are being treated like a famiily-member, you feel almost at home. Everyone is verry nice and the food is really great, it's a joy to eat here three times a day. The bungalow is spacious, clean and very beautiful. This place must be the best on Koh Mak.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulineBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Paul and Nudeen are just great hosts and I say hosts because they are inviting you into their home. This place is quiet, secluded and so relaxing. The bungalos are huge and really well designed as are the bathrooms surprisingly so given the very modest prices they charge. Nudeen is an amazing cook and will customize anything for you dont be afraid to tell her what you like. I would recommend kayaking out to the private little island for a day trip if you are feeling restless. The only downside is the actual beach, though nice is small and has a sand flies. Bring coconut oil and put on before going out and you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAvKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.5 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Property: Big Easy
Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing