We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Easy
Nearby Hotels
Bamboo Hideaway(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Beach Resort(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
123
19
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
19
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbungalow numberthe ownersea urchinsa great place to stayperfect locationsister in lawour honeymoontaxi ridegreat beachsound of the wavesnice bungalowspauldelthailandpierislandboat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This place is absolutely amazing, don't bother with anywhere else on Koh Mak. The standard of the rooms is far above any we have seen in Thailand. The family who run the Big Easy are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We had initially booked for 3 nights and ended up staying for a week until we had to go back to Bangkok. Lots of activities if you want to do them - snorkling, kayaking, cookery courses, however we spent a lot of the time on the beach at the Big Easy. Only 6 huts so service and experience is very personal.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are the closest to the beach
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We returned to this splendid oasis for the second year running as we were so impressed by it last time and we were certainly overwhelmed yet again.!

The Big Easy is a family run set up with six stunning bungalows nestled amongst pretty sceney on a lovely private beach. We were fortunate to stay in Bungalow number one which is the cloeset to the sea and therefore we could benefit not only from the beautiful view but the waking up to the lovely sound of the sea. The beach is also brilliant for walking up and down as you can go for a long way...

Paul (English) and his wonderful wife Noodan make you feel extremely welcome, so much so you are made to feels like a guest in their own home, They have the assisted help of the wonderful Del (Noodan's sister) and various nieces who run around making the stay amazing. and catering for all your needs. The food is out of the world and is cooked fresh to order, infact it is without doubt the best food on the island. Where else can you get scallops and chips and the best Thai green curry I have tasted in Thailand?!

These magnificent Thai dinners and lunches are eaten on a central wooden veranda which is done up beautifully and is the heart of The Big Easy..

The bunglalows are very pleasing with a large air-conditioned room,attractive wooden floor, a huge comfortable bed and a very generous bathroom with a good sized shower. I must stress that the place is immaculately clean as Del and her gang attend to the room every day to the highest standard. Each bungalow also has a balcony with a table, chair and hammock which is ideal for reading and a good excape from the sun if need be..

Koh Mak is a small island which is ideal for exploring. With the guidance from Paul we hired a moped and travelled round visiting various stunning.beaches. It is also possible to go snorkelling and hire canoes to explore the coastline. Paul is incredibly helpful and can arrange anything you want including your onward travel to the mainland.
We love the Big Easy and highly recomned it to anyone who appreciates something special for their holiday - it is also incredibly good value for the service you get. Of course, we will be booking again for next year and I am already looking forward to my trip back and indulging in this little piece of heaven!

.



,


.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taraloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Big Easy is very good place. The beach is excellent (in Koh Mak not every beach is good looking and sandy only, many beaches are full of very sharp rocks).
The staff is very nice and most important - THEY SPEAK ENGLISH and bungalows are comfortable, Free Internet. Restaurant offers good food and most important thing - it is very close to te "center of the island" (no scooter rent is necessary to get there) where you can find many restaurants and shops. Resorts' restaurants are often a little bit more expensive. We have spent few days in other perfect resort - PLUBLA but however it is most beatifull nad HI-END place on the island it is far away from the city, staff do not speak english and beach is not so good as it it in BIG EASY. Very nice place to stay - Recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkyDorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I love this place. It is small, beautiful, with lots of charm and excellent service. Great cabins, nestled by a tiny beach. The cooking is splendid, and service impeccable. The owners will assist you with useful, up-to-date information on all your options. I would reckommend hiring a kayak to explore the coast and near-by islands, or a scooter and zoom around the small mud roads to discover hidden gems, and take a stroll along the beachside to find small restaurants for a laid-back lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

This charming 6 room beach resort is an absolute gem. Beautiful rooms with large decks and hammocks, spotlessly clean, air conditioned, large, lovely bathrooms with great showers and hot water. They are right on the beach and as it is the end of the beach, not many people come walking by. Water is crystal clear for swimming and lovely chairs and hammocks at the water front. Paul, the owner and his wife could not be more friendly and helpful and yet only if you request their help. The food in the lovely restaurant is top class and very fresh. Delicious juices, curries, spring rolls etc. Massages are right in front of the restaurant area on the beach and not to be missed. They can be organised at the drop of a hat at any time during the day and they are AMAZING. Paul collected us from the boat and any time we needed help or had questions he was there to answer. Both himself and his wife have a lovely way of being helpful . They work in a very quiet fashion which is so relaxing. If you wish they can organise motor bikes, or snorkelling trips or trips to other islands. It is a great location as you can wander down the beach early in the morning or in the evening and the little village is only a 10 minute walk. We ate in a couple of the other restaurants but the Big Easy food is the best. It is nice to wander down the beach and have a beer or a cocktail before dinner. We stayed in a couple of places on the island and both agreed that this was the best on all fronts. Book early so you can get one of the front bungalows and enjoy every minute.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews