We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Easy
Nearby Hotels
Bamboo Hideaway(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Beach Resort(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$64
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
123
19
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
19
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbungalow numberthe ownersea urchinsa great place to stayperfect locationsister in lawour honeymoontaxi ridegreat beachsound of the wavesnice bungalowspauldelthailandpierislandboat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had the most amazing stay at the Big Easy. Paul and Noodan are just the nicest people, from picking you up when you first get there to giving you coconut oil to combat sandflies and the right sort of tiger balm for bites.

Everything you have read on here us true. The rooms are lovely. The food is unbeatable and everyone so friendly.

We only stayed 3 nights but really wished we had longer. A really relaxing place. Can't wait to go back and I'm really hoping we do next year

Thanks Paul and Noodan

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaspongebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

me and my partner was booked in at the big easy resort for 3 weeks, when we reached koh mak big easy transport came and picked up us and took us back to the resort.
when we got to the resort we got a very friendly welcome and got showen to our room, which was a Thai traditional hut! outside the hut had a small table with chairs which was fantastic along with a hammock which i used alot to read in the sun.
The room was spotless total clean and was everyday that we stayed there, we had a huge bed that was clean and comfortable also with very good air conditioning, the bathroom
was beautiful,i think it was made out of marble but it was amazing how they it all went together.
we loved the food it was great, myself i think it was the best on the Island, if they didnt have anything on the menu that we wanted ( which was only the 1 time they have such a big menu with great food on there) all we had to do was ask and they would make it for us, we loved the fish and the spring rolls, they also do english food eg english breakfast.
They also done fresh shakes like mango,watermelon,banana and much more but the shake i loved was lime it was the best i have ever tasted!!
They also have a great menu for kids which i think is great.
paul and dang have 2 children, so kids are more than welcome there with a large toy box!!
The restaurant is large with alot of space and on the beach that has a fabolous view also you could keep an eye on the children..
The staff at big easy are great everyone that works there makes you feel like family, didnt have a problem at all with this resort they also have wifi and paul also let us use his laptop and a TV which does have english programs!!
also in the restaurant paul has a large amount of books to read and borrow,
The beach was very clean i think it got cleaned everyday before anyone got up lol they also have sun beds.
we did do alot of things there like elephant riding, snorkeling, boat trips, fishing and much more which we do have to thank paul and dang for ringing up and booking all of these for us!
we loved it so much we are going back next year for 3 weeks i would suggest to anyone to stay here its worth the money you wont get no better!! again a big thanks to paul and dang also the staff for a great stay and making us feel so welcome. see you all next year
D and J

Room Tip: Clean and friendly you will not get any better!!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAndJ2008_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Firstly can we say we searched for paradise and found it at the Big Easy. Perfect location, perfect accomodation, bungalows are beautiful and an owner who cannot do more for you. However the only thing he couldn't help was the weather and a freak few days of thunderstorms meant we were not able to enjoy our paradise.

We want to stress that this was a freak weather system and even the people staying at the bungalows commented on how a day before we turned up the weather had been nice.

However we also cannot stress how fantastic Paul was and would totally recommend you stay here if searching for paradise. He picked us up when we had nowhere to go (looking lost on the jetty in the rain) and was so helpful, beyond what you expect. We stayed one night, but made mental reservations to return again.

Top notch place and people, food pretty darn good too!

Room Tip: Any are great, number 1 is right on the beachfront
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OandSMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at the Big Easy at the beginning of May, and were fortunate enough to stay in bungalow number one (right next to the water). The bungalows were clean and tidy, and the bathroom was good size. It came equipped with AC which we only used for sleeping, WIFI, beach towels, hammock, etc.. The restaurant is right next door, and the food was awesome and priced very well. They had tea and coffee available all day, books, videos, or if you want to grab a beer or cocktail to sip on. They also have sea kayaks and scooters for rent. You can have a Thai massage right on the beach under a palapa, and it is the best Thai massage you will ever have! We walked all over the island and saw many other bungalows on the beach, and we decided Big Easy was the best.

Room Tip: Book early to get Bungalow #1
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telluride123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Big Easy is just perfect!
Lovely, spacious and superclean (daily room service!) bungalows with big terrace, very efficient air con and nice design.
The owners are superfriendly. Food (Thai and Western) is great, sitting on the beautiful restaurant terrace watching the sea is superb!
The owner is happy to give you a lift but there are also other beaches, restaurants and shops nearby.
We loved it, our kids loved it, we would definitely come again.
Only the beach could be a little nicer and the water a little deeper for better swimming.
We looked at many places on Koh Mak and this was the best place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tussneldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews