We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Time visit says it all!”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3rd Time visit says it all!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I returned to the wonderful Big Easy for the 3rd time in January and loved it even more than ever!

Paul, Noodang, her sister Dell and and their team looked after us fantastically in every way they could. The food was simply delicious again and the service was so impressive each and every time. The whole experience staying at Big Easy is so wonderful as nothing is too much trouble in these utterly comfortable huts. I have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful place and we look forward to sharing our experience again with our teenage children.

Room Tip: Bungalow No 1 is a wonderful treat as it is so near the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antarctica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Upon arrival to the Big Easy resort, what some may find as very hospitable we found a little overly hospitable to the point of intrusion into personal space.  We made our way to reception on our own and were greeted by one of the owners (the wife) and immediately it felt like that the ground rules were being set out for us.  There were no cold drinks upon arrival as we had experienced in all the other resorts that we had stayed at in Thailand,  but a briefing from a lady on the remedy for sandfly cures on the beach (literally handing us a brochure on coconut oil medicine, and purchasing for us an ointment to put on our wounds when bitten by sandflies) along with the fact there was no power on the resort for the next few hours (something she said was normal and could happen daily) what time we had to be at breakfast. No real map offered and no suggestions on points of interest on the island.   I guess this was her idea of ‘a personal touch’!  (We almost felt like we were obliged to call her sir!)

Being asked to make our way to our bungalow, we already knew that there was no power, so even though on first impressions the bungalow looked amazing, the design, its size and the privacy it was going to offer, we made our way in to a stuffy overheated oven.  If they had known that there was no power, surely they could have opened a few windows to let some air in.  Even the toilet rolls, soap and a bottle of water were left outside on the balcony table to bring in to the bungalow ourselves.  I guess this was part of the personal touch (do it yourself, personally!).  

We discovered that there was no mini fridge to keep your water cool or even your beers chilled, there was no safe to hold your personal valuables, passport and cash safe and there was no hand towel to dry your hands with.

The beach on the resort was amazing with beach beds to lie on and absorb some sunshine.  The bungalow did offer a lot of privacy, it was extremely close to the beach (30 second walk), it had an exceptional balcony with multiple sitting areas; a hammock to laze in minus the cushion, table and chairs to share a meal with your partner and a bench to lounge on and have a drink and relax again minus cushions.  Once the power was back up and running, we had the air con on the whole time which did keep the bungalow nice and cool.  We kind of felt like we were committing a crime having it on 24/7 and that we would be scolded for doing so.

Don’t expect too much from the kitchen with variety and quality food.  We had lunch there the first day and were told that there weren’t any rice noodles.  We were overpowered by the wife again who took our order but also felt it necessary to sit at the table with us and rather than suggest certain chef specials, it was quite obvious that she was forcing us to have what was available in the kitchen.  It was a little too smothering for us as if she was controlling our dietary intake.  At breakfast we were told that there wasn’t any orange juice on one day and pineapple on the next.   The American breakfast was quite small and instant coffee and powdered milk; well that says it all.

The shower offers hardly any hot water, unless you switch off the air con, the lights and any other appliances you have plugged in.  The resort grounds have far too many dogs roaming around which also hover inside the restaurant whilst you are eating.

Overall, this place has a lot of potential.  It was clean, they made our bed every day but had not changed our sheets at all on our 4 day stay (even though we needed to remind them to make our room on the last day at around 6pm, because they had forgotten, considering there are only 6 bungalows, it astounded us that they would forget.  Also, we needed to ask for our towels to be changed after 3 days), the owners spoke English, there was free WiFi and the bungalows were very spacious and private.  Slightly pricey compared to the other resorts (we paid 2500 baht per night but all the other resorts were at max 1900 per night)  that offer TV’s, mini fridges and safes, I would recommend this resort if you are keen on complete privacy away from it all (providing you avoid the restaurant and consider relying on your guide rather than the owners for information).

The night before our departure, we asked the owner to arrange a boat transfer for us to Trat (including the taxi to the airport), but we had to remind him again in the morning to do this for us.  In fact, he didn’t even remember where we were going.  To top it off, we were advised that the taxi to the airport would be 700 baht with their driver, so we told him we didn’t think this was a reasonable price and that 400 baht was more the going price.  Surely some communication would have been expected between the owners, as the wife decided to come out and provide us with a sign for the driver that would be collecting us from the pier to take us to Trat which he had organised after we discussed that we didn’t want to use their service (we managed to get a ride to the airport for 400 baht, so if she gets pushy should you decide to stay there, do what we did, agree, but continue with your own plans.

When we paid our bill before we left, it was important for them to mention that we never ate in their restaurant – to quote the exact words, ‘we were naughty’!  Our recommendation, stay elsewhere on Koh Mak.  You can get far cheaper prices and far better service.

Room Tip: Try to avoid bungalow number 2 as its right next to the reception/restaurant area and the resort sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shatset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We have visited Koh Mak before and spotted these bungalows while walking on the far end of the beach. We decided then that if we returned to Koh Mak we would stay there and so this time we did and feel like we definitely made the right choice for us. We should have stayed for 4 nights but ended up extending to a week. The detached wooden bungalows are really nice, very big with a/c ,and lovely bathroom also very clean. They all have own porch area with hammock and there is just a feeling of space and great beach front view from front couple of bungalows. This place has a very laid back feel , no hard sell on anything but the owners are always very willing to help with anything you may want. Breakfast is included and is good and free tea/coffee all day long. If you just want to relax in a very laid back friendly atmoshere on a great island then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

we stayed at big easy for a couple of nights in November.paul picked us up from pier- which was unexpected as we hadnt arranged it but like everything at big Easy - no problem.
We had the beach front bungalow- fantastic- felt we had own own private beach.Room was large, clean and airy, bed large and comfortable, new effective air con. Nice bathroom large, clean, stone lined. Because it is family run we found big Easy a special place as it had a really nice family feel to it. not a big impersonal resort but has elements of having a home stay . Paul and family are really helpful, available and friendly- nothing being a problem.
Big easy is nice and quiet at night but close enough if you want another resturant.
thank you big easy for a very relaxing time

Room Tip: beach front bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchkiwi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Big Easy for ten days in Oct-Nov and absolutely loved it! The bungalows are clean, very nicely furnished, spacious, and equipped with a modern air-condition. The bathrooms are beautifully designed. And each bungalow has french windows towards the sea and a large terrace. The restaurant is fantastic - Lao, the young chef, really makes the best food on the island. Of course, the beach is amazing. The view is astonishing. Paul and his team are always most helpful. There are plenty of activities he can help you to arrange and you can also rent a motorbike or a kayak directly there. There is also a massage parlor directly on the beach. Paul's extensive library of English and some foreign books provides for all the reading wishes you might have. And for all those internet addicts: there is free wifi!
The location is great: far away enough from the few noisy venues and roads, but still close enough to other restaurants and mini markets.

It really is one of the nicest places we ever been to! We'll definitely go back there!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenkPeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Big Easy Resort is located on a nice, clean, white sand beach (good for swimming). The bungalows all with A/C are very nice. The breakfast and also the food in the restaurant was very good. The owner Paul is very friendly and helps you with everything (ie. pickup from the pier, booking trips, rent a bike or kajak). We enjoyed our six day stay very much and can highly recommend this place. The beach, the sea and the relaxed atmosphere are fantastic.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity to get the beach front bungalow then go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltreise2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Paul & Nugen are the most welcoming hosts you could hope to meet anywhere in the world. Nothing is too much trouble . We where met by Paul at the dock side from Ko Chang and Escorted to the "The Big Easy". Wow, what a view as we entered the complex. We had booked 3 days on Ko Mak and intended to go on to ko Kood for another 3 days.although we had already paid for Ko Kood, we fell in love with "The Big Easy" so much we decided to extend or stay to 7 nights. It was well worth the loss of our pre-paid visit to Ko-Kood. The food was superb, service fantastic. The staff were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. Paul even took us to the full mooon party on the night of our arrival. Nugen is a wonderfull Thai Lady and became a friend for life. Go to the Big Easy, you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Property: Big Easy
Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing