We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Reviewed 27 February 2013

From the minute we booked we knew we had somewhere different lined up, I must have close to twenty emails in my inbox from the owner Paul advising me on everything from the booking process to boat times and as others have mentioned the free pick up from the pier! This is a long way to come from England and it really is worth it, we had the beachfront bungalow as it was our honeymoon as well as a special big easy surprise which I won't ruin for other honeymooners ;-)
The food at the restaurant was excellent and I cannot say enough good things about pi-dayau and pi-nudang, they treated us like family it was really special!!!
The island itself is quiet, a few good bars and restaurants but this is all, don't be expecting full moon parties because you'll be disappointed! The hotel will hire you a scooter with free petrol for £6 a day but you'll be finished with it in hours th place is that small! We will be back

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stev084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Koh Mak following 5 nights in Koh Chang. Paul, the owner met us at the pier and took us on our short journey to the resort. The huts are spotless and also of good size. Paul is a very involved host and is always there should anyone need any assistance. The rest of the staff are also on hand whenever needed. Del is a complete star and was without doubt the highlight of our stay. She is out of this world and is the closest to Superwoman that I've ever experienced.
Paul, we will be back in the future. I hope you enjoyed the Rafa book I left behind.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

it is rarely you stay in a place that you simply do not want to leave. The Big Easy is undoubtedly the highlight of Koh Mac. We checked out most of the places while we were there and vothing compares to what Paul and his team have ceated. Located at the end of the beach means that you have privacy while still being able to enjoy the spectacular views. Excellent accommodation combined with great food and exceptional service is hard to find. The Big Easy team provide great service with never-ending smiles. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gar-Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I spend almost one week in Big Easy, i've travelled a lot but i never found a great place like this! good food perfect location and friendly staff, a home far from home! I've visited also almost all the resorts in Koh makh but no way, i hope to came back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theodread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights, originally we were booked somewhere else that was not satisfactory. Paul, his wife and all the family are the best hosts you could wish for. The bungalows are beautiful, lovely atmosphere never over crowded or noisy. I would, and have recommended this to family and friends. There is nothing negative to say about this place, it has everything that anybody could possible want and more. Keep up the good work, we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Jill and Norman Chapman, Bungalow 3, 20th January, 2013

Room Tip: All the bungalows are great but prop No1 would be the best cos it is the closest to the beach, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

When we came to Koh Mak we had already booked another resort. But we didn't like it. So we visited more than 15 resorts all over the lovely little island. We fell in love at first sight with Big Easy Resort and decide to stay some days. After some days with the very warm and friendly family we couldn't imagine going anywhere else. We stayed 8 more days til leaving for going home.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Spent 3 days at this wonderful resort between christmas and new year. We found everything we dreamt about when it comes to holidays in Thailand. The bungalows are beautiful designed and the porch is the place to stay at sunset and sundown! The restaurant is Home away from Home - cosy and lively but never noisy. The food is good and the hosts are awesome. Our children cried when we left for Bangkok. We will definately be back!

The beach was so beautiful - Walk to the right and you will find paradise!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Akselprut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#8 of 15 in Ko Mak
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing