We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Easy
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Good Time Resort Koh Mak(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
124
19
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
19
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbungalow numberthe ownersea urchinsa great place to stayperfect locationsister in lawour honeymoontaxi ridegreat beachsound of the wavesnice bungalowspauldelthailandpierislandboat
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Unique location, quiet and authentic, we spent 4 nights in Bungalow number 5 amazing views the bungalow has lots of space big bathroom and a great terrace although we have to say that the hammacks wer a bit unconfortable but they were about to change it for new ones...
The restaurante was fantastic great "home made" food... with a plus of a personalice service by the owners Paul and Nodeen and Teo!
In general a five star service, is a place managed with a lots of love and passion in a paradise location everybody was helpfull and happy.
We highly recomended

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

One of the best island retreats we have ever stayed at. Big Easy is clean, very well managed, excellent food and staff. Paul, Nuden, Tom, Theo and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Big Easy has the best beach on the island. It's always clean. The water is crystal clear and snorkeling is wonderful. We rented a motorbike and explored the whole island. Another day rented a boat and driver to go over to the smaller islands snorkeling. Oh!!!! And a Thai Massage to die for!!!!! 350 batt. That's about $10.00 for an HOUR. You can't beat that. The Big Easy is a definate recommendation. You won't be sorry if you are looking for a quiet layed back vacation. We arrived by speedboat from Trat. The ride is about 40 minutes and the scenery is breath taking

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puffer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed at the Big Easy for 3 nights 15-18 Jan and LOVED IT! it's so relaxing, perfect location and amazing rooms with own veranda facing the beach with hammock!

We hired a moped from Paul and toured the island stopping at a couple of the other places for beers and lunch and cN honestly say none we saw compared to the big easy (cinnamon, little moon) and we were desperatky unimpresed with the overcrowding and resort feel of koh mak resort! Big easy is a 6 bungalow operation at one end of the beach with perfect quiet sand and laid back owners with good food and cheap beers within a couple of steps from the beach... Loved every minute!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestOpinion2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Koh Mak still feels like a Thai Island and The Big Easy has the best food, the friendliest hosts, the nicest beach and the most amazing bungalows on the Island. The rooms are immaculate and cavernous with the best appointed bathroom we have seen in a beach bungalow (see pictures).
The Big Easy is run by Noodeng and Paul who are fantastic hosts and make you feel really welcome. Noodeng is in charge of the restaurant and her food is the best we have tasted. If you stay you have to try the Laab and the Papya Salad.
The Big Easy is located on the best side of the Island as the resorts on the other side get battered by strong winds and choppy seas.
We will definitely return to Koh Mak and the Big Easy as it is probably one of the last unspoilt Thai Islands.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We absolutely loved our time at the Big Easy on Koh Mak. We had reached the end of our trip with extra funds, so checked out every accommodation place on Koh Mak to find the best one to 'splurge' on. The Big Easy was hands down the best place.

We had the front bungalow and it was brilliant - huge, high ceilings, french doors, fantastic stone sunken bathroom, beautifully decorated, big balcony with hammock and chair, all 15 metres from the water. The beach was immaculate (staff clean it in the early hours every day) and the bungalow and restaurant were spotless.

The family who run it are wonderful - laid back and friendly but very organised and very good at what they do. Big Easy has a wonderful atmosphere... we spent every day taking it easy - reading (they have a stash of books and mags), laying around, swimming, walking to the island (watch out for the sea urchins!) and eating and drinking.

Every single meal we ate there was fantastic (I really recommend the soups, the whole fish and the prawns!) and the beers were well priced - they just got added to our tab (paid for everything when we checked out). Scott was on crutches and restaurant staff kindly brought beer across to our bungalow during the day.

I honestly can't say enough about the Big Easy and highly recommend it. We're hoping to come back to Thailand next year and plan on visiting the Big Easy again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews