We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Love!”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy Love!”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We came to Trat from Bangkok by plane, and Paul (the owner) had arranged a taxi with boat transfer to Koh Mak for us. When arriving Koh Mak, Paul picked us up at the pier. Great service after a long flight!

At the Big Easy we had bungalow no. 4 (of 6), which was a spaciuos, clean and very cool bungalow. Paul has designed all the bungalows himself in a modern, but tradisional style with AC, big bathrooms and cosy terraces with hammokcs and benches.

Paul and rest of the staff have made The Big Easy a place with a great personal touch. Everyone are very helpful, always smiling and make you feel very welcome and at home. Since the resort only has 6 bungalows it feels like a small community and it doesn't take long before you are chatting with the other guests, and at the same time it's no problem if you want to have some private moments by yourself. The athmosphere is truly uniqe as you feel super-relaxed at all time.

The resturant is probably the highlight of The Big Easy. The homecooked food is the best thai food we ever have had. The Issan food, the king prawns, and the whole lot. After we had been fishing one day, Nodeen made the best meal ever with both steamed and deep fried fish. Every meal was made out of the freshest ingrediences, and we even got to help picking the papaya they used in the very tasty papaya salad.
The resturant is also a place where you can spend some time reading or just relaxing during the hottest hours of the day.
The staff and the service is perfect!

We stayed at The Big Easy for 10 days, and didn't have one negative remark about the place. We are already planning a return in the future!

Joachim & Linn

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Clean, comfortable and elegant bungalows with gorgeous views of the sea. The cleanest beach on the island. Nuden and Del were very good hosts, great in the kitchen and prepared the best food we had on Koh Mak. We were collected from the boat when we got to the island and dropped back back at the pier for our return journey. All together an excellent stay!

If you are looking for night life, Koh Mak may not be the place for you, but if you are after a laid back relaxing experience then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Beeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

If you are looking for clean, well equipped and spacious bungalows, a great restaurant, friendly and excellent service and the perfect beach away from the crowd – this is the real deal.

Klaus and Sidsel

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klausdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Unique location, quiet and authentic, we spent 4 nights in Bungalow number 5 amazing views the bungalow has lots of space big bathroom and a great terrace although we have to say that the hammacks wer a bit unconfortable but they were about to change it for new ones...
The restaurante was fantastic great "home made" food... with a plus of a personalice service by the owners Paul and Nodeen and Teo!
In general a five star service, is a place managed with a lots of love and passion in a paradise location everybody was helpfull and happy.
We highly recomended

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

One of the best island retreats we have ever stayed at. Big Easy is clean, very well managed, excellent food and staff. Paul, Nuden, Tom, Theo and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Big Easy has the best beach on the island. It's always clean. The water is crystal clear and snorkeling is wonderful. We rented a motorbike and explored the whole island. Another day rented a boat and driver to go over to the smaller islands snorkeling. Oh!!!! And a Thai Massage to die for!!!!! 350 batt. That's about $10.00 for an HOUR. You can't beat that. The Big Easy is a definate recommendation. You won't be sorry if you are looking for a quiet layed back vacation. We arrived by speedboat from Trat. The ride is about 40 minutes and the scenery is breath taking

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed at the Big Easy for 3 nights 15-18 Jan and LOVED IT! it's so relaxing, perfect location and amazing rooms with own veranda facing the beach with hammock!

We hired a moped from Paul and toured the island stopping at a couple of the other places for beers and lunch and cN honestly say none we saw compared to the big easy (cinnamon, little moon) and we were desperatky unimpresed with the overcrowding and resort feel of koh mak resort! Big easy is a 6 bungalow operation at one end of the beach with perfect quiet sand and laid back owners with good food and cheap beers within a couple of steps from the beach... Loved every minute!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestOpinion2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Koh Mak still feels like a Thai Island and The Big Easy has the best food, the friendliest hosts, the nicest beach and the most amazing bungalows on the Island. The rooms are immaculate and cavernous with the best appointed bathroom we have seen in a beach bungalow (see pictures).
The Big Easy is run by Noodeng and Paul who are fantastic hosts and make you feel really welcome. Noodeng is in charge of the restaurant and her food is the best we have tasted. If you stay you have to try the Laab and the Papya Salad.
The Big Easy is located on the best side of the Island as the resorts on the other side get battered by strong winds and choppy seas.
We will definitely return to Koh Mak and the Big Easy as it is probably one of the last unspoilt Thai Islands.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Property: Big Easy
Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing