We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Easy Family”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The Big Easy Family”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We have stayed for one week and we really have enjoyed it.
Super recommended.

Pros:
- Best bungalow deal on the island: the bungalows are big, comfortable and extremely well-designed - very reasonable price
- Best food on the island - although many reviewers have already mentioned this - we also tried different places around the island - nothing could beat Big Easy's kitchen
- Lovely staff: felt like having a second family, open-hearthed, welcoming and cheerful.

Contras:
- Beach: beautiful clean water, but full of sharp pieces of corals and shells - need to be careful - depending on the tide the water can be very shallow - need to swim for meters for diving properly into the sea - the beach area in front of the bungalows is kept clean by the staff, however this is the worst beach of the island when it comes to litter - it's full of garbage all over it.
- Sandflies: this is not BigEasy's fault ofcourse, the whole island is infested by these annoying seasonal beasts.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    15
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We spend over a month in Thailand. The Big Easy had the nicest beach. Our room bungalo was nice and we enjoyed the hammock each day. The bathroom was outstanding (but what I call exfoliating towels) and the a.c. worked. A fan would have been welcome as well.
One could walk along the shore for quite a while, but some places along the way were quite shabby.
The restaurant was okay. Instant coffee was not something we expected.
The meals unimaginative, redundant, and not consistent. It was often difficult for the Thai speaking (very polite) waitress to understand our order.. It would have been helpful to possibly have one of the owners take the orders each night. Also ran out of wine for several days, fruit choices sparse, and the fish was not as plentiful as one might imagine.
There was no wi fi connection, but the owner did let me use his connection each day.
There were many dogs roaming around, which often barked and howled in the night.
I would recommend this hotel because of the beach, otherwise...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PemiNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Koh Mak is the sort of island Thailand isn't supposed to have any more, with quiet beaches and no big buildings. The Big Easy is the place you want to stay when you go there, comfy well built bungalows, friendly helpful management, and the best food for miles. We spent six nights there this month and felt very well looked after. If you want a lovely place in which to do nothing very much at all, this is the venue.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We spent a week at at the Big Easy in late Feb/Early March and it was amazing.

Paul, Noodeng and their family/staff show true hospitality and provide wonderful food, accommodations and service. The Big Easy is located at the end of the main stretch of "resorts" along the beach. It feels secluded yet a walk into town or across the way to the beach on the other side of the island is so easy. There is a true family atmosphere; Paul and his staff take a low key approach, but are ready to answer any question you have or help you set up tours such as snorkeling, fishing, biking, etc. Take the time to introduce yourself to the staff and get to know them, they are sweet, wonderful people!

The food was delicious, especially the homemade spring rolls and "shakes", which are so refreshing on a hot day.

The bungalows are spacious and comfortable, have nice big beds and a well appointed bathroom. Each day we'd turn off our a/c, open our windows and let the ocean breeze in.

Koh Mak is a delightful and beautiful island and I hope that they are able to retain the non-commercial, low key vibe for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Here is finally a hotel where staff understand how to create an atmosphere and not wrapped up in the emperor's new clothes.
The landlord sends a smell out of the bakery and if you do not like it. Stay away and try Hua hin.

Mr. Poul, Nadhine (sorry the spelling) Familly, starf and Tom.
Thank you very much for this time and am looking forward to coming back.

Claus Jørgensen and Family from Denmark

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villavanvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We came to Trat from Bangkok by plane, and Paul (the owner) had arranged a taxi with boat transfer to Koh Mak for us. When arriving Koh Mak, Paul picked us up at the pier. Great service after a long flight!

At the Big Easy we had bungalow no. 4 (of 6), which was a spaciuos, clean and very cool bungalow. Paul has designed all the bungalows himself in a modern, but tradisional style with AC, big bathrooms and cosy terraces with hammokcs and benches.

Paul and rest of the staff have made The Big Easy a place with a great personal touch. Everyone are very helpful, always smiling and make you feel very welcome and at home. Since the resort only has 6 bungalows it feels like a small community and it doesn't take long before you are chatting with the other guests, and at the same time it's no problem if you want to have some private moments by yourself. The athmosphere is truly uniqe as you feel super-relaxed at all time.

The resturant is probably the highlight of The Big Easy. The homecooked food is the best thai food we ever have had. The Issan food, the king prawns, and the whole lot. After we had been fishing one day, Nodeen made the best meal ever with both steamed and deep fried fish. Every meal was made out of the freshest ingrediences, and we even got to help picking the papaya they used in the very tasty papaya salad.
The resturant is also a place where you can spend some time reading or just relaxing during the hottest hours of the day.
The staff and the service is perfect!

We stayed at The Big Easy for 10 days, and didn't have one negative remark about the place. We are already planning a return in the future!

Joachim & Linn

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Clean, comfortable and elegant bungalows with gorgeous views of the sea. The cleanest beach on the island. Nuden and Del were very good hosts, great in the kitchen and prepared the best food we had on Koh Mak. We were collected from the boat when we got to the island and dropped back back at the pier for our return journey. All together an excellent stay!

If you are looking for night life, Koh Mak may not be the place for you, but if you are after a laid back relaxing experience then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Beeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Property: Big Easy
Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing