We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, beautiful, neat, quiet, tidy, good food, brilliant service!”
Review of Big Easy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Easy
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I love this place. It is small, beautiful, with lots of charm and excellent service. Great cabins, nestled by a tiny beach. The cooking is splendid, and service impeccable. The owners will assist you with useful, up-to-date information on all your options. I would reckommend hiring a kayak to explore the coast and near-by islands, or a scooter and zoom around the small mud roads to discover hidden gems, and take a stroll along the beachside to find small restaurants for a laid-back lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Big Easy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

This charming 6 room beach resort is an absolute gem. Beautiful rooms with large decks and hammocks, spotlessly clean, air conditioned, large, lovely bathrooms with great showers and hot water. They are right on the beach and as it is the end of the beach, not many people come walking by. Water is crystal clear for swimming and lovely chairs and hammocks at the water front. Paul, the owner and his wife could not be more friendly and helpful and yet only if you request their help. The food in the lovely restaurant is top class and very fresh. Delicious juices, curries, spring rolls etc. Massages are right in front of the restaurant area on the beach and not to be missed. They can be organised at the drop of a hat at any time during the day and they are AMAZING. Paul collected us from the boat and any time we needed help or had questions he was there to answer. Both himself and his wife have a lovely way of being helpful . They work in a very quiet fashion which is so relaxing. If you wish they can organise motor bikes, or snorkelling trips or trips to other islands. It is a great location as you can wander down the beach early in the morning or in the evening and the little village is only a 10 minute walk. We ate in a couple of the other restaurants but the Big Easy food is the best. It is nice to wander down the beach and have a beer or a cocktail before dinner. We stayed in a couple of places on the island and both agreed that this was the best on all fronts. Book early so you can get one of the front bungalows and enjoy every minute.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The Big Easy only has six bungalows and therefore you are being treated like a famiily-member, you feel almost at home. Everyone is verry nice and the food is really great, it's a joy to eat here three times a day. The bungalow is spacious, clean and very beautiful. This place must be the best on Koh Mak.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulineBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Paul and Nudeen are just great hosts and I say hosts because they are inviting you into their home. This place is quiet, secluded and so relaxing. The bungalos are huge and really well designed as are the bathrooms surprisingly so given the very modest prices they charge. Nudeen is an amazing cook and will customize anything for you dont be afraid to tell her what you like. I would recommend kayaking out to the private little island for a day trip if you are feeling restless. The only downside is the actual beach, though nice is small and has a sand flies. Bring coconut oil and put on before going out and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAvKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My mother and I visited this fabulous little oasis on Koh Mak for one week. As it was the rainy season we did find the island a little quiet but this did not stop us from having a wonderful time. It really is true what everyone says in the reviews, the food at The Big Easy was the best on the island.Noodam, Paul's wife really is a fantastic cook.We stayed in bungalow 1 which was directly on the beach. What a view we had!! We would definately recommend a boat trip to do some snorkelling. We also hired a golf buggy to get us around the island( my mother and motorbikes don't mix). Noodam organised all this for us.This holiday is for the type of person who wants to totally switch of and see a bit of Thailand that has not been spoilt by tourism. I would also recommend The Big Easy for families. Paul and his family made us feel really at home and we will definitely return.
P.S The elephant trek is a definite must.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBSANDMAZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My Husband and I have travelled to Thailand many times, Big Easy definately stands out as our favourite place to go. The only downfall was that we had to go home! We will be back oh yes we will be back! Love the tranquil Island life, love the bungalow, love the food. I have to give a special shout out to the staff who made our amazing holiday even more amazing, (especially Nuden and Daeo) who are so friendly and made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived to the moment we left, you ladies rock! Everyday we wish we were back at Koh Mak...we miss you! P.S best food on the Island 'and thats coming from a fussy chef!' Until next time.... Lauren and Ty (Australia)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillibird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We have stayed for one week and we really have enjoyed it.
Super recommended.

Pros:
- Best bungalow deal on the island: the bungalows are big, comfortable and extremely well-designed - very reasonable price
- Best food on the island - although many reviewers have already mentioned this - we also tried different places around the island - nothing could beat Big Easy's kitchen
- Lovely staff: felt like having a second family, open-hearthed, welcoming and cheerful.

Contras:
- Beach: beautiful clean water, but full of sharp pieces of corals and shells - need to be careful - depending on the tide the water can be very shallow - need to swim for meters for diving properly into the sea - the beach area in front of the bungalows is kept clean by the staff, however this is the worst beach of the island when it comes to litter - it's full of garbage all over it.
- Sandflies: this is not BigEasy's fault ofcourse, the whole island is infested by these annoying seasonal beasts.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psychoactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.6 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#13 of 15 in Ko Mak
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Easy

Address: 7/2 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Mak | Umpur Koh Krood, Ko Mak 23000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, Family run Resort on the beach with a relaxed, "Old Style" Thai island atmosphere. Huge wooden Bungalows built in a Traditional Thai design with high ceilings, sexy bathroom and large deck with hammock. All 7 Bungalows are within 70 meters of the pristine beach and are generously spaced out to ensure privacy from other guests. The Restaurant serves excellent Thai/European cuisine at fair value prices with friendly and helpful service from the family of staff. Big Easy is within walking distance to local shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Easy Hotel Koh Mak
Big Easy Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing