We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Koh Mak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Mak Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Spent 3 nights here over a long w.e. Even though it was a long w.e(in low season) the resort wasn't packed with people. Was a great relaxing time. Stayed in a standard beachfront which was 5 steps away from sand.
If sand doesn't tickle your fancy then there is always the infinity pool! Was shocked at how great value this resort was! Expect to pay anywhere from for dinner but food is also pretty good so didnt have an issue with regular prices. Be aware that there is no 7/11 or really even a general store so bring snacks if your a snacker!
Was an amazing time yet if its adventure, shopping or exploring your after maybe think of elsewhere this is pure relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    74
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We had a great time whilst staying at Koh Mak Resort in early May. We reserved a standard bungalow just half a stones throw from the waters edge for six nights and it met our expectations. There is a range of accommodation options at the resort however we opted for budget style. The room was basic, consisting of a queen bed, fan, toilet and shower, all of which we had known before booking. Our room had a safe to secure personal belongings as well as a torch and an umbrella. Both were needed at different times throughout our stay. Our room also had a covered patio with two deck chairs and a hammock, the perfect place to view the sunset each evening. The room was serviced daily. The hotel facilities included a gorgeous infinity pool, restaurant and bar. There was also access to a minimart and tour information and booking centre. Getting around the island is easy enough and both bicycles & motorbikes can be hired from the booking centre. Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of cereals, fruits, breads, eggs (made to order), juices and coffee/tea. Lunch and Dinner was from an a la carte menu and every meal I had was enjoyable. The bar was another great place to have an evening drink and view the most amazing sunset. Meals were also available from the bar, mainly consisting of noodle and rice dishes. Often the staff can make or break ones overall experience. At Koh Mak Resort the staff were fabulous; friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived. Nick was a wonderful host and Namwoon (pronounced Namboon) a Koh Mak local and employee at the bar taught us enough Thai to get us through the remainder of our trip in Thailand. She is quite the cook too and will happily share recipes and tips if you're interested. I would definately recommend this resort to anyone looking for a peaceful, affordable island holiday, that to date has not gone down the same path as so many of the other islands in Thailand. Would love to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

It was the 1st time on Ko Mak, and we just loved it. Really small & extremely beautiful. The resort it really well located & so great you don't even need to leave.
It is a long white sand beach, with lovely swimming. Stunning sunsets.
Pool is also really nice with great loungers & close to restaurant so easy for a nice luch. We enjoyed the food in both restaurants, must recommend the garlice pepper tiger prawns!
Resort is well designed. Rooms are basic even at the higher range. The prices are expensive for what you get, but would still recommend as the beauty is just unbelievable. The beds really need to be sorted out.
Also recommend the massage, great location & oil massage was great.

We also went on a snorkelling trip with Ko Mak Divers, really recommend, the couple that run it are wonderful & they have 2 gorgeous kids. Was a really enjoyable day on the boat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Nick the manager very nice and helpful and good at his job.
Beach very nice and long, great sunsets. Not too small and claustrophobic like other small isolated resorts, has two bars, three restaurants. Great swimming pool, which is good as the sea is not perfect, quite shallow and rubbish gets washed up as the tide changes, but they cleaned it all the time. Very good food. Found this place and moved from Ao Koa White Sand, when driving about on peds. Wish we started there. Just go there it really is all you need. 2400 a night for aircon on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Ko Mak Resort on the NE side of Koh Mak was exactly what I was looking for - peace and quiet, great food and a lovely beach in nice surroundings. The hotel is spread out along a really lovely white sand beach that they keep very clean for the length of the hotel - maybe 500m. The far ends of the beach are really mucky (especially down by Coco Cape) but that seems to be quite typical of Asia. Just be mindful of the day trippers that land on the beach (mostly Russian from what I could gather) and use the hotel facilities like flies. On my first day there must have been about 50 people which wasn't my idea of peace!

The hotel isn't as posh as it looks on their website but its still lovely. I stayed in a luxury beachfront which was nice especially because it seemed to be the only place in Thailand that had enough hangers in the wardrobe (!!). However, they could have done with another bedside table and lamp rather than just have one on one side of the bed and there were a lot of ants in the bathroom plus the hot water didn't always work (but they were very speedy about getting someone to come and fix it).

The food I found to be excellent (I ate just Thai food) but on the website they claim there is a Fantasia restaurant. In fact this is either destroyed or not finished yet - hard to tell which. generally though the grounds are really well maintained. The pool is really nice right by the beach and had good loungers. However, the loungers on the beach could have done with some normal padding because of the very hard wood. However, there are really comfortable massive bean bags lying around. I had a few massages and they were good at 300 Baht for 1 hr Thai.

The staff were pretty friendly too when they could speak english (some of the waiters don't so its quite hard to make yourself understood).

Overall I loved this place but its not as swish as it suggests on the website. I would def come back though. It had a really lovely location and a really nice vibe to it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
370 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

second time here and maybe it was just us as despite the beautufil location,food and lovely new rooms we felt that some things had slipped slightly
breakfast was very haphazard sometimes a double order appeared and other times you could wait 30 mins to get served
too many dogs roaming the beach - 2 very obvious packs sometimes fighting each other
which is a tad scary
gala dinner at £30 a head was a complete rip off
plus points
the beach was sprayed twice when we were there thus killing off moast of the sand flies
Nick the manager is brilliant
new rooms and restaurant look and are superb
food is different clas and very reasonable for such a lovely resort

so please ignore my slight quibbles and visit this resort ASAP

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. We loved it. The beach was great and the staff were friendly. We checked out other resorts when we rented motorbikes and toured round the island and were very glad we chose the Koh Mak Resort.
The food was OK. It was better in town though.
We only had two complaints. We had a problem with a leaky bathroom sink and asked for it to be seen to a few times and nothing was done, and the towels were so coarse and thread bare (with big holes in them - literally!).
The resort is spread out and the beach was never crowded. It was truly a wonderful island.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2.1 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Resort

Property: Koh Mak Resort
Address: 1 moo 2 Koh Mak Island | Koh Kood, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Koh Mak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing