We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort but there are some flaws”
Review of Koh Mak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Mak Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at the Koh Mak Resort for five nights. We booked a superior beach front suite which looks very impressive when you arrive. There are about 6 of these rooms at the end of the resort, all by the sea. It feels like you have your own private beach. The room itself is very nice - floor to ceiling windows offering a magnificent view of the ocean, a decent large bed, mosquito net, floor length mirror, TV, good air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, torch, welcome pack. All you would expect from a top quality resort. The room lets you down when you enter the bathroom. First impressions are great - rain shower, hand held shower, big sink, funky slate walls. However, once you take a closer look you question it's design.The slated walls allow bugs to crawl in between the gaps, the sink is surrounded by wooden panels which begins to smell musty and old, the rain shower had no hot water, there was barely any natural light and lastly, the window by the sink had gaps which meant it allowed bugs in - spiders, moths, mosquitoes, geckos and... mice. We were woken up on our first night by a mouse running around our bathroom. On closer inspection we found mouse droppings along the top of the wall in the bathroom. The cleaners obviously don't do a very good job!! We complained about the mice (and droppings) the next morning and the girls on reception were very good and had the bathroom cleaned, the window by the sink boarded up right away and we were given a humane mousetrap to put in the bathroom. However, that night we were woken up by the sound of a distraught mouse caught in the mousetrap but it somehow managed to escape! The next day we asked to move rooms and the girls at reception were very accommodating and we moved rooms within the hour. We noticed that following our complaints every single superior beach front room was given a mousetrap on the outside wall and every bathroom window was being checked and boarded up. That night, we were kept awake by what only could have been another mouse but this time it was running around inside our roof!! Yet another bad nights sleep. The next morning... another mouse in the trap - this time it was outside our room which was a little less surprising. Yet again, spoke to the girls at reception and she collected the mouse to dispose of it. Understandably, they don't want to kill the mice but they are obviously just releasing them close by to the resort which means they run straight back to where they came from!!

On a better note - the staff here are really helpful and have very good spoken English. The sea is beautiful and clear and the beach is lovely, long and deserted. You truly feel like you are only people around. The I-talay restaurant is great for lunch - sit back and relax, order a coconut shake and you must try the garlic and pepper fried squid - amazing! At the day beds restaurant, the breakfast is very good - a nice selection of fresh fruits, yoghurt, egg station and tasty pancakes.We also ate here for dinner and had a very good massaman curry. The swimming pool is nice for a cool down but it really isn't very inviting so we didn't spend much time here. Whilst we were staying at Koh Mak Resort we booked a Thai cooking lesson with Smile Koh Mak Cooking School - this was one of the highlights of our stay at Koh Mak. We would definitely recommend this. www.smilekohmak.com.

Overall, we have mixed feelings about this resort. We had a lot of issues with the room which was really disappointing. Every night we had a bad nights sleep which was quite upsetting. I wonder if we should have booked one of the cheaper rooms as they appeared to be constructed a bit better! We must give the reception staff some credit though - they were very kind and helpful and tried their best. I don't think this problem is going to go away though, which means they have to do something about the construction of the superior beach front rooms. I assume we are not the only ones who have had or will have this problem in the future.

Despite the issues with the room, I would recommend this resort as it is so beautiful, the staff are friendly, it's in a great location and sea is calm and clear. I would consider staying here again but probably not in the superior beach front suite.... Koh Mak Resort - Please sort these rooms out!

Room Tip: Unless you like mice, don't choose the superior beach front suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

...if you're looking for a nice, calm place with good service. We had reserved a family deluxe villa and it was old, worn out and not at all something I would label as being "deluxe". Bugs came in through holes in the wall, many things such as the water heater for the shower and the safety box were not working. Cleaning had not been done properly and hen we confronted the front desk, they were not willing to help. Furthermore, they tried to trick us into paying more than we should when we were leaving. The staff seemed lazy and not helpful at all and when we spoke to the manager, he didn't seem to care about any of our concerns. Horrible place. The beach is nice though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cecilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We visited during the off season and the island was mostly closed except for just a few places. The resort is so secluded and beautiful. The restaurant was excellent and good value and the service very good. Our chalet was rather basic and needed freshening up but they have much smarter accommodation in the resort if you want to pay for it. The pool and sea are breathtakingly beautiful and we walked around the island as much as the weather allowed. During the rainy season it rains a lot! The frogs sound like cows and the lizards have their own noisy charm too. We were there with our two kids and it was a wonderful adventure that we would do again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac-Mann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Went there to have a quiet NYE celebration with 2 of my girl friends. The ride and speed boat to get there was a bit of hassle but we understand it due to the High Season in Thailand. However, everything changed soon as we arrived, Nick, the super friendly reception and Mr.Know it all of Koh Mak greets us warmly and the staff took us to the room. Our room was cute and all property are facing to the ocean so don't worry of getting room far from the sea. The beach is ok, not superb but it's fine for us, I think they just need to maintain the cleanness so does it look prettier.

Our most fav area is Day Bed Restaurant and the pool which both are very cozy, facing to the beach with nice breeze, 180 degrees clear view in front of you while enjoying their signature menu and dessert. I was a bit dissapointed that I joined the whole day trip of snorkeling instead of relaxing in the resort and enjoy the view, the snorkeling trip was not really impressing for me, Indian ocean is still the best snorkeling and diving area if you really expect something amazing underwater.

If you are here for a relaxing trip, just stay at the resort, go hang out by the pool, read ur fav book, do massage, chill out at Day Bed Restaurant, then I bet your holiday will be perfect :)

Also, try to settle the transportation back and ford prior your traveling because the transportation is not as flexible as you thought, but you might be lucky if u travel during low season.

Overall, we had a great time there and will miss the food very much, Thank you Koh Mak resort :)

Room Tip: Try to get the room closer to the pool and Day Bed Restaurant, sure it will be more convenient for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ennie_zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

In November we stayed four nights in a superior beachfront suite.

We flew from Bangkok to Trat. Unfortunately, we took off at 11:45 instead of 10:30 and we missed our Panan speedboat of 12:30 (450 baths/person) which goes to Kok Mak resort from Ao Suan Yai pier. In November, there are two Panan speedboat a day : 12:30 and 16:00. You have also another speedboat company at Laem Ngop pier : the Leelawadee speedboat with a departure at 10.30 and 14:00 but arriving at Makathanee resort pier. From Trat airport 25 minutes are necessary to go to the Laem Ngop pier by taxi. We asked to the hotel to book for us the taxi (it was a songthaew - 500 baths/person) and the speedboat (the prices are the same if you book by yourself). At Trat airport, you have only one possibility for your transfer: you have to buy your ticket inside the airport for a minivan to go to various destinations (there is no taxi outside the airport).
When we arrived at Kok Mak resort, someone was there to show us the way to the reception. Jeem and Wrang at the reception were very friendly but we didn't receive a welcome drink.

The suite has a beautiful view on the sea and a terrace with two sun beds with a mat and two new deckchairs but without a light outside in order to read at night. There is a comfortable queenside bed with a mosquito net, a fridge with two complimentary bottles of water every day, a very good air-conditioning, a television, a kettle with two mugs (but no tea or coffee), an inside bathroom with two good towels per guest, one for the bathroom and one for the beach (a small one should be useful to dry your hair). There are two umbrellas and a flashlight.

Shampoo and shower gel are in a dispenser, we received a body lotion and cotton buds only once at the beginning of our stay.

The first night, we couldn't have hot water for the shower and it was impossible to lock the window of the bathroom at the backside. The next morning we told it to the reception and everything was repaired (there is no phone in the bedroom to contact the reception: it is a bit annoying when you have the last room of the resort - it takes 10 minutes to go from our room to the reception).
The room could be better cleaned (spider’s web, marks on the mirror, and dust under the safety box ...).
The breakfast is a small buffet consisting of cereals, yoghurt, bread, watermelon, pineapple and eggs or pancakes with apples on request. We ate at the resort (there are two restaurants). The I-Talay Beach Bar and restaurant was good and not expensive for an island (e.g. pad Thai: 80 baths with chicken, 85 baths with prawns, Tom kha kai: 100 baths, noodle soup: 80 baths, a bottle of water of 330 ml: 20 baths, a mocktail: 80 baths). The second restaurant (Day Beds Restaurant, they serve Asian and European cuisine) is more sophisticated (e.g. Soup with a snapper and a mocktail: 575 baths).

The swimming pool (called infinity pool) is open from 8:30 to 20:00; there are 12 sunbeds on the pool side and 10 sunbeds in front of the pool on the beach.

You can have a Thai massage for 300 baths/hour (500 baths for two hours) and an oil massage for 400 baths/hour.

Wi-Fi is available near the pool and near the reception. We had no signal in our bedroom which was too far. Otherwise you can use an Internet PC at the pier for the price of 10 baths/10 minutes (you have to have coins).

The resort has fumigation for pest and sand fly control on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Don't forget to take your insect repellent (you can buy one at the mini mart of the resort).

The beach (1 500 meters long) is cleaned every day in front of the Koh Mak Resort and the Suchanaree resort. Passed the Suchanaree resort, you see a dirty beach with glass or plastic bottles, shoes, plastic bags, etc.
The beach is very quiet: there are long tails which go in front of you like on other small islands.
I snorkeled in front of the resort; you can see the most common fishes of the area.

At the info point, you can rent a motor bike for 80 baths/hour or 350 baths/day. You can also buy a ticket to go to Koh Kham (the island with white sand in front of the resort). The price of 200 bahts includes the boat transfer, the entrance, a soft drink and shower. I also snorkeled there; there are more fishes than in front of the hotel.

To see the most beautiful snorkeling area, you must go to the Marine park (e.g. with Koh Mak Divers - price 750 baths – 30 to 40 minutes away of Koh Mak).

The check-out is at 12:00 and if your room is free, you'll get a late check-out until 14:00 (free of charge).

After that, we went to Koh Kood with Bang Tao speedboat. Speedboat at 10 am or 1 pm. We booked our tickets with the hotel (400 baths and the journey took 25 minutes).

This resort is managed by a Thai family and you can see the difference: they trust you but they don't mention that you must throw the toilet paper in the bin and not into the toilet bowl (very important if it is your first trip in Thailand because the toilet paper can damage the plumbing), you do not have the possibility to fill in a guest questionnaire, etc. During our stay, 50 % of the guests were Thai.

Finally, the bill.... You can put everything (boat, restaurant, etc.) on your bill and pay with your visa card without any fee.

I would recommend this hotel of 44 bungalows with the superior beachfront suite (but there is a small smell of humidity).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss100000Volts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Last August I went to Koh Mak resort in Koh Mak ' island. It had been a very good experience but there had also some negative points in Koh Mak' island.
First of all, Koh Mak island is an island very small, you can reach every other resort and beach with the motorbike in half day.
The sea is wonderful, expectially in front of our resort because there where no rocks on the beach , instead there were a lot in all the others. Because of the low season there were few people and a lot of peace, maybe too much.
The resort is divided in two types of bungalows, one very new and expensive, the other very affordable, expecially if you book directly by yourself.The swimmingpool was very good, very clean . Also the restaurant was good and the prices were affordable.
We stayed a lot of time in the swimmingpool because the beach was full of sandflyers, which are insects under the beach thats byte you and you scratch yourself for almost 10 days!!
The massages in the hotel were the best in my life!!!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are in front of the sea, the less expensive are quite damaged but confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 214Silvia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

How can other people rate this place five star ? Nothing and I say nothing can pass 2 star.
The bungalow is old and dirty, we have only one towel for everything: shower, face, toilet,..
The beach in the morning can not exist because of the tide, there are very few sun bad.
The breakfast is unbelievable terrible, even the orange juice and marmalade is terrible.
Then if you still think this is a special place please go and good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.6 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
11.8 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Resort

Address: 1 moo 2 Koh Mak Island | Koh Kood, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range: £39 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Koh Mak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing