We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best resort in Koh Mak”
Review of Koh Mak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koh Mak Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Mak, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best resort in Koh Mak”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The resort is located in one of the most beautiful beach in Koh Mak, a 1 km long white sand beach plenty of coconut trees and with a crystal clear water. The resort offer different kind of beach front bungalows. In the resort you can find a very nice african stile restaurant, 2 swimming pool, 2 beach bars and a very nice water sport center where you can rent kayak and windsurfs. In my opinion the Koh Mak resort is very nice...maybe need to improve his service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    75
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here as single traveller end of October 2013 for 10 days straight, only 3 days planned actually. From arrival with the speedboat from trat (no hassle at all from BKK), very good Service from the pick up at the pier till personal farewells at departure. Due to low season almost no customers, weather was perfect, 2 thunderstorms at night and only sun. Prices were totally fair for me in low seaseon, even though I think in Peak season it would be a Little overpriced.
Had some sandflies but they almost did not bother, had maybe 5 bites in 10 days, mosquitoes same as anywhere else in Thailand. The Bungalow (supreme beachfront Bungalow) was perfect, godd beds, clean, good ac, good roomservice... Unobscured view of the ocean, great and spacy terrace. Pool very nice. Service a bit slow in the restaurant and Food was ok, but hey your on vacation. Bar was very nice, also the Tourist Information located directly next to the reception at the pier was always very helpful, very recommendable. Thanks Christina!
All in in my opinion very recommendable when not seeking a five star Hotel with all the amenities, but when your looking for a tranquil place in paradise for recreation, koh mak Resort ist perfect for you. I very much enjoid my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongiosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The beach cabanas are nice enough, totally waterfront. Besides that, the rooms are from poor to average to decent. The problem with this resort is the appalling management, the seriously awful breakfast food and the overall dreadful service. They turn all lights off at night so you have to struggle to get to your cabana, they close reception early and... if you think you're going to enjoy wi-fi service... Think again! They will turn off all lights in any area where you can get the signal (because you cannot get the signal in any of the rooms/cabanas) and, of course, seal shut the reception area so you will find tourists sitting on the cemented area leading to the hotel, in total darkness, struggling to use the Internet. A joke. There are better options on this island, shop around, ask around, ask about the Internet, get it all in writing. Sadly they just don't care because... If you leave, there'll be some other naive tourist waiting to be taken advantage of. Breakfast? A disgusting joke, served with contempt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelK637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks for a wedding. I would recommend this place for a wedding. The pier is magic, the water crystal clear, plenty of squid to catch or watch the electric show they display at night from the pier, the rooms are large and the pool is great looking over the beach. Now the downside to the resort is that the beds are quite hard, the staff's English is very basic, the food is ok but not fantastic and the local dog will eat anything he can get his hands on. It was hilarious for us watching the dog steal my thongs, boxers, bottles of water and within a couple of hours the items would come back half eaten. Be careful where you leave your items when outside. Now the reason why it is awesome for a wedding is that you will have the run of the place and the pier and beaches close by are a photographers paradise and you will have pictures that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow on the beach. The rooms up the back of the resort have great ocean views but a ridicu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It is a shame that this resort is not quite properly taken care of.
It is surrounded by stunning lush gardens, right on the beautiful long & empty beach.
Here comes the twitch - it is empty because it is infested with sand flies, just like all the other beaches on Koh Mak.
The beauty of the island, completely empty roads "born" for moped rides, excellent food and postcard-like sunsets are unique.
Before stepping out of your bungalow, "weapon" yourself with coconut oil and high-level of DEET spray to avoid being massacred by the sand flies and mosquitoes.
They do fumigate the beach, but it does not help at all, since they do not spray the nearby greenery.

Go for Superior Beachfront bungalows (after the pool) since the Comfort ones are shabby and old. Btw, all of the bungalows have moldy smell.
We first book a Comfort one, but kind reception manager upgraded us to the Superior Beachfront.
There are also brand new Twin deluxe ones (and they don't have ever-present moldy smell) but they are less "original" or Thai-looking, and there are not right on the beach as the Superior ones.

The entire premises, especially next to the kitchen, massage terrace and the swimming pool are not properly cleaned.

Room Tip: Rent a scooter and browse this beautiful island. Go for a half-day snorkeling trip to the Koh Ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justafellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

If you're lucky to have a beach view villa, you're in for a beautiful treat when the sun begins to set.

We, however, had a twin bungalow which was slightly obscured by another bungalow, so we had to trek 15 yards down to the beach to see the stunning view... hardly a problem for us!

We chose a twin room just because it was so hot that we fancied a bed each to ourselves... this was a good choice. The beds were comfy and we had our own mozzie nets which was great. However, when we arrived we were placed into a bungalow which had not been cleaned yet, so we still had someones used towel in there and a bin that hadn't been emptied. We told them the place still needed to be cleaned and they still hadn't done it 4 hours later, not impressed! So we demanded we get moved to a better bungalow which we were immediately!

The breakfast was good, but the restaurant had a LOT of flies, probably due to the many manky dogs what were hanging about. Gross.

The staff were lovely though, and made an effort to remember their guests names which was really nice - a good touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-olive89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place. Calm and easy. Delicious food in the restaurant. Beautiful sunsets.

Easy access by minivan from Bangkok to Laem Ngop and speedboat to the pier just by the resort. Compared to the other resorts on Koh Samet, this is even more relaxed and tranquil. Perfect for a romantic getaway, or just a relaxed time with books in the shade.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.4 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Resort

Property: Koh Mak Resort
Address: 1 moo 2 Koh Mak Island | Koh Kood, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Koh Mak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing