We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great bungalows on the best beach”
Review of Koh Mak Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Mak Resort
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great bungalows on the best beach”
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Unlike the other beaches on Koh Mak this one is very clean. And as there are only two resorts on this beach you get PLENTY of space, in fact we were almost the only ones on our part of the beach despite beeing peak season. The bungalows come in many different shapes and price classes. We had booked the cheapest but, as they were full, we got luxury newbuilt ones for the same price. Beutiful bungalows and excellent service. The resort has a nice pool too. The restaurants are quite expensive but we took a nice evening walk over to the other beach where there are a few restaurants but a very dirty beach. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    74
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2010

From Ko-Chang…. We spent 5 magical days enjoying Ko-Mak resort, the pool, the food and the amazing service. 2 large rooms (expecially the top room) gave us great space and quiet beach. Bathrooms w/outdoor whirlpool and bathroom ‘n rainshower are huge as is the bedroom itself!.
Ha’ even the fussy kids enjoyed the Thai food. There's a massage little Sala just in front of the beach which is very handy and it's not really expansive (around 8 euros for 2 hours)I took 3times in 5 days ha! .It was a very relaxing and memorable break winter.. Thank them all very much for so much friendliness and kindness all the time. So see you again for Sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelukkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
370 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

great value and a nice break from much busier Chang

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We booked 5 nights in a superior beachfront suite at Koh Mak resort. The room was about 4'000 THB per night, which is quite a lot for Thailand. For this amount you can expect far better value.
It looks like all rooms are in line along the beach, with one restaurant at each end. Our concrete bungalow was right in front of the beach, with a lovely view. So far OK. But the walkway going to the restaurant was situated between our room and the beach, i.e. no intimacy in the room...
The room itself was quite dusty, oldish, with an obvious lack of maintenance. We were hardly able to open the doors to the beach-side, which should have been the highlight of that kind of bungalows. A piece of the air-con was missing and consequently it was blowing directly on the bed - we litterally freezed. The TV didn't work at all.
Since they didn't close properly, the cupboards were open to spiders and geckos. At night, we also found black worms next to our bed on the floor.
There was very little light inside the room. At night, the room didn't offer a lot of intimacy either: as the curtains don't cover all of the wide windows, people were able to look right inside.
The bathroom (located outside) had no hot water! However, several frogs enjoyed the place.
Furthermore, there was construction work right behind our bungalow, starting before 8 am!
There was also some construction work going on right next to the beautiful infinity pool (looked like some expansion work to increase the number of bungalows in the resort). The sound and the sight of it was quite disturbing. The bar next to the pool was certainly pleasant ten years ago, but we saw no staff whatsoever and it looked untended.
This big resort looked like a "tourist parking", where they are eager to catch as many tourists as possible, while not taking care of those present.
The reception was about 10 min walk away from our bungalow, which ment we were driven with our suitcases. If you wanted internet, kayaking or snorkelling, you had to pay extra, unlike other similarly-priced resorts. The breakfast was very basic.
Since we had already paid 50% in advance, we left the hotel after 2 nights and found a far better hotel. Koh Mak Resort is really too expensive for what it offers. You can find better accomodation on the island for half the price. The only fantastic thing in this hotel is its website, which makes yout think you're going to a great place... that's absolutely not the case!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonderho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly.
The good: The food at the middle restaurant (not by the pool, and not the snack bar/outdoor bar near the check-in desk, the restaurant in between), was excellent. The waitstaff were incredible, and they were even able to telephone the fisherman to pick up extra crabs for us on our last day, when we forgot to ask a day in advance! The papaya salad was the best I had in Thailand, and so were some of the curries. We tried some other restaurants on the island, and this one was definitely the best. The infinite swimming pool was very nice, with a lovely patio/deck bar to go with. The people at the "front desk" were very helpful. When a storm delayed our boat back to the mainland (thereby,causing a domino effect, making us miss our flight out of Trat and another flight out of Bangkok), they were very helpful in talking to airlines and finding us a taxi from Trat to Bangkok to share with another (Thai) guest (it was actually fun!). Also, the thai massage here was incredible. Friendly, agile women who really made the stay relaxing. (although watch for mosquitoes while getting rubbed down!)

The Bad: Our bungalow was mediocre at best. However, we stayed in a smaller, cheaper, older unit, not the fancy new family units. There were cracks in the walls, allowing some mosquitoes to come in, and the bathroom was attached but outside-- but nothing like the pictures on the website. The beach was alright, and right at our finger tips, which was nice. Also, we stayed for New Years (Dec. 31), and there was a "party" that consisted of karaoke, fireworks, a fire dancer, and a buffet. The buffet food, unlike the middle restaurant, was awful, and the party was over priced and cleared out be 10:30pm. Would not recommend a New Year's party here.
The Ugly: On a low note, some of the bungalows that are not the beachfront ones (as ours was not), are set a little too close to the sewage moat. A lot of the hotels on the island use the high and low tide to pump sewage out of the property, so there is a moat behind the property with a sewage river. In the morning, it smells something awful. I'm not sure if this is a problem at other hotels on the island...
If there is no other places to stay on the island, Koh Mak Resort would do. However, whether you stay here or not, come for the food at the middle restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Just got back from 2 weeks on Koh Chang and Koh Mak (Oct -08). We had booked 6 night at Koh Mak Resort in advance, and was very excited about this hotel since we had booked their best room, the Seaville Suite (think it is called beachfront superior now) which seemed very stylish and modern at the photos.
Unfortunately, it was not what we had expected at all. I'm sure this is a very nice place to stay during high season, but we didn't like it at all! The main entrance to the bungalow didn't work, the door was stuck. The room wasn't very clean, there was spider web in the wardrobe. The toilet was located outdoors which could have been kind of cosy, but that was not very tidy either. There were no cushions for the sunbeds. The pool area seemed really cool, but after a closer look we decided not to try it since the water was brown. The beach area outside our bungalow wasn't really a beach, and the rest of the beach (which could have been a really nice beach) hadn't been cleaned.
Everywhere at the resort (except where we were staying) there were renovations going on, so we found it a bit strange that they hadn't started with the bungalow which we was going to stay in. (We booked our room in May.)
These are all things that we might had accepted if we just had booked a random standard room. But not when we had expected something "extra". We paid a lower price since it was low season, (due to supply and demand), but that shouldn't affect the standard of the place.
The service was uneven. Some helpful staff, but the management seemed very arrogant.
After one night we moved to another hotel even though we had paid for 6 nights in advance.
I do belive that this place can be a really good resort during high season, but not in October!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnnicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2.1 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mak Resort

Property: Koh Mak Resort
Address: 1 moo 2 Koh Mak Island | Koh Kood, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Koh Mak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing