We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Mak Quiet and Undeveloped.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for some peace and quiet to recharge the batteries then Koh Mak is the place.Ao Khao Resort is situated on two lovely sandy beaches with about 25 bungalows spread along the beach lined with coconut trees.The bungalows are large with a verandah with some overlooking the sea.The bungalows are quite old,no tv channels but has DVD player.Things missing in room such as curtains and mosquito net on bed but if you are looking for tranquility and peace this is the place for you.Breakfast at restaurant adequate,staff friendly and helpful.Resort also has a beach bar serving steaks,baguettes and seafood which were all quite expensive.You will need at least a bike if not motorbike(BT300 a day) to get around the island as nearest restaurants and shops a good 20 minute walk away.However,overall our stay at Ao Khao Resort was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ystradafodwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been there twice and all the words I'm going to write, cannot really describe this particular place. Helpful and friendly staff (we even played volleyball with some of them), tasty thai & western food, comfy and very nice bungalows built in a tropical garden, with an astonishing sea view for most of them (the sea is just a few meters away!!) As soon as we get there, we felt like home and loved chilling by the fantastic clear blue sea...We kind of had the beach for ourselves... We could contemplate it from the sunbeds, from the massage table, from the restaurant and...... from our bed!!

We rent a motorbike to discover more and more about the peaceful and wild Koh Mak...but we didn't find another beach like this one. I guess that all the paths in Koh Mak lead to Aokao Resort.

Terrific emotional feelings when it's time to leave !

Room Tip: Our favorite: Sunset Bungalow - Beach Front, Personal Rooftop terrasse with cosy sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larmier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Visited here for a week with my partner last November. Visited Ko Kood the year before and decided to give Ko Mak a go - very glad we did! The journey to the island is a bit of an adventure, flight from London to Bangkok took about 12 hours then a one-hour hop from Bangkok to Trat. From Trat we had arranged to be collected beforehand with Chain, the owner of Ao Kao, was about half an hour to the pier, then a speed boat to Ko Kood - and Chain picked us up. Very relaxed, friendly chap who really loves is English football. When we arrived we were tired but couldn't stop smiling. Our bungalow was spacious with a decent sized bathroom and delicious constant aircon, and a fan. It has a generous porch area and was about 15meters from the beautiful beach and my favourite hammock in the world. The food in the restaurant was good but I liked the barbecue at the beach bar best - very tasty - and cheap cocktails at happy hour! There are really good restaurants once you leave the resort - a bit of a hike around 30 minute walk, but you want that seclusion. Nothing on Ko Mak is really busy, but it's nice to be tucked away from the road. Mongs was incredibly tasty - don't be put of my the slightly scruffy frontage, and the the Swiss Sawadee place has unusual, delicious food too. We hired a moped from Ao Kao to explore the island and discovered loads of stunning beaches and tasty eats. The banana sunset bar is worth a mention for being the most relaxing spot - and I think it's owned by the same people that look after Ao Kao. The Ko Mak seafood restaurant was superb. I was expecting to see sand flies, and came well prepared, but maybe November is too early for them? The staff at Ao Kao are a delight - the massage ladies had a great sense of humour and everyone was very warm-hearted. The BBQ mans still has a piece of my heart. Slightly disappointed that table tennis was not available, but who cares?! you're staying in one of the most beautiful places you'll ever visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goatnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were skeptical about this place considering that there were mixed reviews. But all doubts vanished the moment we landed on this secluded paradise. The beach bungalow was an absolute delight - step out and your are on the beach, just a few metres away from the water.

The pristine little white sandy beach was were we spent most of our mornings and evenings. The waves are gentle and safe for little kids (ours are aged 9 and 4). Note however that there are a few rocks jutting out here and there, so watch out for them when you are in the water. There is a little bit of plastic trash that gets washed in (quite unfortunate) but I noticed that the staff do a good job of clearing the trash every morning.

The restaurant is delightful and overlooks the sea. The separate seating area on stilts is a great place to have a quiet dinner on moonlit nights.The free breakfast is quite basic. The restaurant could do with a better menu with more variety, especially for vegetarians.

Note that the resort is about 3 km away from the "downtown" area where there is a cluster of restaurants and shops. You can rent a scooter at the hotel (THB 300 per day) for getting around the island. You can also rent bicycles at several shops in the downtown area (THB 150 per day) - unfortunately the resort does not have any.

The affable staff made us feel at home. Thanks guys, for making our vacation truly memorable. We will surely come back!

Room Tip: Prefer the beach bungalows - they are good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Footloose_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

When we first arrived we both said we had come to paradise!

The staff was really nice and helpful, they didn't know much English but it all worked out anyway.

Good food and excellent place for relaxing. Such a beautiful spot!

The resort had a trampoline for the kids, and a big chess game that the kids loved to play with. The bungalow we had was really big, and the beds were okey. You could borrow movies to watch if you wanted. The beach bar was great, just by the clear blue sea and the white sand and they had happy hour all night long...

The resort is quite secluded and you kind of had the beach all to yourself although there are others resorts that hardly can't see.

This was the only place we saw that had put out fishing nets around certain swimming areas, due to the fact that there were jellyfish in the water. The nets protected the swimmers from the jellyfish that are quite nasty, two of us got stung but got immediate help from the friendly staff.

Terrific place and we would easily recommend this to other travellers!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mattias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Words cannot possibly describe the beauty of this place and i would move here in a heartbeat! This is a family run resort and very well managed by Chain Roj who speaks excellent English and is never far away to help with any queries. From arrival to leaving day all the staff are attentive and friendly and it was quite emotional to leave. A lot of (more expensive) Thai resorts could learn a lot from this place.

All the bungalows are close to the beach and those closest to the resort have the best Wifi signal. I used from my room without any problems all week and it is a decent speed connection. This was actually one of my considerations when staying there as I was also working (from paradise!).

The beach is narrow but beautiful and takes on different characters depending on the light and how far along you walk. There are a few other bungalows along the beach but never more than a handful of people on the beach at any one time which was awesome. The sea was good for swimming in and they have nets which keep the swimming areas safe from any jellyfish or other creatures which I thought was brilliant. All beach resorts should do this as it just provides some nice peace of mind when on a remote Island.


I can't say enough good things about this place. If you are going to Ko Mak then stay here! Thank you Chain and team ... I will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms look excellent. Wifi very strong in the room close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraderJoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here for a few days at the end of my Thailand journey and the pace of the island (very slow) was just right! I walked one day to a local store for bananas and beer. Another day we wandered the beach and used some of the provided snorkel gear. Finally we managed to get enough people together for a guided snorkel trip to the pristine waters of nearby Ko Rang.

Service: was good/acceptable. They were extremely nice but a bit laid-back forgetful at times. So some of the snorkel gear was broken ("we'll get new stuff soon") and the bikes they loaned out had flat tires; and other "little things" just weren't always as one might think they should be.

Food: good. Don't expect master-chef, but better (especially for the price) than you'll get back home and I hear there are some good restaurants "in town" during tourist season (most were closed as I visited in very early June).

Accommodations: great. Very modern with showers, A/C, etc to suit your needs. There are lots of creepy-crawlies outside, especially at night, so it was welcoming to see the stilts on the building - although I did still imagine that they *could* get in if they really wanted to.

Island/local/etc: Amazing. It's too small if you are one of those people who wants to really get off the beaten path, but to get away from most civilization, this is perfect. I was there off-season, so it might perk up a bit in-season, but everything there seemed to move at a slow pace, which itself was relaxing.

Overall: 4 stars. Don't expect perfection in this off-the-beaten-path resort, but if you relax into the idiosyncrasies and think about the truly amazing place you are on the planet, you're sure to have a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JustinWhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#9 of 15 in Ko Mak
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.7 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#3 of 15 in Ko Mak
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort

Address: 60/1 Moo 1 Sudhidhanakul Road, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: £28 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Kao Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing