We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return or recommend anyone there.”
Review of Makathanee Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makathanee Resort
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would not return or recommend anyone there.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

For a resort you would expect much more especially considering the context of the island, having stayed previously on Thailand West and East Islands.

ROOMS:
1. Rooms a little worn out, but in working conditions.
2. Housekeeping very brief in cleaning the room.
3. Hygiene maniacs would want to bring over a pair of clean bed sheets and pillows.
4. Only real ''Pro'' being the nice location on which you will feel the resort takes it for granted as to lack in other services...

FOOD:
1. Breakfast terrible to awful, not even a buffet breakfast available!! Coffee simple instant coffee.
2. Service is of the worst (actually the WORST) I and my partner have experienced in Thailand, there is no management, you will receive your cocktails after the main course, and should you have ordered 2 main course don't be surprised if the kids eat after the parents have finished their deserts... honestly a simple restaurant manager would solve this issue in a instant, but none are available.
3. The staff at the restaurant and housekeeping seemed to be on some kind of strong medication (to not mention drugs / alcohol as to not prejudice the workers.).

OTHERS:
Minor recommendation to carry and do your own laundry even our simplest shirts were stained by the Island Laundry.

OVERALL:
Beautiful Island Koh Mak (apart from the trash on the beaches), Terrible resort, not recommended to anyone, should you want to land on Koh Mak would recommend you be attended either a major resort such as Cococape or lower budget but friendly ''backpacker spirit'' Monkey Resort.

Room Tip: Request for a deluxe room on the higher floors rather than a beach bungalow which are worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PPFERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
20
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Makathanee is located beatiful just next to the beach at Koh Maak. We have stayed at makathanee a couple of times before. The friendly staff have always done their best to make us feel confortable. But this year something have happend? Al staff sems afraid of the owner in a strange way. And the owner couple didnt even talk to their guests. Something is wrong.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Mak hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Makathanee Resort feels like a regular mid-range western hotel, set on a beautiful island, and this will appeal to many. However, at B3400 per night (large first floor twin room with balcony set back from the beach), it was double the price of other nearby beachfront bungalow accommodation and I'm not sure its worth it.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is very convenient for the pier and the shops and other restaurants, on the most developed beach on the island, and it has a beautiful ocean view - set in nice gardens. It is also clean, safe and the buildings are good solid quality.

However Koh Mak is just a small island, with mostly quaint beach hut accommodation and it felt to me that some of the romance is being eroded with this relatively large hotel with its conference/seminar centre and large concrete structures that actually impose onto the beach itself.

My main gripe though is with the breakfast. I have eaten breakfast at a lot of mid-range Asian hotels and can't recall a worse one than here. The fruit - fresh pineapple and watermelon - was the only saving feature. Juices were mostly sugar water, coffee was instant that you made yourself, and the bread just the regular processed sliced stuff - the ham the same. The only options for hot food were rice soup, omelette or fried eggs, with the eggs made to order. However at peak time they didn't cope well. I ordered an omelette without ham. Eventually, after a few trips to the counter to enquire, I was brought one with ham. I asked again for one without ham. Exactly the same outcome. So I settled for just fruit. Exactly the same thing happened on day two. I didn't try my luck further after that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The most modern hotel - right by one of the piers where you land if you arrive by speed-boat (which is great!) Makathanee has the best location - in walking distance to several restaurants and small shops, and on the best beach on the island. The hotel is small, but has everything you need. Nice, newly decorated, modern rooms, kept spotlessly clean every day - and quite a large variety of rooms and beachbungalows. Swimmingpool (if you need), and a large terrace for serving ice-coffee or a nice lunch overlooking the beach and the sunset. We travelled with three kids, stayed at the hotel 10 days, and despite some noise and mess, we allways felt welcome everywhere around the hotel.

By the corner at Makathanee you find mr Pritchards little travelshop, who may help you with all your needs ragarding excursions, diving, motorbikes, and transportation to mainland, Bangkok or wherever you want to go. An honest, serviceminded man, well worth your trust:-) Rent a bike and see the rest of the island as well! Lots of nice places for a good lunch.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, so depends on what you prefer:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had only 2 days 1 night to enjoy a lovely and peaceful time in this resort.

Good location, very easy to get to the resort. The pier is right in font of the resort.

We stayed in a Font beach bungalow. ...had a great time. However, their bungalows should be refurbished.

The service was okay. ..not a great one but have nothing to complain.

Foods were great...very fresh, very cheap.

If you want a quiet and peaceful holiday with a lovely and cheap foods, I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Only writing this because of there poor customer service. They cancelled our booking 2 months before we travelled because of a wedding even through we booked 9 months previously . I totally understand that that would go for the money but it was the way they did it and also no appology.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Location and the pool are the best in the island.
The restaurant is old, bungalows are old with lots of ants and very hard beds. At breakfast we got hasseled each morning about breakfast coupons, feeling like we were about to steal. Food was not the best. And I never fealt that warm Thai atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.9 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.5 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.5 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makathanee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makathanee Resort

Property: Makathanee Resort
Address: 63/14 Moo 1 Koh Mak, Koh Kood,Trad | Ao Khao Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Makathanee Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Panoramic Beach bungalows with a perfect sea view and comfortable Poolside family suites and rooms on a bounty type beach on Koh Mak. Voted the best Beach Resort on Koh Mak by many. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makathanee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing