We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ultimate place at”
Review of Bamboo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We just spent 5 days at Bamboo Hideaway and we had a wonderful time! The huts (there are only 8 of them) are definitely the most beautiful on the island; almost entirely made of bamboo and yet very spacious and comfortable - with stunning views on the sea. We did not mind that this resort is not located at a beach, cause it is easy to take a motorbike and go to all the beautiful beaches on this little island (all are public). And the swimming pool is great.
Massimo and Francesca are really friendly and careful hosts, and they make delicious Italian food too (try the risotto!). We have seen most of the other resorts and we still absolutely recommend staying at Bamboo Hideaway, because of it's authentic island atmosphere.

Room Tip: the two huts closest to the ocean have the best view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geeske S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent 6 days in April 2012 in Bamboo Hideaway. We didn't know the place at all it was more a last minute choice, and it was fantastic! the place is beautiful and really comfortable and beautiful bamboo bungalows (looks even nicer than the pictures I must say!) amazing views on the sea and a great atmosphere. Katy and Martyn were so friendly, careful and honest! Thanks guys, we really had a great time despite the terrible heat of April! We highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. The bungalows are great, the atmosphere is relaxing and the food is to die for. Rent a motorbike and you are free to see every angle of this (tiny) island. We were there when it was the anual Relationship Day, an event the whole island attends, really nice.

We highly recommend staying here and eating all your meals there too. The chef is the best one we've had in Thailand, just let him prepare what he wants for you, you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NetherlandsDutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Really good place to stay with a wonderful view and a Nice swimming pool. The owners are really friendly and do everything they can to make your vacation unforgettable. I suggest bamboo hideaway to all my fellows canadian friends. Try the food at the restaurant or just take a drink and enjoy the view and the tranquillity of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariejoeml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our second trip to Koh Mak and although we rented a house this time round we visited Bamboo 3 times during our stay on the island. This place has outstanding hosts in Martin & Katie who cannot do enough for you. Their resort is one on the best on the island and very relaxing. If you want a piece of paradise then this is it!! I would recommend a stay if travelling to Koh Mak and wanting to relax!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanerhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the first e-mail I sent to Katie, I got a fantastic support and we were confident that our decision to stay at Bamboo Hidaway was the right one long before we arrived.

This is a really nice, intimate resort with very friendly and helpful hosts. Excellent seaview and sunsets in a very relaxing atmosphere, and the food was great, too. Just stick to the recommendations of Katie and Martin.

This resort is excellent for couples and families that would like to have a more exotic and basic vacation and not the standard, boring hotelrooms that you can find anywhere else. If you are looking for "high end", this is definetly not the right place for you.

Our bungalow was really cool and were well equipped. No refrigerator, but you could get cold drinks in the bar/reseption. Everybody warned us about the mosquitos, but we had absolutely no problems with mosquitos during our stay on Koh Mak.

To get to the best beaches you should hire a motorbike or a mountain bike, although we walked back to the resort a couple of times just for fun. But the hosts will bring you to all the beaches that is accessable by car for free.....and pick you up again when you are ready to return to the resort.

We really enjoyed our stay at Bamboo Hideaway, and there is no doubt that we would stay at Bamboo Hideaway if we return to Koh Mak in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizardclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family and I spend 4 wonderful days at the Bamboo Hideaway. We loved the bungalows - built mostly from bamboo, very clean and well presented with simple natural furnishings. The bungalow had air con. and a mosquito net (although we found we didn't use the mozzie net). Martin, Katie and Pe Toi were outstanding hosts! They were always available and willing to help us and make our stay relaxing and fun - providing maps and directions, snorkels and goggles for our children, a torch for creature spotting and board games after a busy day. I appreciated the way that they related warmly to our children as well as us! Katie organised two motorbikes so that we could explore the island without getting too hot. This proved to be a highlight for our teenage daughter who loved being able to double Mum around! Armed with a map and togs we explored a number of little beaches and shops. The pool was wonderful and because the resort didn't have direct access to the beach it was a hit with our children in particular. The location of the resort proved to be a plus as it gave us a reason to hire the motorbikes which was a cool, easy way to see the whole island. Pe Toi is an extremely dedicated chef who spoilt us with his cooking. He went out of his way to make sure that we enjoyed our meals ( his cooking was the best food we had over our 3 week stay in Thailand. Ar roi di!!) What a lovely peaceful island and dedicated hosts - a perfect ending to a 3 week stay in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.7 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#13 of 15 in Ko Mak
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hideaway

Address: 55/2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: £10 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Mak, Bamboo Hideaway Resort is a small boutique style resort built in an aging rubber tree plantation using natural materials. We here at Bamboo Hideaway have tried to capture a feeling of peace and tranquility. Eight bungalows, elevated and accessible by a walkway from the restaurant, weave its way through the trees to accommodation that have been designed to give you all the luxuries of a more traditional resort but with the advantage that only natural materials can give.Large and spacious, the bungalow has a double bed with possibility of extra bed. Air conditioning, hot water and private bathroom. It comes with towels, slippers and fresh water every day. Sea wiew most of them.Bamboo Hideaway is only less than 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach, but our service also provides you with free transportation to any beaches on the island. Our swimming pool offers picturesque view of the ocean and sunset that no other places on the island can offer!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sawasdee and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hideaway Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing