We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not make an advance booking.”
Review of Bamboo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not make an advance booking.”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My advice is to check this place out ONCE you arrive on the Island. DO NOT make an advance booking on the internet.

The bad points.

*The manager charged me for an extra night against my wishes because of a ferry booking mix up which was his error.

*I heard the manager telling people on the phone that there are no mosquitoes here. I regularly saw mosquitoes but applied insect repellant when required.

* I was bitten by a dog on my last day at the resort. This will cost me close to $400 in rabies vaccinations.

The good points:

* Very nice pool and rooms.

* Great Italian food.

* Relaxed out of the way location.

*****

I was told that the current management have been there since September, 2012.

I suggest asking for the price of EVERYTHING you order. Only some prices are listed on the menu, so you might get a surprise when the bill turns up.

Spaces on the fast ferry can be very limited (about 30 people I think). You may wish to ask the manager if you will be charged for the room if the ferry is already full and you can not make it to the island.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboohideaway, Direttore generale at Bamboo Hideaway, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Murray,
thanks for your imaginative review, the first on Trip Advisor! You did not mention about the discount we did that cover more than your lost night.... anyway you lost that because you were in the wrong place.... we booked as usual the boat for you and i told you on the phone the same day.... About the rest.... what to say to an angry man that think about a loss of money? None of what you say is real out of the positive thinks that value for you only 1 point.... Thanks, we loved anyway to take care of you, to drive you around the island and everything as usual we do to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    27
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
72
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have just returned home from Koh Mak where we stayed a week in Bamboo Hodden. The place is absolutely fabulous, with a pool on the top of the hill with a beautiful view at the ocean. Francesca and Massimo are wonderful hosts and their restaurant is the best in Koh Mak. They try to do everything to make their guests happy.
The resort is not at the ocean but it is only five minutes walk to the small beach and a ten minutes ride to the beautiful wide beach with restaurants and massages. So, being a little bit away from all touristic mess was only an advantage.
The only thing I would like to advise to Francesca is to change the chairs at bungalow balconies, they are so uncomfortable!
Thank you very much for this lovely week!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Compared to Koh Chang this island of Koh Mak is a little quiet gem. And if you are looking for an intimate and cozy resort Bamboo Hideaway is the place. We were seven in the party so we occupied 3 out of 8 huts. The huts themselves are made of bamboo. They are more pretty and quiant, than comfortable. But the real find is the hosts and the food. Our two italian hosts went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The mix of excellent Italian and Thai food was great. The pool is beautiful and quiet and the surroundings just beautiful. The resort is a set back from a little, stony beach, so don't expect a beachside resort. But they will take you anywhere on the island in their pick-up, so it is just fine. We would love to come back. Good price also.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

...you feel like your taxi has taken a turn the wrong way as you head across the Farm fields on your way to Bamboo Hideaway - bear with it. The place is stunning, the hospitality is warm and friendly. There is no real beach to speak of, but a great pool and surroundings to really make you feel that you are away from it all. The huts are Eco, well designed and really clean. This is a very peaceful stay and somewhere where you truly do get away from it all...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betticrockatt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

First, this small island is very very beautiful for beaches preserved from mass tourism. It is a very good choice if you are not looking for night life at the same time. There are only Ao kao beach bar and the monkey bar opened late at night. The several small islands around are good opportunities for half day trip with the help of a cayak. If you choose to go to Kradat island, ll you found dears and a clean beach you can reach by tractor!!. For snorkelling, the boat trip organized by agencies is the best you can get but you won't alone during holidays period and it does not really matter. The countryside is full of coconut trees, rubber trees and rain forest. Roads are not for absolute beginners with a motorbike
In Bamboo hideway, some bungalows have a very good view on the sea and should be easy to be reserved when you are not at the peak season around christmas ; the others are in the back. This bungalows built with bamboo are very pretty and the result of a lot of work! You will get a very good bed wit a mosquitoe net, air condition and hot water. Cupboards are missing a bit but does not really matter. What is amazing is to have the feeling to be in the jungle as beautiful noises from birds and lezards are all day, all night. The fact that you are on the hill give you a nice breeze, less mosquitoes and no sand flies of course. The swimming pool is very welcomed and this is an other opportunity to relax in front of a very beautiful view on the sea. The new owners, a italian couple, give their best to make your holidays easy(renting a bike, telling you places to go, organizing trips all around, advises, help with internet, etc..). The cooking is thai or italian and both are very good. When you eat the very good thai food everydays mostly everywhere on the island, their italian food and wines are just luxury! A big thank you to Fransesca and Massimo from Anne and Frédéric.

Room Tip: The bungalows in front have a total view on the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamanville, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Bamboo Hideaway is simply adorable. Nestled in a quiet corner of Koh Mak island admist the chirping of birds with a breathtaking view of the blue waters, this charming resort is literally a hideaway on beautiful Koh Mak. The little bungalows are very clean and have an innovative design and like the name suggests all made of solid bamboo. And most importantly, Francesca & Massimo are excellent hosts...Even if you are a Thai food buff, you must taste at least one of Massimo's Italian specialities. However for those expecting to wake up in the morning and walk directly onto the powdery white sands of Koh Mak, it won't be possible at Bamboo since this place is around 1km away from the beach, but hey, that gives you a good reason to get your legs in shape ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBourget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juanillo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have checked out a large variety of resorts on Koh Mak and this place was by far the most compelling.

The Bamboo Hideaway can be found a little further off from the areas where the majority of resorts are located. From the moment i entered its reception area, i knew this was a good place to stay. The hosts - the two new owners who are from Italy - are absolutely nice and really friendly. They left none of my wishes unfulfilled, no requests unanswered. They invest so much energy in making this place what it is - an outstanding resort.

The rooms are spacey and natural. Very interesting places to stay in. The beds are of good quality and the mosquito nets are quadratic, which means you don't have to touch them with your feet or head while you sleep and the mosquitos cannot bite you through the net.

The bathrooms are very sweet, just as the rest of the cottage the floors are all made from large bamboo sticks. The shower has a stone tile floor and warm water is available. The toilets are clean and everything works just fine.

The restaurant is outstanding. Prices are not the lowest but you get real good quality there. Many Italians are good cooks - those two Italians are TOP cooks! Also, as a vegetarian, i was served a special meal once, which was not on the menu. It was the best.

The whole atmosphere is very quiet. The visual appearance of the lobby area is very nice, it looks like you've finally arrived in paradise. The swimming pool is clean and provides a sweet place for a little swim at any time of the day.

I would recommend this place to anyone interested in having a relaxing and family-type of stay on Koh Mak.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenlethar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.3 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Ko Kut
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.9 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hideaway

Property: Bamboo Hideaway
Address: 55/2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Mak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Mak, Bamboo Hideaway Resort is a small boutique style resort built in an aging rubber tree plantation using natural materials. We here at Bamboo Hideaway have tried to capture a feeling of peace and tranquility. Eight bungalows, elevated and accessible by a walkway from the restaurant, weave its way through the trees to accommodation that have been designed to give you all the luxuries of a more traditional resort but with the advantage that only natural materials can give.Large and spacious, the bungalow has a double bed with possibility of extra bed. Air conditioning, hot water and private bathroom. It comes with towels, slippers and fresh water every day. Sea wiew most of them.Bamboo Hideaway is only less than 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach, but our service also provides you with free transportation to any beaches on the island. Our swimming pool offers picturesque view of the ocean and sunset that no other places on the island can offer!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Sawasdee, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hideaway Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing