We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamboo Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
UK
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed at the Bamboo Hideaway for one week, we could have stayed forever! Me, my wife and 2 year old daughter enjoyed every second of these thoughtfully built bungalows where attention to detail had been applied throughout the design concept. The owners and hosts Martyn and Katie couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. If we wanted to do something or needed anything on the island they made it happen. The place was made to feel like your own and we were soon as relaxed, perhaps more relaxed than you would be in your own home! We are already planning and looking forward to our next visit, we can't wait. We would undoubtedly recommend Koh Mak and the Bamboo Hideaway. Thank you for a great holiday.

Suggy, Charlie and Ivy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suggy_Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    25
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
69
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bergamo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

if you are looking for a very quita place, not massime and with owners that make you feel at home at anytime, bamboo hideaway is definitly the resort you must stay!
delicious, traditional food, wonderfoul sunsets and very comfortable bungalows!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaebabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieBambooHideaway, Owner at Bamboo Hideaway, responded to this review, 21 February 2010
Thanks for your review Luca. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you here at Bamboo Hideaway again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

A fantastic place to stay on holiday. The staff really take care of you and noting is impossible. I will love to go back there one day.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flies321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboohideaway, owner at Bamboo Hideaway, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
Thank you for your review!
We hope to see you here at Bamboo Hideaway Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed at Bamboo Hideaway for 5 nights during Christmas 2009. Bamboo Hideaway is a charming little hideaway with rustic bamboo huts but with the luxury of mod cons including Air con and hot showers. Very aesthetically pleasing the bamboo huts were built by the owner (New Zealander - Marty) and are linked together by an impressive bamboo walk way. The best bit about Bamboo Hideaway are it's owners, Marty and Katy. They do all they can to ensure your stay at their place and on the island of Koh Mak is wonderful. They honestly can't do enough to make you happy and make you feel like you are staying in their home as one of the family rather than paying guests. Would definitely recommend this place even though it is not directly on the beach like other places on the island. Marty will give you a lift and pick you up wherever you want to go and will easily arrange bike hire so you can explore the island under your own steam. The pool is a bonus if you want to relax at home and you can walk to a small stretch of beach from the huts although there is nothing on this beach - which you could see as a bonus. Go say hi to Marty and Katy and you'll be sure to have a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamboohideaway, owner at Bamboo Hideaway, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days, in December 2009, and I would gladly without even needing any convincing, stay there for another 10 years.

When you arrive, both Katie and Martyn are very welcoming and friendly. They are the perfect host and hostess. They are a lovely exception in Thailand, where very few Thai people speak english, and the few that do are both hard to understand and normally have even a harder time understanding you. They always make sure you have everything you could possibly need, and go that extra mile to help you with whatever your heart desires. No matter what the request, they are willing to help you, even if you decide to try one of the other hotels on the island, both Katie and Martyn are more than willing to give them a call for you, and drive you to the hotel. Although I think you would be an absolute fool to even consider leaving.

The hotel itself consists of 8 raised bamboo bungalows, which are of exceptional quality, all connected with this beautiful bamboo walkway. The room contains the most wonderfully comfortable bed I've ever slept on, along with a well thought out mosquito net that actually does its job properly. The bathroom is also amazing, and the shower is sensational. The hotel also contains a pool, that is kept in pristine condition, and is perfect to come back to after a day on the beaches, just to relax by and enjoy a cocktail or two.

The hotel contains a restaurant called The Naked Fish, and the food is wonderfully superb. I loved everything I ate there, and both Katie and Martyn along with the chefs would always recommend some other Thai dish that I might like to try. Everything they recommended I absolutely loved. And Thai food is also not their only speciality. There were more than a few guests who would regularly order the chicken schnitzel baquette, or the spanish omlette. Along with the wonderful food, they have the best cocktails on the island, and of special note is their Mojito that Martyn personally makes, or the Ice Tea that Katie does herself. Infact, their cocktails are some of the best I have ever in my life had the opportunity to experience.

Even if you decide that you would like to try any of the other restaurants or hotels on the Island, both Katie and Martyn will happily recommend the ones they think are the best, as well as the favourties of the locals.

The Island itself contains the beaches that you would see in any travel book or brochure. The beaches are the picturesque white sands, and clear blue marine seas, with very few other people, or are completely deserted. You literally have the beaches all to yourself most of the time.

To sum it all up, the hotel is exquisite, the staff and owners are magnificent and the best of all the islands I have visited. The island itself is something out of a brochure, and the beaches are to die for.

I already know where I will be going for November/December/January this year. I have never in my life had a holiday as sensationally wonderful as my time at Bamboo Hideaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cole_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel/resort for one week with my wife in December 2009, and I wish I could have stayed for longer. The thing that stood out the most for me is that the hotel is run by very friendly people who did a lot to make this trip enjoyable.

Location
The hotel is on Koh Mak Island. To get there you go to Leam Ngob, then take a speedboat (450THB/person/trip) which takes 45m. The hotel offers free transfer from the speedboat arrival pier - just call/email/text with your estimated arrival time. Koh Mak is a very small, quite beautiful island in the Andaman Sea, very quiet and nice. Bamboo Hideaway is (of course) hidden away up a trail 500m from the beach. It's relatively high up (not at sea level) which means that mosquitoes are very rare, you just get them for 1h at dawn and then 1h at dusk. It's also cooler than at sea level, which just means that you're warm in the evening, instead of sweating. Its location means that transportation is essential for getting around. However, the staff can and will drop you off and pick you up in the hotel car whenever and wherever you want, like having a free private taxi. The first time I've seen this, and very nice, for when you don't want a scooter for all day.

The rooms
There are 8 detached bungalows, with A/C, bathroom, shower. All the bungalows (and most of the hotel, too) are made of bamboo, giving it a very nice, natural look. (My wife adored it). Bathrooms are perfectly clean, shower runs from cold to lukewarm (but when it's 25°C - 30°C, a hot shower is the last thing you want), and best of all, for me : the beds are big, comfortable, with good pillows (YMMV) and have big, high-quality mosquito nets! (You may guess that I hate being bitten). Best nights sleep I've ever had in SE Asia was in the Bamboo Hideaway, thanks to this. And you also have a hammock on the small terrace/balcony outside your room ...

The hotel
There is a swimming pool. It is wonderful. Maybe 4x9m, with a separate shallow 2x2m section for kids. Loungers, towels, umbrellas and inflatable mattresses are provided, and if you don't want to move, you can just stay there all day long. Only 8 rooms, so you often have the pool to yourself. The common area/restaurant is very nice. The food is very good, though the prices are of course higher (and the quality better) than non-hotel restaurants. The Thai chefs have the usual mania for chilies, but the owner is a Kiwi, he understands us westerners, and he can get them to lay off it. Library and board games provided. Internet access is available, cheap, but a little slow.

Staff/service
This was amazing. The couple who run the place (Martyn and Katie) are very friendly, helpful, and go to great lengths to get you what you want/need. Massage at the hotel, scooter delivered to the hotel for a day, booking the speedboat or a taxi on the mainland, spare beach towels ... One guide describes them as "genial", and they're quite right. They really know how to make you feel at home, whether you're the chatty traveler type or there for a romantic getaway.

Conclusion
We were looking for a base from which to hit the beach, and instead found a hotel we would happily have stayed at for many days more. It suits families as well as couples, and is small enough that there are never too many people around if you're looking for quiet. I'm already planning our next trip in my head.

Ps.1 Sorry for the small photos
Ps.2 My wife is posting her review of our stay in French on tripadvisor.fr. So two similar reviews on the same period you might find are indeed of the same stay, but by two different people.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacron_pagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Kathy and Martin made this part of our travels amazing. The bamboo hideaway is blissfully quiet, beautifully constructed and serves the best food on the island. We were welcomed like old freinds and spent all but one night at the hotel because the food was that good and atmosphere chilled and great fun. Love to come again and couldn't recommend it higher.
Chris & Kat

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopheLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.5 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.7 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Hideaway

Property: Bamboo Hideaway
Address: 55/2, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Mak
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Mak, Bamboo Hideaway Resort is a small boutique style resort built in an aging rubber tree plantation using natural materials. We here at Bamboo Hideaway have tried to capture a feeling of peace and tranquility. Eight bungalows, elevated and accessible by a walkway from the restaurant, weave its way through the trees to accommodation that have been designed to give you all the luxuries of a more traditional resort but with the advantage that only natural materials can give.Large and spacious, the bungalow has a double bed with possibility of extra bed. Air conditioning, hot water and private bathroom. It comes with towels, slippers and fresh water every day. Sea wiew most of them.Bamboo Hideaway is only less than 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach, but our service also provides you with free transportation to any beaches on the island. Our swimming pool offers picturesque view of the ocean and sunset that no other places on the island can offer!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Sawasdee so you can book your Bamboo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hideaway Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing