We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Plubpla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my family just stayed 4 days at Plub Pla and we had an awesome stay. My wife had her birthday there and the staff arranged for a cake at dinner free of charge.

They also arranged "rice lamps" that you light on fire and that fly into the sky. They made my wifes birthday a night to remember

The owner went great lengths to make sure we were having a great time. We were traveling with another family that also had kids so he would give the kids different toys to play with. At night he would collect different animals from the beach to show the kids.


All the staff were really friendly specially to our 1.5 year old son.

The pool was very nice and really good for kids as it had a shallow section for them to play in.


The food in the restaurant was really nice and I ordered a Massaman curry one night that was probably the best one I ever had.

All in all it was s great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danieliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful and great resort with very friendly staff. Located in peaceful area on south beach. Restaurant has very tasty Thai food. The beach is not that good for swimming but you can enjoy the pool which is very nice. The only bit wierd thing in resort was restaurants backround music.They should play more traditional thai music rather than american country music. Sure to be back when travelling to Koh Mak.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torppari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spent three nights here (one to go!). Beautiful villas, positioned so that all have great views over the sea, (and further back) lawns and raised walkways as well. Comfortable bed and great bathroom/shower facilities (one outsidel). I think the shoreside villas may be marginally larger and have a jacuzzi, but to be honest, we're on the back row and have a great view between the other off set villas all the way to the sea, so wouldn't fuss about paying extra to be closer to the sea. The shower pressure is a little low, but acceptable.
We would normally eat outside the hotels we stay at in Thailand, but the food here is superb, and hardly much more (if at all) than you would pay in a beach/roadside restaurant. Great breakfast with superb freshly ground coffee. Excellent friendly service, but slower when they're busy..but worth the wait.
Staff really helpful at arranging collection on arrival/departure and interim taxis (only 50bt per/person any point on the island). A little disappointed that the mountain bikes they have available are poorly maintained/missing bits and we really didn't feel they were safe to take out.
(They do have a number of scooters though).
Wifi is only available in the open restaurant /reception area and round the (excellent) infinity pool.Pretty slow and a pity it doesn't extend to the villas.
But overall, an excellent hotel, great location, value and food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry about not being in a villa directly onto the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesandwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best hotel experiences that we've ever had. This was because of superb service. The level of attention and looking after our needs and requests... Just absolutely great.

The resort itself is very nice, relaxed. The pool is great, has a good portion of it that is suitable for small children. The beach was fine, great for building sand castles. The view just calms you and has you smiling at every turn. And the sound of the ocean both lulling you to sleep and waking you up...

A few points that could be better:
Water pressure in the shower. It works, but it's not good.
No room wi-fi. No big deal, it's very relaxing in the restaurant or by the pool anyway.

Do order their lime juice with honey and just enjoy the day! Kaeng Panang was also very good here.
Great breakfast!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Nicklas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my wife choose this resort for a relaxing holiday at the beginning of October,
I drove down from Bangkok and got to the pier about 9.45am and the guy how run the ferry should me were to park the car all good.
we took the ferry over and was meet at the other end buy the owners husband, how was very pleasant and when we got to the resort he dealt with all the paper work and formality's very quick, we were soon in our room which was room 1 which was one of the more expensive villas but had the best view out of them all, you could nearly jump from the veranda to the sea.
The Food was excellent all over the Island but at Plubpla it was a cut above the rest.
Everyone of the staff was excellent never had a care in the world this is resort is in my top 5 I have ever been to, I will also say again that you do not need to spend mega money to have the best, as there is only 1 hotel in my top five of Thailand that is over 3500 baht a night 115 dollars and 2 of them were under 3000 baht a night.
We will definitely be going back can not wait.

Room Tip: If you want the best ask for room 1 it has the best view and out of all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElHaciendahomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A handful of modern, spacious bungalows with teak wood floor, far apart and connected by (elevated) wooden boardwalk.
Beautiful pool, open air restaurant and a well kept lawn. That's Plubpla on Koh Mak. Good beds, an open air jacuzzi on the patio and an (extra) outdoors shower give a feeling of truly tropical paradise. The sea comes close to the lower bungalows and the palm trees line the beach.
We would be even happier if the airco would not blast right onto the bed and if there would be bathrobes. To top it off an international newspaper would be great, but then again, when on holidays why would you want to know what's happening in the world? Certainly not by watching tv because there are only a few Asian channels, and the German Deutsche Welle which was hardly visible. This is the only point we were not happy about. Other than that, good service and a great place if you like it quiet, modern and with a touch of exclusiveness.

Room Tip: try to book one of the lower bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed at. The staff is really friendly, helpful and great to be around. It is nicely located away from the busier areas on the island. My wife and I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garthak45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2.4 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
2.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Address: 50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak, even by the other resort owners on the island. All beach, sea view Villas on a serene private beach. Amazing endless swimming pool with jacuzzi seat and always enough sun chairs and tables in the restaurant. The Koh Mak Retreat is truly a place where you can get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing