We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent 3 days and 2 nights here. It was truly a hideaway; very quiet and peaceful. The room was big enough with spacious bathroom. Everything was clean and neat. The staffs were friendly. The food was delicious. I will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: there are 3 types of room. They are pretty much the same except for distance from the beach and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maewmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was a great place to end our trip through SE Asia. Very nice villas and infinity pool. The breakfast was pretty good and the hotel provided us with a cheap, albeit sorta beat up scooter rental. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerobat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We've literally left Plubpla today and all I can say is our 4 nights here were world class! The service was exceptional as was the food - my partner agrees with the comment further down about it being the best massaman curry shes ever had! We stayed in villa 1 with the private plunge pool that we sat in at nights looking at the starry sky. The staff couldnt do anymore for you from the considerate gardening to the front of house staff all are amazing. This was our final stop of three weeks in Thailand and we wanted luxury and style I havent been dissapointed at all. Definatly go on a boat trip, its less of a free for all than other trips on the southern islands. Hire one of the on site motorbikes and go and track down smugglers cove the most beautiful beach i've found yet. And walk out onto thw rocks directly in front of the hotel and watch the sunset breathtaking! If I could rate Plupla higher I would. Thankyou for an amazing conclusion to our Thailand adventure.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liambendelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed on Koh Mak at the Plubpla Beach Resort for 4 nights after 3 nights on Koh Kood (at the Koh Kood Beach Resort which I highly recommend) I liked the walkways in between rooms (would be dangerous if you had too many drinks ;-) and the room itself was fantastic. Very clean, the most comfortable bed we had in Thailand and very nicely decorated in the bedroom and bathroom. Our room had a sitting bench along our back window and our room looked to the beach between to other bungalows. The bedroom had 2 showers so you had your option to shower inside or outside however the outside shower had very very low water pressure so we didn't really use it. The room overall was fantastic.
The grounds are very manicured and pretty - one night we heard a little knock on our door and we opened the door to find two little girls (i think other guests) who handed us a little bowl of jasmine flowers and the perfume was beautiful in our room. The pool was very clean and very pretty if you got there early enough to get a seat. there did not seem to be enough seats for everyone which was a little disappointing so one day we went down to the beach but found it had a ton of sand fleas so we couldn't really sit there. The ocean water seemed quite murky so it also wasn't the best swimming spot. we rented a moped from the hotel and most days we went to other beach locations on the island and came back to the hotel for an afternoon swim which was nice.
The restaurant was pretty good - there are a few small items available for you to help yourself but you have a choice of 3 or so breakfast options in the included breakfast which were quite nice. We had lunch and a dinner there and all items we ordered were very tasty.
The staff are very friendly but not overly engaged. I guess overall i found the feeling of this hotel more "formal" than is my preferred style so the staff seem to be there more to "serve" you vs engage with you.
Overall, it was formal but not unfriendly, the pool was great, very pretty and clean, but not enough deck space or seats (and some were broken), and the beach was undesirable…. Overall I liked the resort and we had a great stay but there are a few small things to consider depending on what you are looking for.
extra note - we took a snorkelling trip with Koh Mak Divers that we really enjoyed. I chatted a lot with owner Steve from England but has been on Koh Mak for 18 years - he is a wealth of knowledge about the island and we really enjoyed our trip and recommend their service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TipsyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Other reviewers were very positive tribute on Plub Pla. I certainly agree with them. Fine bungalows, nice swimming pool, beautiful surroundings. The staff is very helpful.
However, I would choose another location for subsequent stays. Indeed, there are other beaches like Ao Kao, where the opportunities for hiking, swimming, kayaking are greater. And even more restaurants in the area can be found.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had an amazing stay. We stayed in room 2. It had a jacuzzi and is right on the beach. The infinity pool of the resort has a great view of the ocean. The staff are really sweet people. Always ready to help. Really mellow place. Want to take out the sea kayaks? Go ahead. Want to have dinner by the pool? Sure! Late for your snorkeling trip pickup? The staff will run to your room and grab you.

Prices were really fair. If you are wanting the absolute highest level of food, maybe this is not the place. For us the food was perfect. Excellent breakfast lunches and dinners.

Don't forget to try snorkeling. Or even diving.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angiejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my family just stayed 4 days at Plub Pla and we had an awesome stay. My wife had her birthday there and the staff arranged for a cake at dinner free of charge.

They also arranged "rice lamps" that you light on fire and that fly into the sky. They made my wifes birthday a night to remember

The owner went great lengths to make sure we were having a great time. We were traveling with another family that also had kids so he would give the kids different toys to play with. At night he would collect different animals from the beach to show the kids.


All the staff were really friendly specially to our 1.5 year old son.

The pool was very nice and really good for kids as it had a shallow section for them to play in.


The food in the restaurant was really nice and I ordered a Massaman curry one night that was probably the best one I ever had.

All in all it was s great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danieliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Mak
1.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
10.5 mi away
Koh Kood Beach Resort
Koh Kood Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Ko Kut
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#11 of 15 in Ko Mak
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat

Address: 50 / 5 Moo 2, Ao Pai Beach, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the most beautiful resort on Koh Mak, even by the other resort owners on the island. All beach, sea view Villas on a serene private beach. Amazing endless swimming pool with jacuzzi seat and always enough sun chairs and tables in the restaurant. The Koh Mak Retreat is truly a place where you can get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing