We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Moon Villa Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$144
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
85
35
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
35
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachexplore the islandstaff was very friendly and helpfulthe food is greatmodern designdecent sizeperfect placewhite beachrent a bikeday bedcouple of nightsevery morningfree kayaksother placesthai massagesmall islandstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked this place purely on fantastic trip adviser reviews, and we're pretty disappointed. It is the furthest reort away from Laem Nhob pier so a bumpy taxi ride ensued. We travelled with 2 other couples, a Belgian couple - Jean Pierre you have made us laugh every day, so many thanks go to you x and a Swedish couple, we all booked through Internet booking agency after reading the trip advisor reviews. We got chatting at the pier near Trat whilst waiting for the Leelawadee speedboat, an hours ride in a wind tunnel!!
The staff are the same as my teenage boys, and struggle to keep up with demand! They were all very lovely, and spoke quite good english, but seemed to arrive later & later for breakfast each morning and were better at practising yoga than waiting on tables. Thai time... Everything in slow motion!
The villas, if you can call them that, are actually single rooms on small concrete blocks. They come as "full moon" literally right onto rocks, trees & beach, at 2,500 THB these are not cheap, for dirty walls, rusty shower & tap, the smell of sewerage in the bathroom is unbearable. The mirror is not attached to the wall, it is just leant against it, so is dangerous. Underneath the sink, the pipes have leaked all over the wall. The ants were on their super highway trail next to the toilet constantly.
The bedroom has no mirror, no wardrobe, hooks, no hanging rail of any shape or form. There are shelves by the door, but the top one was so dusty it may never have been cleaned. The walls are very dirty. There is another ant super highway each side of the table. On moving the pillows on the bed there was a small lizard running back & forth, no harm but lol, a shock! Every corner of the room is dirty. The concrete floor was dirty. It has only been open 2 years and definitely needs a really good clean. The patio doors onto the terrace do not shut properly, a big gap inbetween for insects to get through. The roof area is not all finished, so again, gaps for insects to get in.
The half moon villas are in a row behind and are smaller but similar to full moon. Cheaper @ 2,200 THB. Not as much but far less privacy and not as good!
Black moon for some reason are placed directly behind half moon, so don't have a very good view at all, 1,500 THB.
The resort itself is indeed the only one on the island with red sand, this in itself is no problem, but only has the sun for the morning. If you swim/snorkel to the left of the beach there is white sanded beach which is very beautiful, and fantastic views over to another small island. You can also walk/cycle or moped down the pathway to the right as you leave the resort. The fallen trees make for fantastic photos, and beautiful shells.
We hired mopeds to explore the island and ended up past the primitive village on the cycle track through the jungle which was an hilarious experience! Ray Mears come on down!! The island is not very big, a lot of it is still not developed & it's pot luck whether you end up on another much nicer resort than yours, where the beach and grounds are swept daily lol! Or in contrast you can come out at a rubbish dump mangrove swamp!!
The food, which is what we all came for, as the reviews set our mouths watering, is actually fantastic. A huge choice, always very tasty. We also ordered the day before; the grill choices of shrimps and assorted kebabs, these were the highlight of the holiday, with strong garlic sauce, delicious. Again not cheap, and only downside, being charged 20 THB extra for a couple of slices of lime. Also highly recommended is the pancakes teamed up with banana fritters and honey!! Having said this, the food has been fantastic wherever we have eaten, both on and off this island!
The aircon has a bright light on it, which kept me awake at times, and certainly woke me in the night. The shower was the worst we have encountered, always cold water, never even warm. It was sometimes just a dribble of water. With so much sun, we don't understand why solar showers not used, this could be so cheap to set up. Next time we will bring our own camping shower and then won't have to put up with the smell, I can't stress how bad this is!
The first night we arrived there was a power cut, we think with the candles in the room this is the norm. Thank goodness we have torches! The tree stumps that are left in the ground are a real trip hazard.
The general maintenance & cleanliness of this resort leaves so much to be desired. Simple things would make a world of difference.
Considering the quiet resort we recently stayed in at Pattaya was built the same time as this, and we rated better than 5 star, this just simply is not looked after.

Room Tip: Full moon 1st choice, or half moon 2nd. Would not want black moon!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Calamitymaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Oud stay at little moon villas was something we will never forget! We stayed in one of the smallest of their perfect houses. Everything was very clean and neat. The staff only entered the room when we gave them the key, wich was very reassuring. Every morning there was a fresh and clean beach towel waiting for us on our little porch.
We loved the nothingness on the beach and the absolute chilled out atmosphere at the bar/ restaurant. The best thing of all was the food! Thanks to the best cook of Thailand is our opinion.

Tank you Little Moon staff for the great time we had in november. And for the minivan you arranged for us to go back to BK to get our plane, it all worked out and we eventually arrived the very same evening although it was an exhausting long trip to khao sok
Gretatings from The Netherlands

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

After spent 4 nights here i have to say that Little Moon is worth every penny. Its very good value for money! We had the half moon villa, its basic and you have the jungel right outside your door. The resturant has very good food! This a place for nothing but relaxing, but the beach they have is by far not the best on the Island of Koh Mak.
We went to the white sand beach, a 10 - 15 min drive by motorbike. Much better.
The only thing that bothered Us was that the toilet had a urinal stench to it. I think it had a leak, and the water from the tap was not nice, it smelled really bad. So we brushed our teeth with water we got from the hotell. I think maybe 4 nights where a bit to long here. Stay 2 nights, its enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We've been at the little moon resort for a few nights and it was a pleasure. The service and the staff was excellent, they talked english fluidly and were very helpful. The rooms were amazing. Very modern design and a nice atmosphere. The food was the best we had during three weeks in Thailand. Unfortunately there is no white sand beach but you can walk or go by motorbike to several ones in a short time. Very nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungrytofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We have only been back in London for two days since our two week stay at Little Moon Villas and are both already truly missing this magical place!

The Island:
Koh Mak is absolutely lovely. It's a little larger than what I was initially expecting, but very quiet, very easy to get around and has some beautiful beaches too. The locals are very friendly, relaxed and always smiling. The roads are safe, we had a scooter for the full two weeks and for the majority of our stay, we were pretty much the only people on the roads! There isn't an awful lot to do other than relax here, which is exactly what we were looking for!

The Room:
We had a Half Moon Villa, room 2 to be exact. It was directly centre of the front row of villas. The view from our bed was like a postcard and we were woken every morning by the amazing sunrise (literally watching it rise from the comfort of our bed). The room itself was very well thought about. It has polished concrete floors which really helped to keep the room temp down. Very clean, modern and lots of room to fully unpack our cases. The bathroom and toilet were also a decent size with everything new and in working order. The room also had lots of natural light and at night there were plenty of lights too. The burning oils were a lovely touch, made the room smell beautiful and were very relaxing.

The Beach:
Okay, so it isn't bright white sand, but it still has lots of charm and character. The water on first sight looked a little dark, but on closer inspection was crystal clear. It's only the red sand that makes it look dark. At low tide, the rocks to the left of the beach are exposed. You can take a little walk around to view Koh Kradad, very nice indeed. It also looks out on to Koh Kood and the main land. If the beach isn't to your liking, then don't let that put you off, a short trip to Ao Kao beach will take your breath away. We went every day to walk the full length, around a 45 minute walk.

The Resort's Grounds:
Beautifully set in lavish gardens, it looks as if the resort has grown with the surrounding nature. It feels so natural and almost untouched. It sets the mood for the whole experience. There is a huge tree in the centre of the garden which I have to say wouldn't look out of place in Ta Prohm Temple. It must have been there a very long time indeed...

The Staff:
The staff were all amazing. Some of the staff didn't speak great English, but were always there to help. It was never a struggle communicating though. The little moon team really work well together and help keep the resort ticking over perfectly. Some great characters among the team too. Kha who I think was the maintenance guy among other things was great. I never saw him without a smile on his face and his wife, who worked behind the bar was exactly the same too. They even had their son living with them on the resort who was absolutely adorable!

The Chef:
He is incredible. The food on the resort can't be matched. He soon learnt that I liked my food, so lunch became very interesting. He would bring me out dishes that weren't even on the menu and he wouldn't tell what they were until I had finished! Everything that touched my lips was divine. We had a few dishes more than once and he would change them slightly so they would taste different. I have never met anyone who enjoys cooking as much as he does. One dish to mention is the squid stuffed with minced pork and lemongrass...WOW, just WOW! An absolute legend!

Klong or Gong:
He has only been working there for a couple of months, but maybe has more enthusiasm about the resort and the island than anyone else. He was a tourist to the island on many occasions before and decided to quit his job in Bangkok and start work as the manager of Little Moon. He speaks fluent English and is full of knowledge about the island. Always there to help, he even took me out for a tour of the places that only the locals know about on the island. He was great company and made our stay so easy.

The Owners:
Pat and his wife are two of the nicest people I have ever met. You can see straight away that they have a great relationship with their staff, it's as if they are one big family. A story that sums them up is during our stay there were difficulties finding soft shell crab, something which I really love. Klong knew that I really wanted to see what the Chef would do with it so told Pat and his wife. They were popping back to bangkok for a couple of days towards the end of our stay and when they returned, Pat had personally picked up some soft shell crab just for me! and to top that his wife had bought us a little christmas present which was the burning oil from the room which she knew we loved! Where else would you get service like this?

In all honesty, if you are thinking of visiting Koh Mak there is quite simply only one place to stay. Like I said, it is absolute perfection and the Little Moon Team will definitely be seeing us again!!

Room Tip: Half Moon Villas 2 is great!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews