We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place bad staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Moon Villa Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Nora, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place bad staff”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Quiet and god location if you want just to relax and take it easy.
Too bad they don't have a clue how too take care of tourists.
The Thai staff I ok, but the farang is just terrible. I hope they fire him as soon as possible. And the food I typical tourist stuff with no taste at all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    31
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
79
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I came to this island for the first time in life.
Travel with the excitement I felt back to being a kid again.
When four-wheel drive pickup truck driven into the jungle
and fought parked send me the Lobby.
Oh God, this is definitely heaven
I booked a 2-bedroom house for the family.
We start here with a lazy morning.
Chef invited me to a small boat.
To buy fish from the fishing boats of the locals.
Dinner of the day was the most delicious dinner.
We started the day with a canoe paddle
teased our daughter to eat ice cream
on the other side of the island.
It is far, but not more than the efforts of a child wants to eat ice cream.
We paddled back to the hotel
A daughter asleep in the back.
And two daughters, boating far ahead.
Our boat was capsized at sea.
Probably the ice cream we eat. Make the boat harder
4 year old daughter woke up
And complained that I do not have the ability to paddle.
She began to swim to the island by herself
Two other daughters Chose not to rescue us.
They were quickly ferried to the other people to help us.
It is a very good decision
Ships of the island to get us within 5 minutes.
It's the most fun in life
We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Depending on where else u stayed in Thailand, you will most likely value this place very much. ITs not a five star resort from a big brand chain of course, and hence there might be a few things that you think could be better, but when u taste the amazing food they serve and sleep uninterrupted without dogs barking, or traffic noise (land or sea-based) and wake up to a gentle breeze blowing into your room, you know that any little issue you worried over before, is really not worth worrying for.

We stayed four nights, and wished we could stay longer, but had already booked on Koh Kut afterwards and couldnt cancel that. The staff are all super helpful and friendly - and very hard working! They all work an average of 15 hrs a day, cleaning, cooking, dealing with requests, helping to book things, make calls, translate, clean the beach. And do all this with a smile and no day off. There was seven staff here when we stayed, running a resort with 13 bungalows.
Hats off!

We stayed at half moon bungalow, which is very spacious and not the rickety type you can find elsewhere in Thailand. It has hot water, AC, towels, beach towels, daily bottled water, and a great bed, not too soft, so perfect for people like me with back issues.

The terrace is a nice place to watch the beach, read and relax in general. Strong wifi means you can enjoy internet (free) in almost every corner of the Little Moon grounds.

The beach is not the most picturesque, but what are u here for? taking pics of the beach or relaxing without any jet ski or motorboat to interrupt you. And this beach has no sandflies... yep! no little buggers that bite you to pieces, like on some of the other beaches.

Choice of ala carte breakfast is served from 7-11, which you choose the evening before. Didnt try all 6 of them, but liked the scrambled egg, chicken, salad best. All come with fresh juice and coffee/tea. Talking about the food. This really is one of the most delicious places to eat. Its not the cheapest on Koh Mak, but neither is it expensive and the freshness, taste and great service really put it above the rest... yum yum!!
If you the owner of this place (a guy from Bangkok), please make sure you pay and treat your staff well, they do an amazing job! And don't ever let go of your chef!!

They rent scooters at 350 bhat/24hrs (at time of writing this) and kayaks and snorkel gear are all free to use. They also have plenty of nice comfy hammocks, between the palm trees. Swimming can be a challenge at low tide, but is fine all other times, when the water on the beach is about 1-1.5m deep for about 1km out.

Finally I would like to suggest some potential improvements. Although the east of Koh Mak tends to have more wind then elsewhere on the island, it would be great to have one or two windows that could be covered in mosquito net. At present neither the four big windows or the big sliding doors have any netting, nor do the small two bathroom windows. Whilst there is AC, and no need to have windows open, it would be nice to have that option, as sometimes its nice to have hear the ocean and breeze, if not too hot. In the end we had the windows open at night, and without lights on inside it wasnt a problem for mosquitoes.

Whilst we stayed an increasing number of couples with kids came to stay, and whilst this is inevitable and of course normal, I would suggest to have couples with kids stay in one part, so that others are not too disturbed by small babies. Might not be feasible to do, but just an idea

It is indeed a little gem and like others say, I hope to be back again next time I go to Thailand.

Room Tip: loved our villa No 4, as it has some geranium growing around the balcony ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault St. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Well it's been 3 years since we first came to Little Moon. We returned to Thailand this year and just had to return to Little Moon. As before the staff are wonderful, service is excellent and Mr. Rueng is still performing wonders in the kitchen. Had a wonderful, relaxing, quiet 4 days. Will definately do it again.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Secluded little hotel on beautiful undiscovered island! The best choice for couples to relax! Harmoniously designed environment, authentic bungalows. Very nice staff! Restaurant offers great food, great service and great Chef! More Thai food is tasted for the first time here and we loved them all!
For my part, I was glad that it wasn’t small child nearby (the island, Koh Mak itself was relatively child-free), it was the perfect peace!
We loved Soda and Tofu, had them complete the picture!
And here asked me to marry my partner, I couldn’t imagine a more perfect place for this occasion!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szolnok, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice staff! Natural resort in a romantic enviroment with authentic bungalows. Simple style but friendly and familiar. Excellent restaurant, amazing food! During dinners there are always cool relaxing - not too loud - music. Highly recommended especially for couples who desire for solitude!
Unfortunately the last few hundred meters road to the resort doesn't sealed - but looks like soon it will be! Maybe an extra cabinet or at least some coat-hanger would be great in the room (we got a black moon villa).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisztian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were recommended Little Moon by a local and went for a meal to be extremely delighted with what we found. Very attentive staff and the tastiest food we feel on the island... The deep fried banana deserts were mouth watering. The setting is so romantic and relaxing by the sea with the moon rising up and reflecting on the water. My partner then booked a surprise meal for my birthday there on Boxing Day where they had pre ordered huge king prawns and BBQ skewers followed by the most delicious chocolate and banana birthday cake. We will definitely be returning to little moon when we return to koh mak.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
2.4 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
2.6 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
3.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Moon Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Moon Villa Resort

Property: Little Moon Villa Resort
Address: Moo 1, Aow Ka-Noon | 23120, Ko Mak, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Mak
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Moon Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Moon Villa Resort is one of the most unique resorts on Koh Mak Island. At the moment, we have seven cool little villas located on a private beach surrounded with natural plantation (everything from big trees to mangrove forests), to bring you the most rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Moon Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Moon Villas Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing