We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The way it used to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Ko Mak B&B and Inns
1 review
“The way it used to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is amazing. It's becasue the great location you can choose if you want to go swimming at the pool or in the sea. Incredable! I was there with my boyfriend in juni 2013.. he had an surprise in corporation with the manager just for me. We had an unbelievable dinner for 2 at the beach, with candles, personal waiter, champagne.. everything!! It was so romantic and the manager from this resort was lovely all the time we spend at the resort. So guys.. if you are going there with your girlfriend, you deffinatly have to do this romantic dinner at the beach! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c-iiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location is excellent as it fronts a glorious long white sand beach with warm clear water for swimming. The service couldn't be faulted - every request was attended to immediately, even when we came in late at night and couldn't figure out how to get the aircon going. The meals are reasonably priced and tasty. And the bungalows are bright and airy with a gorgeous rooftop lounge and dining area. We're looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I have stayed at room single Kingsize bed deluxe..room was quite big,nice bathroom although some of the furniture a little bit old and no telephone inside the room,(undermaintainance Manikar beach resort - Palm beach Resort).Pool was really nice facing to the beach..Service Staffs really friendly,but need a good training about product knowledge,Menus of food not that many but still value for money( very big potion).about food quality,some of it the chef make it shortcut and precook,especially the curry chicken..the curry was ok,but the chicken is hard n dry and using chicken breast-ala carte,Breakfast also not very many variety of food(buffet)..overall comment of food is average,Restaurant side (waiters) very good service,Reception side-good..only the security person,a little bit arrogant and never greet us(me and my wife) and i have to call him 'Boss' when i want to ask about the resort info LOL.Maybe he act like that because we are local guest..idk,i wont make that is an issues..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbannyChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Got a very nice deal as walk in. It was late march so low season was setting in.
Bungalows in mint condition, with all modern amenities, in beautiful settings. Staff/owner relaxed and friendly. Small but excellent menu and compliments to the local cook.
Theres not that much to do around Koh Mak, but thats kind off the point - Palm Beach is a perfect place to do nothing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randomtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Located about a 20-30 min walk along the beach from the main centre or a 50 bht pp taxi ride but the area is a lot nicer and there are a few restaurants near the main entrance to the resort. The rooms are of a good size with a roof terrace which was a good place to get out of the mid-day sun, one thing which would improve it would be a kettle for that early morning coffee. The restaurant served fantastic food. The beach is small but sandy with plenty of sun loungers. If you walk around the corner past the Ao Kao resort you have one of the best beaches on the island but I thought Ao Kao looked a bit worn. The island itself is very quite which is exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George8052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Sometimes you take a risk on a hotel, this one did not turn out great for us. We were spoilt on our previous stop on our trip- Shantaa on Koh Kood. When we arrived at Palm Beach, it was cute enough- well manicured and presented grounds, pool, funky 2 storey villas. But on inspection of the room, noticed there was only a fitted sheet and 2 pillows on the bed (and really tacky/naff bedlinen at that). We assumed there were covers in a cupboard somewhere and went out to explore and have dinner. When we retuened for an early night, we could not find any other sheet/blanket/quilt though? Very odd? We had to go to the bar and ask a staff member, they gave us a quilt in a plastic bag (no fresh cover on it) and seemed amused we wanted metal coils- as you lied down, the springs poked into your spine. We were really annoyed and after trying to fall asleep- decided to contact our next hotel on Koh Chang and check in 2 nights early. When we told the Manager in the morning- he was peturbed, but he remained calm and helpful- he could not understand how we could be unhappy?? Did other people sleep OK here? For the price (3500 baht) we expect a lot more. The bed is the most important part of a hotel room- bad nights sleep= unhappy guests! We were not fussed about what we saw of Koh Mak either- skip it and go to Koh Kood instead- it is amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RenaiNeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
1.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#12 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort

Property: Palm Beach Resort
Address: Ao Kao Beach, Ko Mak, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Mak
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing