We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Suwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, and cheap”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

While 'The Holiday Beach Resort may not be the best or fanciest resort on the island, it definitely has great perks due to its location and comparative price. The individual bungalows are set about 20m from the beach front and the entire property claims about 500m as 'private beach' space. The beach is accessible by other guests but this resort has prime access to it. The bungalows are cheap and the interiors reflect that. That is not to say the place is a dump. Each bungalow is fitted with en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning and a small space to hang clothing. I stayed in one of the smaller and cheaper bungalows while my friends stayed in a bigger bungalow for 300 extra a night. That extra 300 got them a bigger bed, significantly better bedding and a small wardrobe.

The food that they serve at the restaurant, although overpriced as with the rest of the island, was excellent. Best Pad Thai i have had in Thailand so far.

The owner, Pom or Bom, was very helpful. A few days before I was due to arrive he called to suggest that I pre-book the speedboat to the island as it might be full (I visited the island on a Thai holiday weekend). He also booked the speedboat back for us as well. The boat fees we paid with the bill at the end of our stay.

The 'free breakfast' they provide is rather pitiful, 2 slices of toast, jam, butter and a glass of fruit juice. The tea and coffee is free though. Wi-fi is free and only accessible in the public area. But it is intermittent and not great. Don't count on it too much.

The beach that fronts the resort is nice, there is a small island just off the main island of Koh Mak and if you get up early enough you are able to walk to the small island as the tide is very low. The beach is clean and the water free of human debris. We rented kayaks from the resort and paddled to the islands. There is an abandoned boat floating 1 - 2 km out to sea and we were able to paddle up to it and climb aboard. We also rented scooters from the resort as well and explored the very small island. There are bicycles available to rent as well.

The island was quiet as we went in the 'Green season' or the 'off-peak' season. Another perk, in my opinion, was that the owners and hotel staff did not bother us at all. They were friendly and the owner was keen to strike up a conversation (his English is good) but for the most part they left us to our own devices. Very few 'hotel rules' as well.

On the downside, there are sandflies that come out in the afternoon and bite you to death. Take repellent! And there was no room service. I guess you would pay extra for that.

Room Tip: If you don't care about your room, just treating it as a place to sleep then get the cheaper one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    34
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend as a part of the 'relaxed portion' of the trip having spend time on Koh Chang previously.
It was one of my faviourite thailand spots, the hosts were great and collected 2 rather hungover guests for a quick drive back to the resort. The resort is the last along the stretch and is about a 10 minute walk down to the larger resorts with bars and shops. (very quiet island but good Scuba sites and beaches)

The accomodation was clean and simple with 'wet' room bath rooms. We had a simple room with a/c - which we recommend.
The little balcony with seats was lovely to watch the frisbee from (if you were too lazy to play) or just sit and enjoy the view of the sea.
Food was good quality but the included breakfast was very basic. Dinner and lunch menu cooked to a very good standard.

We enjoyed spending hours eating, reading and playing cards in the restaurant/ bar which faces the sea. The owners joined us some evenings and the whole atmoshphere was very relaxed and friendly. I could easily have spent a lot more time here.

We popped next door to eat and the food there was also good.
We hired bikes to go to the temple last minute and nothing had to be arranged to far in advance with the hosts calling up whoever we needed.
The thai cooking course they offer is fantastic.

Good value - for the hosts alone it is worth paying a little bit more than for other options on the Island.

Really recommend!

Only issue....
*Problems with sandflies! - I covered myself in cocoanut oil but still had about 30 bites on my legs after a week!*

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDUK222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinjarra, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Picture post card indeed. A wonderful spot. We had a large room on the beach. No TV - that has got to be a plus. The room met our requirements of clean, quiet and comfortable. One minor negative was the curtains were not sun block, so you had the sunrise belting into your room. We just hung our towels on the curtain rails at night to overcome this very minor problem. I reckon we will be back one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is my 4th trip and each time it gets better and better. Having travelled the world, I feel blessed to come to this truly mellow best keep secret in the world. Beautiful houses with balconies and hammocks overlook a beautiful lawn and look directly out onto turquoise blue, serene ocean views. The island is simply beautiful, and the owners of this place make you feel truly at home. I feel like family, and to be welcomed by Dara and Pom just hits the heart spot. There are miles of empty white sand beaches, and red dirt roads to cycle across the tiny island exploring. Apart from a serious game of frisbee in the afternoons, this place is the perfect antidote to the noise and chaos of the tourist islands. Beautiful fresh food, chillout vibe and kindness from the moment you arrive. Ssssh.... dont tell anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojotiger321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

There will of course be other cheaper rooms on this island but it was by no means expensive, we looked out onto an empty beach with postcard views of palm trees.
We visited at low season and it was deserted which was perfect. Romantic and idyllic would be the location with friendly staff. Breakfast was free and I actually had pretty decent cup of tea which is no small achievement abroad!
Thoroughly recommend the island and in particular this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swailes_from_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have stayed at Holiday Beach Resort for 3 nights in the Standard Bungalow with Air Conditioning, I really liked the location just on the beach, quiet place, very good to recharge your batteries. Breakfast is basic, 2 toast with jam and butter, coffee or tea and a juice orange or pineapple. You can get cooked breakfast for 180 thb. Holiday Beach Resort is only 5 min walk from the Makathanee Pier. The owner Pom and his wife Dara are very friendly. Food in the restaurant is good, I do recommend the coconut shake. It is great place to relax

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Pom and Dara have succeeded in creating a resort which is entirely relaxed, with a wonderful atmosphere. Food is incredible and the warmth that the staff show to you during your stay is the best that we have had in Thailand. Bungalows are located on a lovely stretch of beach which, from walking the length of the beach, we thought was the cleanest - with little or no sandflies. Bungalows themselves are delightful, hammocks for relaxing everywhere - and Pom can help you to sort anything you need.

We only stayed two nights, but could have stayed a whole month - will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.2 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#6 of 15 in Ko Mak
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#13 of 15 in Ko Mak
151 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Hideaway
Bamboo Hideaway
#4 of 15 in Ko Mak
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Beach Resort
Address: 66 / 1 Moo1, Ko Mak 23000 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing