We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Try Hard But...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islanda Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Islanda Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Try Hard But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at Islanda Resort Hotel from December 19-29 and have mixed feelings.

Firstly, as others have pointed out, this is not really a resort. It has about a dozen rooms, a small pool and a restaurant. For Koh Mak standards I suppose that qualifies as a resort but if you are used to large resorts with fancy everything you won't find it here or anywhere on Koh Mak. That doesn't mean Koh Mak isn't a great island to visit - it is. There are some lovely places to eat, swim, drink etc but Koh Mak has not been built up like the over run islands in the south or even Koh Chiang for that matter so just know that before heading here.

This hotel is very expensive, especially for Koh Mak standards. Is it worth it? I suppose it depends on the person. They claim to be offering more here than elsewhere which is true on one hand but not the other. A few things here are worth noting. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff do a great job of keeping it that way. Also, it is new so its appearance is still bright and well kept. The view is amazing as it sits atop a hill with a view of the entire bay. Is it the nicest hotel on Koh Mak? Probably. Is it worth the extra money? You decide.

I should point out that Islanda Resort is not near the beach. You will have to walk ten minutes or just rent a scooter as we did for our stay here. The hotel rents scooters for a very reasonable price.

The staff are very nice and always greet you with a smile. Mostly, they will try very hard to accommodate you but there are instances where they don't quite cut it. When we were here it was peak season and very hot. This means 30 degrees and we were paying $200 a night. This is a lot of money for Koh Mak. For that money I would expect certain privileges, one being the ability to leave my air conditioning on all day if I want to. They would not allow this. When leaving your room your key card comes with you which cuts power of to everything in your room. If you want to charge your devices or leave the AC on you are out of luck. I got another card from the staff at the front desk and left it in the slot when we left the room to leave the power and AC on. I discussed it with a number of staff and explained to them that when we returned to our room the temperature inside was much hotter than the already extremely high temperatures outside and that it took almost an hour for our room to get down to a comfortable temperature. They explained that the power for air conditioning cost money and that it was more environmentally responsible to keep it off. Really! Firstly, for $200 a night we should be able to have the AC on 24 hours a day if we want. Secondly, I don't need to be lectured on environmental matters, which was just an excuse for them trying to increase profits.

The restaurant food was outstanding and the vista from the restaurant was spectacular. However, the drinks at the restaurant are a lot more money than other places on Koh Mak, which would have been fine if they were better than other places. They were not, in fact the mixed drinks were some of the worst we had on Koh Mak. The food is also priced a little high but that didn't bother us because it was excellent. It should be noted that the breakfast here is not very good at all. They try to make western food at breakfast but fail horribly. In addition when we ordered just fruit for breakfast it was not fresh and had clearly been cut and prepared the previous day/s and kept in the fridge. The coffee is instant as it is most places on Koh Mak.

Here is a big error that you should be aware of. They made a massive administrative error upon our checking out that would have cost us $1000 if I had not caught it and been very insistent as to what had occured. What had happened was upon checking in the owner/manager (who is a very sweet and lovely woman) charged us the remaining amount owed for our stay in advance. That's fine. Upon checking out, however, she had left the island to go to Bangkok and the employee in charge wanted to charge us again for the room! I explained to him that we had paid already and he said there was no record of this. He tried calling the manager and was unable to reach her. There was much confusion as he spoke with other staff and I showed him my credit card records online. While this was all going on we were supposed to be en route to catch our boat to leave the island but we were held up at the hotel taking care of this mess. Finally they decided to not charge us again and drove us to the dock but this took a lot of time, discussion and worry. There should have been a very clear record of our payment and they had no system in place to account for that. Big, big mistake. A couple of days later the owner/manager sent a brief two sentence email apologizing.

The positives: Very nice staff, new buildings, exceptionally clean, fantastic pool, great food, great view
The negatives: Price, administrative errors, proximity to beach, no power or AC while away from room, expensive drinks

One final note is while on Koh Mak beaches you must wear insect repellent or the sand flies will leave you worse for wear.

Even with our feelings about what was wrong or could be improved at Islanda we enjoyed our stay there and had a great time on Koh Mak. I would not pay that price to stay there again but probably would if they lowered their rates.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stryker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Don't be fooled by the name: this is a hotel, not a resort! We stayed at this hotel end of december 2012 with 2 families for 7 nights. I have to say that we didn't like our stay here. ( and we've been to Thailand many times and stayed in numerous resorts all over the country and never had a bad feeling about any of them) Altough the hotel is nice, rooms are clean, people are friendly, nice views.. it misses a soul. This is a hotel you would stay at when you're in Bangkok not when you're on a tropical island. Then you like to stay in a place with a chill atmosphere and with a nice vibe, something this hotel doesn't have at all. The hotel is NOT suitable when you're travelling with kids ( our kids were 4 years old). The area next to the pool is tiny, it has 6 beach chairs and then the area is completely full. There is no garden where they can play, no facilities for kids at all. Every morning after breakfast we actually 'fled' from the hotel and didn't return untill late in the evening, just to be away from the hotel.
Food: food in the restaurant is ok. Nice and tasty. Breakfast is really poor. Always the same, hardly any variety and the first 4 days they served everything cold ( cold eggs, cold toast,...). For this price range, I definitely expect more. Like I mentioned before: this would be a good hotel in Bangkok, it is not a nice place to stay at when you're on a beautifull island with kids. Maybe the hotel should have a ' no-kids' policy... This wouldn't be such a bad idea.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tine721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were lucky enough to meet and have a chat with the owner, who designed the hotel herself. She was very passionate about making sure that her guests' stay was nothing less than perfect. The staff all seemed very happy to be working there, which is an indication that the hotel is well-run. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, even for Thailand, which is known for its hospitality. The infinity pool was gorgeous and perfect for an afternoon dip after biking around the island. Breakfast was the best we had on our two-month trip, both in quality and quantity. Dinner was also excellent. The view is amazing, and the design and style are fabulous. There are not that many rooms, which makes for a very peaceful stay. The rooms, grounds, lobby, and view actually look just like the professional pictures, which is uncommon in a hotel. We read something about having to walk up a hill, but it's only a couple minutes' walk from the town and the hill is barely even an incline. Anyway they picked us up and dropped us off at the pier for free, so you won't be dragging your bags. Can't recommend it highly enough, wish we were there now!!

Room Tip: The ocean suite has the most incredible view, from two balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LKocaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The resort is amazing. You couldn't ask for more for service and views. The hotel is not right by the beach, but the distance is very small and you'll love the infinity pool.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidihoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The view from the restaurant is definately the best on the island. Really beautiful. The food in the restaurant was the best we tasted whilst on the island for 5 nights. We ate here for lunch and dinner. The prices were very reasonable. We were actually staying at Good Time Resort (across the road) but wished we had stayed here. The resort is new clean and well manicured. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. They let our kids swim in the pool whilst we were in the restaurant. The pool had an amazing view. We can't comment on the rooms except to say that they are less than a year old. The location is great, 5-10 min walk to either beach, which is ideal here. Accommodation right on the beach isnt perfect as there are sandflies which can be annoying all the time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Höllviken, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed with our children for four nights in dec 2011 and are very happy about this hotell. Service very good, the staff friendly and helpfull. The view from the hotell are Fantastic.The food were great and pool area very nice. It took about 5 minutes to walk to the beach, but it is a steep hill. The hotel will drive you to the beach if you want to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We are spending end of 2011 at Islanda resort.

The hotel is new (opening on April 2011) , very clean, and nicely furnished, and have a amazing view of the sea and the island especially from the swimming pool and restaurant.

The staff is really friendly and helpful even if some does speak English.

The 18 rooms are confortable and quiet but bit small ( except for 'ocean suits') and not enought storage especially for a couple who stayed a week. The balconies are large and pleasant :
garden view rooms are on the basement (don't know if any balcony).
ocean rooms, on the 1st and swimming pool level
deluxe ocean rooms, on 2nd and last floor (we stay @ D04)
ONLY 3 rooms: the ocean view SUITS have a direct ocean view. For the others you have a view only from the corner of the balcony.

If you expect an hotel on the beach is not the good one, the beach is at few minute walk by the road but if you look for a nice scenery on height this is the place !

Buffet breakfast (included on the price) is simple and not very various.
Food is ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abacabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.0 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
0.2 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#12 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islanda Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islanda Resort Hotel

Property: Islanda Resort Hotel
Address: 1/12 Moo 2 | Tambon Koh Mak, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Islanda Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Islanda Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing