We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ao Pong Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
31
28
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
28
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachchill placebeautiful placesurrounding islandsthe ownerstandard bungalownice beachevery morningsand fliesmichalhammocksmotorbikerentseapierresortmosquitoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for couple of nights and really liked it, it is very private small place to chill, really quiet. I think around 6 bungalows. Beach is not sandy, do not forget to bring shoes for swimming, but what is cool, if you go snorchelling (Michal - the owner will lend You snorchelling kit for free) You will see beautiful sea life just couple of metres away from the shore. Sea is very peaceful on this side of the island. Best sea food restaurant on the island is just in the walking vicinity, same as temple or massage place. Food in Ao Pong was tasty too, Riam is an excellent cook. Beds are hardest, I have ever slept on, but surprisingly I got good night sleep every night, mosquito net included.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drissha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If a quiet peaceful place is what you are looking for, and you want to avoid all the tourist traps, Ao Pong will be just the place for you. Michal and Riam, who runs the place are absolutely wonderful people, they are very helpful and grounded, and Riam is one of the best chefs on the island. The resort is a loner, with a private beach and a walking distance of 20-30 minutes to the other beaches with the other resorts, not much happens around this part of the island, but it really depends on what you want... If nice staff, quiet and nice surroundings and good food and bananashakes is what you want, this is the place to stay (Michal has a great taste in music, and plays it all day in the cozy lounge.) Besides the Seafood restaurant, the bakery and the temple are in 5 minute walking distance.
The Bungalows are the only thing keeping it from 5 stars, but again with everything else so good, and the fair price, it is absolutely acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This time Tripadvisor really backfired on us. We read the one review of bad experience but thought it would be different as our vacation was during the peak season. It was not different.

We had booked 5 nights in superior bungalow but left after first night. (And still had to pay for 2,5 nights). Location was nice and it looked good outside but when entering the room feeling turned upside down. Room was dirty and empty and felt like you were living in the shack.

The bed was extremely hard- like you were sleeping on the floor. The blanket was full of cigarette burns and had no cover on it. The worst thing still was the pillows. They were totally covered with mold which is also a health risk. The bungalow was sealed with old plastic bags and there were insect feces every where. Toilet was quite disgusting as well.

No opportunity to get food (only some drinks) and we were even charged of drinks we were offered when arrived. The place just is not well maintained. Overall it looked like owner had stopped caring long time ago. It is not worth of money. There are a lot better places in same price range on the island. I don't mind if place I sleep in is ascetic but this was just nasty. Spend your money for something better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lauri_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to relax away from the crowds and this was it. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable with air cond, a fan and an ensuite. The bed was the hardest I have slept on, ever, yet that didn't seem to effect our sleep. When not exploring the island we relaxed on the balcony reading and snacking. On the first day of three we walked to the other side of the island, its relatively small, 1.5 hours without bother other than the heat. After that we hired a motor scooter. Most of the roads are concrete paved so riding was easy. Being further away from the other resorts was a good thing and there were enough activities nearby to keep us interested. A very good cooking class, a creatively named museum and some local shops and cafes. The staff at Ao Pong, Liem and Michal were helpful & friendly and the meals prepared by Liem some of the best we've tasted in Thailand. Part of the beach is more coral than sand requiring light shoes or sandles for easy walking and swimming. The water was warm and made for pleasant swimming. Overall we both enjoyed our stay at Koh Mak and Ao Pong.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Ok I went there in the low season, and Koh Mak is horrible then: no soul alive, everything shut down... but even then! I dont get it. Nobody mentionned that the pictures and reality have nothing in common. THat place in dirty. First we were given a bungalow with an Air Con not working, then we were changed to one with the lights not working, then back to the first one, but we ended up having to move back the sheets ourselves.
There were only 2 bungalos occupied, and often nobody from the resort around. No food offered, manage yourself to get to a restasurant.
Nobody mentions this place is next to the ferry... wow, nice view.

We had planned for 4 nights but fled after one. Relax is good, but this is death.
The person in charge was suppoed to be there at 7 am but we ended up having to walk the way back to the boat with our bags cause nobody was there. A real joke.

So maybe the place is less a disaster when the island is full of people, but even then I doubt the lack of seriousness can not be a problem anytime. Dont go there. Simple

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews