We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful place with a millon dollar view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaidaho Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Mak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thaidaho Vista Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Portimao, Portugal
1 review
“a wonderful place with a millon dollar view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

i have visited thaidaho resort in november 2012 it is a great place to stay. very central with a choice of 2 coastlines and great beaches
very good service and a great atmosphere.
the breakfast is a must and it is very difficult to leave you just want to sit there and enjoy the view.
the service is very good and you can use the wi-fi which is a great plus.

i will definetely go back there and can recommed it to anyone visiting koh mak.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I stayed in Thaidaho vista from Feb, 4 and 7. And up till now I can still remember the delicious food Allen and Kat had prepared for us, especially the dessert! So good!

The view is the best in the whole island.

Allen and Kat, helped a lot! Because one of my friend didn't catch the last boat to Koh Mak, they really helped a lot in the whole process. Thanks again.

They worte to me and gave me the detailed instruction about how to get there from Bangkok. That really helped us a lot!

If we return to Koh mak one day, of course we will stay in Thaidaho!

Room Tip: of course you'd better choose the vista room and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XiaomingZhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was at Thaidaho Vista Resort with my wife and stepson in early January 2013. We were at the end of a 3-week stay in Thailand, visiting Chiang Mai and Bangkok.

When we arrived on Koh Mak, Kat and Allen were at the dock waiting for us to come off the ferry boat. Allen had ordered a taxi. I said we can walk. He offered to take us up the 400 meters to Vista Resort one at a time on his scooter. My wife got there first, stepped on the patio, saw the view and started crying from the beauty of it all. People can say it's amazing, but, believe me this is a case of "you've got to see it to believe it". But there's much more than the view...

The hospitality, the food, the accomodations all deserve a more than excellent rating. Allen and Kat are the best and most accomodating hosts you could wish for. They do not cook dinner every night but when they do, watch out! Best Thai food in Thailand? All I can say is that it was right up there with anything else I had over three weeks there. You can have breakfast and lunch at Thaidaho every day and If you miss your coffee in Thailand, just have one of their breakfasts and Kat's coffee, WOW!

We had the famous vista room the first two nights and, yes, it is as fabulous as everyone says. But then we moved to a room on the lower level. How can you complain? You walk out and you still have that view in your face.

You can walk down to a very private beach in 5 minutes; have a Thai massage on the beach, rent a kayak and go snorkeling on your own...so much to do that I figure I should still be there. Definitely unfinished "business" for me at Thaidaho:)

If you're looking for the usual party islands like Phuket and the like, stay away, please, so we nature and calm lovers can keep Koh Mak, Thaidaho, Allen and Kat to ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Resort is at the top of the hill at nice Koh Mak island. We had a nice room (big bed + bathroom) with a view right at the beautiful bay, palm trees and other islands. There is a small cafe that you might eat something thai or american, whatever you choose. Place is clean.
Owners were rally helpfull with arranging further trip, recommending nice restaurants and places for a drink.
There is a litte walk to the beach, but still - you can rent a scooter just in the middle of the hill and go around the isnland or go to dirrefernt beaches each day. Or you can stay at the Resort and spand the day reading book in hammock.
Not too many tourists around.
Nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Narrows, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here when we stayed in January. Our deluxe room had an amazing view, the coffee was excellent and the food was great, especially the banana pancakes! Nice little island that we wish was closer to home. We stayed for 5 days and wished it could have been longer. The next time we are in Thailand, we will definitely go back to stay at Thaidaho.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank siouxdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed over Christmas and New Year, wish we could have stayed longer. Scenary from Thaidaho is very special, can sit on the terrace for hours admiring the view. Kat and Allen do an amazing job, the food and coffee are great. The rooms are clean, nice spacious bathrooms, very reasonable cost too.
Kat organised taxi from Bangkok and booked speedboat crossing too, nothing is too much trouble for Allen or Kat. Free chilled water to save on plastic waste, use of the kitchen which are nice touches.
Koh Mak is easy to get around, on foot, bicycle, scooter or taxi at 50 baht a trip. Plenty of islands to Kayak to and around, restaurants walking distance from Thaidaho. Thaidaho web site also excellent. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Vista room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickbachmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We did not stay at the guest house but dropped by for breakfast a few times to enjoy the amazing view and warm hospitality... Highly recommend the 'woodys' sets you up for the day... The coffee is also sublime (especially after a month of 3 in 1 Nescafé sachets)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
1.1 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.0 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Good Time Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaidaho Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaidaho Vista Resort

Property: Thaidaho Vista Resort
Address: 1/10 Moo 2 | Koh Mak, Ko Mak 23120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaidaho Vista Resort: a small, quaint, affordable "non-smoking" island retreat with a Million Dollar View. A small Thai guesthouse with coffee shop/cafe/pub. Perched atop Koh Mak's highest (tsunami-proof!) Hill, yet only 200 meters to the beaches and restaurants. Come enjoy one of Thailand's last unspoiled islands--and help us keep it that way! Next holiday: take a break and enjoy the Vista! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing