We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kohmak Restaurant, Steakhouse & German Bakery
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Ko Mak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Offshore Steakhouse directly on the Golf of Thailand always have a fresh breeze from the Water open daily from 8.30 am for Breakfast Lunch & Dinner. Steaks from Crocodile, Lamb, Beef, Tuna, Salmon,Pasta & Pizza,Burger, Wall'S Icecream, Bon Cafe, German beer fresh Milkshakes, International Cocktails delivery service open all year every day
Lampang, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I had baguettes and occasional cake and coffee and usually a beer everyday for the 2 weeks I was on the island. It is perfect sitting eating good bread right on the water watching not a lot happening. The owner is an interesting guy who believes in what he does and does it well,

If he left for his other restaurant the I just stayed and finished my drink, no problem.

Do yourself a favour if you are on Koh Mak visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milnerton, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great western food!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We ordered baguettes, and a schnitzel, french fries and BBQ wedges. Everything, expect the wedges, was absolutely fantastic! I have been living in Thailand for a few months and it was so great to eat western food that actually tastes like home! The owner is a German man. The menu is quite extensive as well with foods from a variety of western cuisines, such as German, Italian and American.

This is definitely a place I would visit if I were to visit Koh Mak again.

The location is quite lovely, right up near the pier. We sat on the balcony part of the restaurant overlooking the sea.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Austen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best German Restaurant in Thailand ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Incredible how this small restaurant on koh maak manages to provide authentic, reasonable prices and super delicious German food. The food was even better than in the typical German restaurants in Bangkok (bei Otto, etc).

Helpful?
Thank alexander2610_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You have to go”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a fabulous lunch here and the coffee was the best we've had in Thailand. Friendly service, laid back, beautiful view and you can check out the full menu at the website before you even get there. Wine and german beer very good and we can recommend the rib-eye steak. No need to rush at this perfect chill out place. The taxi from our accommodation was 50 baht pp. It's not too far from the Temple if you want to include that on your day out, though I would suggest Temple first as it's downhill then to Steakhouse. Excellent value for money, but you have to remember you're on a small island and this is western food which, living permanently Thailand, is what we crave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and nice view”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

You find Koh Mak Steak house, you relax can relax and enjoy your delicious Food. all we test are great, the owner from Germany offer home made bakery products and a selection of food. Nice place, friendly stuff. See you next time....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laszlo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kohmak Restaurant, Steakhouse & German Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kohmak Restaurant, Steakhouse & German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing