We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkey Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Oslo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Monkey it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

The best thing about this rather run down resort is the location. It sits right on the best part of the beach, with palmtrees sloping out over azur water.
The huts vary greatly in size and view, so make sure to get a nice one. Most of them are relatively well situated, close to the beach. Ok garden surrounds the huts. Breakfast was adeqate.

The main problem of this resort - if you can call it that - is the lack of maintenance. Things just fall apart, an few seem to care. What may have been a fun place, now only seems dated and hippie-like. The beach bar/cafe is best avoided, not least due to its not particularly friendly staff and the somewhat sloppy hygiene regime.
We were surprised to see so many guest children hanging around the beach cafe, in what looked like a stale old hippie-herbal environment, but children were well looked after, it appeared. There is a small pool for children nex to the bar.

After renting bikes and visiting some other resorts on this beautiful little island, we realised that there were several resorts which were much nicer options.
The lady that seems to run things on Monkey Island was very helpful and able, but she could benefit from some help in running things more up to date. Internet was free.

  • Liked — The location is lovely
  • Disliked — Lack of maintenance
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterCoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    44
    34
    17
    24
See reviews for
20
69
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

- good location
- nice staff
- lovely beach
- good value
- nice bar with live music
- quit and peaceful
- clean huts with sea view
- not cheap

  • Liked — sea view, location, huts, bar
  • Disliked — it's not cheap for thai standards...
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank basernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

Monkey is the best resort in Koh Mak. We have been in the Chimpanzee Hut, which is definitely the best one offered by this resort. The bungalow is nice, clean and well located. The restaurant and the bar are average. The staff is friendly while the owner is quite rude. The island is nice, despite very difficult to reach. The negative point is the beach, which is very very dirty. If you want to go to Koh Mak, I suggest a tip. There is an english guy named Stuart who is living in a bungalow 300m from the Monkey resort. He is owing a small boat, and for small money he will bring you around the island letting you discover very nice and unspoiled places.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the dirty beach
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank headaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

Hi, Its not very often I even bother to write a review but thought I let people know a few things! T the barman is the best part of the resort and he's a great guy that sings most nights in the bar, Great guy.

The resort mind, has had better days, Its now very run down with the Monkey shack restuarant being a shack! With upstairs being done up down stairs is dirty and with poor Thai and European food being offered. There's a mini pool near the Bar on the resort which is nasty! Built for kids its a joke!

The islands not bad but better stuff on Koh Kood and the fishing village on Koh Chang is a real part of Thailand with good people and good food. Be quick mind as BIG plans for KOh Chang that will make it another Package tour nasty.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vernwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Mak hotels

London NW6
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We had a very relaxing time at Monkey Island. We started off in a 2 bedroom aircon bungalow, but had to move due to an error in the booking to 2 smaller bunglaows. We then chose to have the whole family 2 adults and 2 kids under 7 in one of the smaller air con bungalows. The lack of space wasn't an issue as we were never inside other than to sleep. The bungalows are fine, not amazing, and a little dark, but as all our time was spent on the beach or on the small verandah in a hammock it really was rarely a problem. The beach was about 10 meters away with loads of palm trees for shade. We spent 2 great weeks doing very littlle. The food at Monkey Island was generally the best on Ao Kao beach, if you like Thai food, we tried everywhere several times. There is diving and snorkelling by boat, which is ok, but not the best in Thailand. The kids loved it and didn't miss any of the trappings of a more commerical resort or Island. We were looked after very well by the staff and would all love to return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark Interior and bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo_HA_HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Mak hotels
0.7 mi away
Ao Kao White Sand Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Koh Mak Resort
Koh Mak Resort
#7 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seavana Beach Resort Koh Mak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Plubpla Koh Mak Retreat
0.4 mi away
Islanda Resort Hotel
Islanda Resort Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
Koh Mak Cococape Resort
#12 of 15 in Ko Mak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Island Resort

Property: Monkey Island Resort
Address: 63/6 Tumbol, Ko Mak, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Mak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Ko Mak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Monkey Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Island Hotel Koh Mak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing