We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panahar”
Review of Panahar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panahar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Panahar”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have used this resturant many, many times for take aways. We have never had a bad meal. When we lost their menu, I went to visit them. The decor is amazing with neon light Indian glas portraits. I am making a point to dine there. This comes highly recommended for food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The owner and staff are always friendly. The special chicken naga and the kebab cocktail-e-bahar are some of the best Indian dishes I have had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexjohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“consistent”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

the staff are always attentive and chatty when you go there and the food stays at a consistenly good standatd

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Indian food.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have eaten inside and have used them a couple of times for take away. My wife and myself have eaten at several Indian restaurants over the last 10 or so years. Why the low rating? Food was just average and the cost for a takeaway was to me way overpriced. We ordered just enough for 2 people and the bill was £25. Other places we have got a takeaway was around £20 and that was with more food ordered. I will never go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank festers-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“tasty dishes and good prentation”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I found this restaurant after someone recommended this to me. I think that it was overall a very good experience and I plan to go back.
The dishes were well cooked, good taste and they have a good variety. My choice was to try different dishes in order to enjoy different flavors. Many people do not enjoy the Indian cuisine and spices obviously this is unlike any of the Thai or Chinese cuisine. I find each of them different and spectacular in their own way. If you want to try Indian and you are in the area this is a good place in my opinion.
Try their Naan bread with different flavours and fillings.
Ask the waitress about how hot are the dishes if you are not able to take much spice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adigaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panahar also viewed

Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex
 

Been to Panahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing