We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuki Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tuki Retreat
Heathcote
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We love dining at Tuki. The food is all grown/raised on the property, and it's magnificent! We've also stayed in the cottages twice. This last week, we spent just one night (would have liked more) in Cottage 1. It's a comfy one bedroom cottage overlooking the lake and hills. It was a very hot day, but cooled nicely, and altho no AC, with the doors open, it was perfect. We asked for dinner, and as we always order the same thing (a shared platter of trout pate, lamb sausage, smoked trout, olives, etc, one trout and one lamb) we knew what to expect. The serves are generous and devine! The mains are served with pan-fried potaoes and a green salad. It's always perfect, predictably so! Provisions for a full breakfast are provided, Always a treat!

Room Tip: For a couple, Cottage 1 is perfect. Make sure you have lunch or dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

One of the best family holidays we've ever had!
The accomodation was comfortable (a little worn, but that's to be expected and it was clean). An abundance of breakfast food readily stocked in the fridge and replenished daily. Hosts Rob and Jan were very welcoming and it was a pleasure to share in their company.

It IS a country experience (which we loved). But if you don't enjoy stoking your own fire and waking up to chickens in your doorstep, then you're definitely missing out!

We ate at the restaurant several times and loved the food and atmosphere. It's in a fabulous location with several little towns within a half hour drive - great for exploring and shopping.

In addition to just fabulous accomodation and scenery, we had a great time fishing (and eating our fish once Rob cooked it for us), playing with the dogs, and feeding and walking Boris the lamb. It's a beautiful and relaxing part of the world - well catered to families in the Miners cottage (we had four adults and two children), and the stone cottages look like adorable getaways for smaller families / couples.

We wouldn't hesitate to go back to explore more of the area and enjoy the experience again!

Room Tip: The miner's cottage is one double room with ensuite, one room with king bed (or pulls apart to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
It is wonderful that your family enjoyed staying with us & those aspects of staying on a working farm were things to be enjoyed regards Jan & Robert Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Evelyn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The breath taking views extend as far as the eye can see! We had the most wonderful two nights in a cosy stone cottage with a roaring open fire. Delicious dinners of home grown fresh produce were delivered to our cottage and one night the hosts cooked up the trout we caught earlier that day! Tuki is perfect place to escape to and I strongly recommend it for a relaxing retreat away from the everyday. The peacefulness, facilities and service surpassed our expectations and we hope to go back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaMountEvelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
It gives us a lot of joy that you enjoyed your stay,we would love to have you come and stay with us again regards Jan & Robert Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had a great time.
The stone cottage is small, but has a great layout and is more than adequate for a short stay.
The cottages are located around the same lake. Although they are close together, we could not hear our neighbours.
The kitchen is small, but again the space has been maximised. I found the kitchen easy to work in and all necessary utensils are provided.
The weather was particularly hot during our stay. The cottage did not have air conditioning, however with the curtains closed during the hottest parts of the day and the ceiling fan on high, we found the cottage comfortable.
The combination of stone and timber gave the cottage a relaxing atmosphere.
Both the bedroom and the living room have doors which open up onto a stone porch.

The views and landscape were stunning.

I loved having the animals walk around the farm. There was always a sheep, horse or chicken somewhere.
Everyday during the late afternoon, the sheep would graze right outside our cottage!

The trout was also good.
Rob gave us tips and helped us out. We caught 4 nice fish and took them back to our cottage to cook for lunch, and again for dinner.

The location was also great as it allowed for short day trips.
I recommend "Anderson's Mill, Smeaton", for a nice picnic ground and short day activity.

Tuki Retreat is the perfect getaway for those whole love the country and animals.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed the stay & thank you for taking the time to share you your positive experience regards Jan & Robert Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I hate it when owners misrepresent their property so badly. If you go to their website you will find beautiful pictures of their cottages and the location in general. Liking what we saw, we booked for 4 nights for 2 adults and 2 kids.

When we got there we were met but a fairly unfriendly person. There were no introductions to the place, area or activities. Just fill out this form and off to the cottage. The cottage turned out to be something out of nightmare stories that you sometimes hear from other travelers. Here is what we found:

Indeed, it was a 3 bedroom cottage. On entry we saw an emptied out pool that was NOT fenced off and full of dirt. In addition just before the entrance door there was old extremely dirty camp chairs and a dirty bench. To get to this point we had to jump over various excrement from the farm birds and animals. In general everything at the front was unkept and dirty.

Turned out, the outside was the best part! You walk into a living area approximately 3m by 3m in size. This areas contains 3 doors, a fire place, a dining table, a couch and a large armchair. In other words there is really room enough to walk sideways from one end to the other. The kitchen is made up of an oven and cooktop plus a tiny bench. This bench contains a tiny sink. There are 4 serrated knives (couldn't cut anything with them) assorted other cutlery, 3 pots and a frying pan. Some plates and that's it. No bench space and not enough. equipment to cook much.
The floor had what looked like off-cuts of carpet badly installed with nails sticking out and cutting our feet. Oh, and there is a tiny flat screen TV that had a bad power connection and did not work half the time.

The bedrooms and beds are old, dilapidated. At least the sheets were neat and clean.

The main toilet was stained and had no toilet paper. The ensuite was the best part of the house because it was the newest. Still grubby by normal standards. We had to get our own toilet paper.

The living room has a fire place that seems to smoke so much that we were constantly in a smoke haze. In addition there was no fire alarm, that is just dangerous. There were no windows in the main room with the fireplace so we had a choice of opening the door and freezing and not having smoke in the room or cough a lot and live with the smoke.

The cottage contains 3 bedrooms and the central room. For some reason there were only 2 heaters for the 3 bedrooms, none for the main room but the fire place did the job of heating.

Kids did not want to touch anything because they said "everything is so dirty".

The floors were uneven, doors didn't close etc.... Really this building should be demolished as soon as possible.

Really our first reaction was to run away. I went to speak to the person who met us and told her that the accommodation was nothing like they describe and show on their website. This was misleading and I wanted something better. It was explained that the pictures on the website are of different cottages and that those will NOT fit 4 people. I was also told that if I don't like the accommodation, I can contact the accommodation office for something else.

Anyway, hopefully you get the picture by now. Please read a review further down. It is pretty accurate. If you wan't a nice holiday, don't go here.

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GIMGFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We are sorry that the cottage & your holiday did not live up to expectations. A working farm is always going to be a bit different as a destination,so we are sorry that it did not work out for you regards Jan & Robert Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Nice spot for a getaway, a little rougher than we expected. A large family had arrived and the owners had the foresight to upgrade us at no charge so we were away from the other occupants kids. Our cabin was perfect for a quiet couples getaway, but the service was pretty rough, but hey, it's a working farm so I was ok with it (more so than my girlfriend).

It's the kind of place that if you want to be left on you own, light a fire and not be interrupted you'll enjoy it. If you need attentive service probably best to go alsewhere.

I'd definitely go back, even though it's not good value for money, it was just so peaceful it more than made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Thank you or staying with us,we appreciate your booking & hope the time away was relaxing,we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future,regards Jan Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Wow, what amazing scenery in this area and more importantly from your cottage door. The scenery, the quiet , the relaxing surrounds make up for anything you're not happy with, I feel. We would certainly come back. Rob is very friendly, helps you get settled ,made sure we had plenty of wood for the fire at all times, even provided a newspaper first morning. Breakfast suplies were very ample and sausages live up to reviews, very nice. I thought a tomato and/or mushies would have been nice as well, though.Cabin is bigger than I thought,and cosy, fire is wonderful. They supply candles and oil burners as well. Kitchen amply supplied but no microwave so make sure you bring things that can be heated in oven or pot unlike myself. I thought all kitchens had microwaves now! Bathroom was a shock, very overdue for update and showers only saving grace was that it was hot and good pressure. At the very least it needs a shower curtain and tiles on the shower base. The stone base looks terrible even though I'm sure it was clean. Bed was great, couch comfy and a comfy recliner as well but TV was so small. Might as well sit around the lap top.. Had an amazing hot chocolate at the restaurant but didn't want to try anything else so can't tell you about the food. I expected from the photos and the prices a fine dining experience, what we found was no more than a old shed type building with the dog wandering through & open doors with no flyscreens. No white table cloths or anything remote of fine dining that we saw in the photos. Not inviting at all. Bring your food or be prepared for a bit of a drive. Overall we had a fantastic time, lovely walks and beautiful scenery, very quiet and relaxing, we would go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojourn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TukiRetreat, Manager at Tuki Retreat, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for staying with us,we are delighted you enjoyed the property Na all it has to offer,we look forward to a return visit from you regards Jan & Robert Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smeaton
11.5 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
13.3 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
10.2 mi away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Keebles of Clunes
Keebles of Clunes
#1 of 2 in Clunes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Frangos
Hotel Frangos
#3 of 5 in Daylesford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuki Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuki Retreat

Property: Tuki Retreat
Address: 60 Stoney Rises Rd, Smeaton, Victoria 3364, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Smeaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Smeaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuki Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful stone cottage accommodation, open fires, panoramic views. A tranquil escape, situated on a rural sheep farm in Central Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tuki Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing