We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lookout Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stopped over for only one night and had a brilliant stay. We were arriving late in the evening and the gate was kindly left open for us. Louise and Alan are very friendly and accommodating hosts who made our stay hassle-free and comfortable. The guest house is beautiful with fantastic views, and a very friendly resident dog, Milo! Our room was lovely, spacious and clean, and breakfast was delicious and filling.
We really enjoyed our stay, and recommend The Lookout Guest House to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVB_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. Milo would like to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
81
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Great room, with amazing views! Awesome breakfasts and warm staff. Would definitely suggest this to friends and family wanting to stay in Port Alfred. Thank you to the owners for your hospitality!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Front Office Manager at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for the encouraging review - we would love to welcome you both again to The Lookout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A one night stay to see the local area while visiting schools. Louise was very helpful and kind. Our room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the breakfast was splendid! Would definitely stay again. Regards to Milo the Staffie from Milo the Jack Russell in Zambia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TeamSugarbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your positve response. I think Milo would enjoy becoming friends with your Jack Russel !
Warm regards,
Louise corrans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our stay was quite refreshing ! It was awesome, we will do it again, your place is beautiful, lots of privacy, warm and intimate ! It was quite a breath of fresh air, service was excellent and the breakfast was yummy ! Thanks so much for the wonderful stay !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nwabisa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for the encouraging review - your positive contribution means a lot to us - look forward to your next visit!. l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Very comfortable, secure, quiet guesthouse with plenty of parking. Excellent self-catering or B&B options. Room/suites are spacious, well appointed, clean and tidy, and Louise is an excellent hostess with good tips on the amenities in PA. Her breakfasts were superb, and the service good. We would recommend The Lookout for anyone wishing to stay in the area. One tip for Louise: It would be good to have blackout curtains in the bedroom for those of us who have trouble sleeping when the sun comes up!

Room Tip: The more expensive suites have a separate bedroom, great for letting your husband watch the televisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis and Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Louise ...is a lovely host. This was our 2nd stay here . Lovely views over Port Alfred from the terrace.. First class accommodation .Great breakfasts.. Restraunts nearby Would not hesitate to return again in the future Don & Cyn. Northampton England..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don And Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were greeted with a very warm welcome on arrival. The owners are very hospitable, extremely knowledgeable on places of interest and articulate on local history. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and OCD spotless. The views across the Marina and into the distance the Indian Ocean are exquisite. Enjoying an excellently prepared breakfast with this backdrop will be hard to beat. We will definitely be recommending The Lookout to friends and have photographic evidence as proof.
Thank-you Alan and Louise (and Milo) for making our stay so restful. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan C, Owner at The Lookout Guest House, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review - we appreciate your comments and hope to enjoy your company at The Lookout again one day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.6 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
1.0 mi away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 26 in Port Alfred
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guest House

Property: The Lookout Guest House
Address: 24 Park Road | PO BOX 2809, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque seaside village of Port Alfred, The Lookout Guest House commands panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, the Kowie River, the Royal Alfred Marina and the colourful small boat harbour. The three elegantly furnished units are extremely well appointed and have their own separate entrances. Offering 4 star luxury accommodation at very affordable rates The Lookout is THE place to stay in Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lookout Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing