We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The place was amazing, the food was incredible, and the staff at Oceana are friendly, kind, and helpful. I felt like I was leaving family when my vacation was done. The service and pampering are beyond incredible. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing and the scenery is astonishing. I stayed for 12 days and while it is a trek from Texas I would travel there again in a heartbeat. They really go the extra mile to make your stay one you will never forget...drawing warm bubble baths for you when you return from a chilly game drive, handcrafted letters on your turned down bed each evening, and going out of their way to make sure you want for nothing. I would recommend this place to anyone and though I went solo, it is also great for children of all ages.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H101, General Manager at Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Michelle. Thank you for the review and recommendation of Oceana. The 12 days seem to have gone by very quickly and I hope you were able to settle back into work with the long travel. I trust that we will see you back at Oceana next year with perhaps your son who will also enjoy all the activities on offer at Oceana and the surrounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    19
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
164
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive you feel that you are someone special. They greet you at the gate and after driving to the reception you are greeted by friendly staff. They take your luggage to your room and after showing you around you can relax and admire the view of the Indian Ocean. The lunch was out of this world and after a game drive dinner was served which was 5 star. The room was fantastic including a jacuzzi, tv that emerges from a cupboard at the foot of the bed. Great place to watch the Springboks drill Australia!! I would recommend Oceana to any couple who want to have a complete break and find themselves as newly weds. Thank you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our second visit to this unique and spectacular Lodge. Magnificent accommodation, superb food, service and hospitality. A true gem. Attention to detail par excellance, friendly and professional. Well done to Hennie, Adriënne and their competent team. In my books, 6 star!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DerekFourieLipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Absolutely wonderful place to have a holiday and it is worth every cent. The views are magnificent, the décor modern with subtle African elements. The property has very good chefs. The staff was great and they bent over backward to cater to our needs, including my children's. The spa treatment was the best I have had in years. We will definitely go back and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 996Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

From the beautiful views to the amazing staff and wonderful food everything was perfect!! The spa was top notch!! Every little detail was tended to at all times. The developers and staff of oceana have created an exceptional experience; the perfect place for a trip of a lifetime. We took our two children ages 8 and 4 plus my husband's parents. All of our needs were tended to and every request met.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdrawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Oceana
Pros
The food, accommodation, service, everything was 5 star.
Cons
The pool area needs some work.

Advice
If you are a South African resident do try and book a stay at Oceana through bushbreaks or mtbeds. Although even the discounted price will amount to something like R2000 per night per person its really worth it. If you cant affrord it, stil consider visiting them for a lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Stay in the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herolds bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great lodge and reserve. Spectacular views and accomodations.
Definitely will return. The rooms are very luxurious and well appointed. The food is great, and the bar well-stocked. Service is great, no request is frowned upon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
6.3 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
5.9 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#3 of 26 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Property: Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing