We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, mind blowing. Wildlife meets the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, mind blowing. Wildlife meets the ocean”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What an amazing experience. We truly loved every minute. Fine dining not to fond off. Otherwise everything else was exquisite. Thank you to the staff at the reserve, from the guard at the guardhouse to the GM of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    20
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
168
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Oceana - by far one of the most special and gorgeous places I have ever been! This is not a five star Reserve Lodge it is SIX STAR!!! The best VIEW ever. The most beautiful ROOMS / SUITES spacious and perfect (we stayed in the ocean suite will definitely recommend it) SERVICE out of the books - the staff do the effort to remember every guests name and treat you in such a special way. FOOD highly recommended, there are three chefs that go out of their way to spoil you with the best gourmet cuisine. Every meal does not only taste perfect but also looks divine! In room dining very special. Beach picnic unforgettable very very special. This is for sure a treat that every person / traveler owe to himself. One hundred percent satisfaction guaranteed. You know if you visit a place and you can't stop taking pictures because you want to capture every thing for ever from the beauty, the taste, the friendliness, the atmosphere OCEANA is such a place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Braam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is where Heaven meets Earth and is called Paradise. The views are spectacular, the Indian ocean crashes onto a fantastic beach which is breathtaking in itself. The accommodation is 5* plus, with a fantastic vista of game park, beach and ocean from the comfort of a wonderful 4 poster bed, even a jacuzzi bath with the same view, how cool is that! We had a 2hr game drive, saw lots of different deer?..rhinos, including a baby rhino, giraffs, including a baby one and Trevor, our guide. The food was 1st class as was the service by all the friendly staff, well done to Nick, the manager. We are visiting our daughter and her family in Port Elizabeth and the 2 nights stay was a Christmas present from them and rates as one of the best. If you can visit this place then do it, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The ocean lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

All the ingredients of a sublime experience. Service is expert, accommodation beyond our expectations, the vista of ocean and game, meals to excite guests - you even arranged postcard weather. For my wife and I Oceana is the perfect top market destination.

Room Tip: Away from the main entertainment area with an eastern ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were amazed at the beauty at Oceana. We spent 2 days there and it was superb.
The ocean suite we stayed in is just fantastic. The detail that went into everything during our stay was really 5 star. You have the option of having dinner in your ocean suite and you are served there. You can enjoy the jacuzzi bubble bath and walk out on your deck and view Rhino and Giraffe.
Staff are great too.
Thanks to Hennie, Adrienne, Tamara, Trevor and the rest.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I spend a wonderful time in this Resort, inter alia watching rhinos and antilopes directly under our rooms terace. The sandy beach is outstanding. This is the right place to enjoy quietness. Our compliment goes also to the crew who was always very friendly and efficent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to try out the venue for a lunch date and to have a look at the facilities etc.

The lodge is for those wanting a quiet break away from the Hurley burley. There will never be more than about 20 guests at the lodge and you will get to know them all. The lounge and dining facilities are designed for relaxed eating and leisure. Not many seats or tables. The service is personal and served by staff you double up as game rangers and who will chat if you give them half a chance.

I would have liked to see the beach facilities that are perched over unspoilt wild beach and sea - seeing the game on the way there.

The lunch was from a set menu but was very well prepared and served - delicious and not too expensive.

We enjoyed being greeted at the main gate and the guard saying "I must be Rob" and "they were expecting me". After our own game drive through to the reception we were met personally by one of the game warders who doubled up as a waiter and informant.

The setting is exquisite with panoramic views over the Eastern Cape bush.

Next time we will plan to stay there.

Room Tip: We didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
5.9 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
299 reviews
6.3 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
337 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
294 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 17 in Port Alfred
101 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Property: Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing