We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A beautiful place to visit. Everything was stunning from the welcome drinks and face cloth, Jaw dropping rooms, 4 post bed, heated floors and heated towel rail. Spa Bathroom and double head showers over looking the ocean. We were treated like Kings and Queens. Sitting on the swing bed by the sea was amazing. Thank you for making our honeymoon Garden trip incredible.

Room Tip: Relax and Enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    20
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
166
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

hat an amazing experience. no place on the garden route i want to return to more than Oceana. food was perfect! location was perfect! staff and experience, truly world class. thank you to the manager (apologies i have forgotten your name, but do remember the greek stories :) ) and to Gary for wonderful interaction and amazing service and friendliness. to the waitron (name Nceba i think? apologies if i spelt incorrectly), thank you for such great friendly smiles and service at every meal. to the Chefs, well done on mouth watering food that i still think of every time i step into a restaurant as i wish for and miss all your unique meals you all put together. thank you to all at Oceana for for the most amazing South African experience in dining and accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to go when the weather is good and a trip down to the beach deck is a must, untouched pristine s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lokavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Most beautiful rooms with stunning views and excellent service. Fantastic place to relax and enjoy our beautiful province. Lunch down at the beach was lovely with stunning swing bed that lets you stare out at the ocean. Feels like you have 7km of your own private beach.

Room Tip: The Ocean Suits are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Ocean Suites were beautiful. There is everything one needs. The view from the the Ocean Suites is amazing. The staff were friendly and very helpful. My daughter and I went for a massage, which was very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilliandipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for a top quality get away, somewhere where you can slow down immediately and be incredibly well looked after, then this is your spot. The suits are incredibly well designed, giving you the sense that you are on your own, and with views from the bedroom, the bath and the shower. Unique, and special. The food is first class, and the mix of fine dining with the exceptional views from the main lodge of sea and game must make Oceana one of the very few places in the world where you can see the ocean and game at the same time. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the spa is great, the gym must have one of the better views ever, and trips to beach make one feel as if you on your own private stretch of coastline. We can highly recommend Oceana.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying in a seperate suit as opposed to in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve really was the best holiday destination I have ever been to. From the moment myself and my wife drove up to the front gate at Oceana we were well taken care of and greeted with a friendly smile. The scenery is magnificent and equally matched by the rooms which are elegantly decorated and all have stunning views. The 7km private beach is amazing, truly untouched beauty. The food is amazing as the chefs prepare fantastic 3 course meals with great flavour combinations. Being that we were honeymoon, the small touches such as a cute note left on our bed wishing us a blessed marriage and a gift to congratulate us on the marriage all just add to how you made feel special when staying there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our only complaint would be that it was so amazing we didn't want to leave. We are already looking forward to our next visit and thank you to all the staff who made our honeymoon so amazing. Oh yes, the masseuse is amazing, I recommend a massage even if only a quick 30 minute one.

Room Tip: Select an Ocean Suite without a doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Undoubtedly one of the top ten most beautiful places I have ever seen. A real privilege to be able to visit. Well thought out architecturally. The beach is private and huge and you basically have it to yourself - it wouldn't suit older or very unfit folk because the dunes are huge and quite a mission to walk up and down. The food was great but if you are staying longer than 2 days it is very rich and in retrospect I would have asked for more plainly prepared veggies. The only negative was I don't think the spa bath jets had been cleaned properly between clients because when we turned the jets on the bathwater got mucky. Other than that...paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
6.3 mi away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
330 reviews
5.9 mi away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
293 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
287 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kowie River Guest House
Kowie River Guest House
#1 of 26 in Port Alfred
164 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 26 in Port Alfred
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve

Property: Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Address: R72 Main Road | Riet River, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach & Wildlife Reserve is the product of a man who was brave enough to live his dream, and he extends an invitation to those who need a place to dream, be pampered, rejuvenate, relax, discover and be delighted by.After traveling the world, I discovered the place closest to my heart, Oceana. The first time I beheld the collection of natural wonders, something extraordinary happened, as I embraced the expanse of its exotic beauty, it embraced me. Rip Miller - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach And Wildlife Reserve Hotel Port Alfred

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing